Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
defrogger
Influencer
Liked: 1 time
Full Name: Mike Yesko

How to setup Backup Copy Job Target

Post by defrogger »

Hello, im new to the Backup Copy Job. We have a client that we just setup Veeam 7 standard (for now no WAN Accelerator) for using VMware. Ide like to use the Backup Copy Job for offsite protection for just two VM's.

Im having trouble finding info on setting up the Target. Lets say I had a simple CIFS share at the remote location with plenty of space. What next?

Do I need a VPN Tunnel between the clients site and the Remote site for security concerns? Is that the best way to access the remote target?

Do I need to install something at the remote site for Veeam to see the Cifs share?

Thanks
Mike
Gostev
Chief Product Officer
Liked: 6703 times

Re: How to setup Backup Copy Job Target

Post by Gostev » 1 person likes this post

Hello Mike,

Yes, you need a VPN tunnel.

With CIFS target, you will definitely want a proxying Windows server in the target site for best performance. Check out the User Guide for how you set up CIFS-based backup repository, it is pretty straight forward.

Thanks!
Anton
defrogger
Influencer

Post by defrogger »

Thanks, got it setup on on Thursday and it seems to be working. The size of the local vs the remote target is way off so I have to figure that out now. The local is about 80 gigs and the remote target is so far only 36 gigs. So im assuming it hasn't finished copying things over yet but everything says it was successful. Anyway, that's another problem, ill look into

Thanks
Mike
Vitaliy S.
VP, Product Management
Liked: 2720 times
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Post by Vitaliy S. »

Mike, do you see all VMs copied to the offsite location? You can check that via backup console -> Backups -> Disk -> Backup Copy Job Name.
defrogger
Influencer

Post by defrogger »