Discussions related to exporting backups to tape and backing up directly to tape.
manuel.wagner
Service Provider
Liked: never
Full Name: Manuel Wagner

Job to Tape LTO4 Help!

Post by manuel.wagner »

Hy Guys,

Im using veeam b&r 7 to bakup my vmware esxi guests to local hdd of my backup server.
Then it should get backuped to a tape.

Therefore i am unsing a external HP StorageWorks 1840 tape drive connected via SAS.
The HP Ultrium LTO-4 tapes should have a capacity of 800GB / 1600GB 2:1 compressed.

My whole backup is about 750GB, in Veeam the Tapes are shown with a capacity of 781GB. When i make a Backup to tape, it tranfers about 570GB and then it shows the status "WaitingTape"?

What is "WaitingTape"? And why it only write 570GB? And can i use the whole 1600Gbs of the tape?

Its my first time using tapes with Veeam! I hope someone can help my.

Thanks!
Vitaliy S.
VP, Product Management
Liked: 2710 times
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Job to Tape LTO4 Help!

Post by Vitaliy S. »

Hi Manuel,

Could the behavior you observe be similar to this one?

Thank you!
manuel.wagner
Service Provider

Post by manuel.wagner »

Hi,
Thanks for your answer.

In my case it's about over 20% less space. I think thats not normal?
And wahts about the 2:1 compression for 1600gb capacity? Is that possible with Veeam?
Gostev
Chief Product Officer
Liked: 6648 times

Post by Gostev »

manuel.wagner wrote:In my case it's about over 20% less space. I think thats not normal?
May be normal for your device. Again, as explained in the above referenced topic, this is device-specific. You may want to check with your vendor directly. Or, we can do that for you, if you open a support case with us first.
manuel.wagner wrote:And wahts about the 2:1 compression for 1600gb capacity? Is that possible with Veeam?
Sure it's possible, but this requires that you disable compression in Veeam jobs. Obviously, you cannot compress the same data twice ;)