Host-based backup of VMware vSphere VMs.
kalagan
Influencer
Liked: never

Changing a VM's name + over 1 To replication in one time.

Post by kalagan »

Hello,

I'm new to VEEAM and here's my questions.

I actually use veeam 7 to backup and replicate my VMs.

One is very huge (3 different disks and about 1.3 Tb of datas). So when i started to copy datas from my old physical server to the VM, i replicate the VM each time i had about 50 Go of datas copied. Anyway, when i only had like 150 Go left to replicate, the replication failed and i haven't been able to restart it (error everytime). So finally, i stopped all others backups and replication and i did this one in one shot (it is still working since 24 hrs).

- First question : Does it make sense to replicate more then 1 Tb in one time? (actually average speed is about 5 mb/s - line is about 100 Mb/s).

Also, i would like to change my VM name after the replication (won't explain the reason here). I'm talking about the VM name in Vsphere (5.1) not the NetBIOS name in the OS (Windows 2008 R2).

- second question: Would it be a problem? Veeam will still see it a the same "replication job"?

Sorry for my poor English.

Thanks.
veremin
Product Manager
Liked: 2252 times
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: Changing a VM's name + over 1 To replication in one time

Post by veremin »

- First question : Does it make sense to replicate more then 1 Tb in one time? (actually average speed is about 5 mb/s - line is about 100 Mb/s).
In of large VMs it's always advisable to use replica seeding functionality in order to reduce amount of traffic sent during initial synchronization.
- second question: Would it be a problem? Veeam will still see it a the same "replication job"?
VMs are tracked by unique MorefID. Changing VM name doesn't affect its MorefID. Therefore, there won't be any issues with changing VM name.

Thanks.
kalagan
Influencer

Post by kalagan »

Hi,

Thank you for the fast reply.