Host-based backup of VMware vSphere VMs.
tscott
Enthusiast
Liked: never
Full Name: Tom Scott

Exchange Backup Questions / Best Practices

Post by tscott »

Hello, I was just wondering if someone can give me a "best practice" guide for backing up Exchange.. Versions would be great too.. (as in for Exchange 2003 do this, 2007 do this, 2010 do this)..

Questions I have are what should the maximum Exchange database(s) size be for a good Veeam backup? Does it matter what the drive size is or just the databases?

Also, in regards to restoring.. I have a client on 6.5 and I did a test restore using the Exchange explorer and it was a BREEZE!! I'm new to the product so this is all I've ever done.. I read that you had to do this in a virtual lab?? Was that before 6.5? Is that for versions prior to Exchange 2010? IE: What versions of Veeam / Exchange can you use the explorer restore with?

Thank you!
foggy
Veeam Software
Liked: 2115 times
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: Exchange Backup Questions / Best Practices

Post by foggy » 1 person likes this post

tscott wrote:Hello, I was just wondering if someone can give me a "best practice" guide for backing up Exchange.. Versions would be great too.. (as in for Exchange 2003 do this, 2007 do this, 2010 do this)..
Tom, there are a lot of existing discussions regarding Exchange backup&recovery on this forum, I recommend searching for best practices. As to general recommendations, here is a brief summary:

1. Enable application-aware image processing.
2. Truncate Exchange logs in case you do not do this with other tools.
3. If you experience VSS timeout with Exchange 2010, try to apply recommendations given in this thread.

In addition to this, a couple of webinars covering all the aspects of Exchange backup&recovery with Veeam that might be helpful:
http://www.veeam.com/videos/advanced-ex ... -1320.html
http://www.veeam.com/go/vPower-webinar