Host-based backup of VMware vSphere VMs.
Dtoews
Novice
Liked: 5 times
Full Name: Darren Toews

Veeam 7 and HP VLS 9000

Post by Dtoews »

Hi everyone,

Just wondering if anyone is using a HP VLS 9000 in their VEEAM backup design. If so, how are you using it? I'm new to this piece of equipment, and we don't have a lot of documentation on it so I'm learning as I go. I have a HP BL680c blade server running Windows 2012 R2 as my backup server. It is connected into the fiber so that it can see the VLS. However, the device only shows up as a series of tape libraries. Is it possible to configure the unit to act as disk AND tape? We have a 20TB unit and I was thinking of partitioning it off in order to use, say 10 TB as disk and 10 TB as tape.

I'd use the 10TB of disk as my 'landing spot' for say a weeks worth of D2D reversed incremental backups (to allow for instant restore and quick restores of files, etc.) and then have 10TB of 'tape' backup for a weekly and monthly full backup that I could then archive to our HP MLS robotic tape picker for compliance purposes.

Will this work, or is this device strictly a virtual tape library, as the name suggests? Am I overcomplicating this? Will the VLS, configured as virtual tape libraries perform the way I want it to even though the server sees it as tape and not disk?

If not, I will have to look into getting some other storage plugged into the fiber for fast backups. I'm currently using HP P4300's over iSCSI and it's not quite fast enough to get the amount of data I need backed up in the time I require.

Thanks in advance for any assistance.

Darren
dellock6
Veeam Software
Liked: 1928 times
Full Name: Luca Dell'Oca

Re: Veeam 7 and HP VLS 9000

Post by dellock6 » 1 person likes this post

Hi Darren, never used nor seen this machine. Looking at its specs, it's basically a VTL, so it's absolutely correct that it shows up as a Tape Library, that's the goal of a VTL :)