Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
y1008946
Enthusiast
Liked: never

Veeam jobs to NAS drive

Post by y1008946 »

Hi, I am new to Veeam and trying to learn as quickly as I can. I am sorry for the basic questions!

We have a physical server which has Veeam installed and we use as a backup repository on site. We also have a NAS drive which we would like to use as a way to do offsite backups.

The way I have understood it from the documentation is that the backup jobs run out of hours because they slow the target down. And the backup copy jobs can run through the day syncing from the backup repository. Am I right in saying that I should:

- Set a backup job to run overnight on the VMs to the backup repository.

- Set a backup copy job to run during the day, to sync the backup to the NAS drive.

If this is correct how should I configure the backup job to the backup repository? Should I set it like this.

- Set the backup mode to incremental

- Set to optimize for a LAN target

After this I am unsure what will be the best settings, wether to set synthetic or active full. Time to do the backup copy job is going to be an issue and so is storage space. But I would like to try achieve an offsite backup with the NAS drive if we can.

If I set the active full method can I safely set a backup job with only 4 restore points (to save space), but not have to do an active full very often?

The problem I found when I tried creating jobs initially was that with a reverse incremental backup job, the backup copy job would run with good speed the first time. But it would slow down drastically, backup copy jobs to the NAS would be stuck saying transforming and the completed percentage would never increase.

Thanks for any help!
foggy
Veeam Software
Liked: 2115 times
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: Veeam jobs to NAS drive

Post by foggy »