Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
RMullis
Enthusiast
Liked: 11 times
Full Name: Rick Mullis

Desperately waiting for patch 2, I should have waited before

Post by RMullis » 1 person likes this post

I have had many issues with this new version of Veeam. I have been using Veeam for a couple of years and absolutely love it so I was extremely excited for version 7. However I have been burned in the past with software releases so I chose to wait until the patch 1 was released figuring I would be safe. Well, I was dead wrong. I have contacted support with multiple issues which some have been resolved. Unfortunately I cannot use Parallel Processing as it floods our DS3 (45mbps) Wan connection even though I have throttling set at 18mbps (Case#00462183). One of the Tech Support agents stated since I am backing up across the WAN I should be using Active Fulls, which I stated, I thought that created a whole new backup requiring a complete recopy and he said no it works just like a synthetic but has better checksums. So I went against my better judgement and reconfigured as the "expert" suggested and I ended up needing to reseed all of my remote datacenter's data (+12TB), because it started copying every bit with no CBT. Since I cannot use the same seed/backup I created for the seeding of the backups I also had to recreate the replica seeds since they have to be a single server backup file, because it can’t see the individual server in a backup job. We had many issues trying to get Backup Copy Job working so i had to continue to use regular backup across the WAN. But that is not the big issue. The real problem is the restoration of any large server from tape. If I restore a large server (800GB+) I get either ‘Script Timeout Error” or “An existing connection was forcibly closed by the remote host”.