Discussions related to exporting backups to tape and backing up directly to tape.
Peejay62
Expert
Liked: 37 times
Full Name: Peter Jansen

Tapelibrary/drives connected on proxy?

Post by Peejay62 » 2 people like this post

Is it to be expected that a tapelibrary/tapedrives can be connected to a server other than the B&R server itself? It would make more sense to me that a server owning the disk-repository also would have the access to the tape environment. In my distributed setup I choose the B&R server to be virtual, the backup proxies and repository server to be physical. Now the B&R server also turns into a kind of media-server/backup proxy if using tapes. I have no experience with it, but connecting and dedicating tapedrives/library to a VM seems to me a rather complicated thing. IMO it's the strenght of Veeam B&R being able to make a distributed setup, easily managing resources and distributing workload. In my logic the tape drives don't belong to the B&R server but somewhere on a proxy. At the moment I don't have an alternative to integrate our ( i might say very big) tape-environment into the Veeam infrastructure other than choosing to have physical B&R servers, and that's a pity.
veremin
Product Manager
Liked: 2252 times
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: Tapelibrary/drives connected on proxy?

Post by veremin » 2 people like this post

Thanks, Peter, for the heads up; much appreciated. Also, there are already plans to allow proxy servers to handle tape activities in one of the future releases.

For now you should either use physical backup server or expose physically connected tape appliance via ISCSI protocol, using free 3rd party software. Thanks.
Peejay62
Expert

Post by Peejay62 » 4 people like this post

Ok, tape support on proxy servers is exact what I need (probably other customers too...) Hope to see it appear in the near future. Thanx for the response.
paulhardy
Service Provider
Liked: 1 time
Full Name: Paul Hardy

Post by paulhardy »