PowerShell script exchange
Post Reply
snzhang2
Influencer
Posts: 22
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Oct 12, 2016 3:17 pm
Full Name: Nan Zhang
Contact:

Add replication job with reseeding option

Post by snzhang2 »

Hi,

I am looking to create replication jobs that allow for reseeding a replica VM. I don't see this option in the Add-VBRViReplicaJob cmdlet for adding vmware replication job. Is there anyway to use this option from the Veeam Powershell snapin?

Thanks,
Nan
PTide
Product Manager
Posts: 6408
Liked: 724 times
Joined: May 19, 2015 1:46 pm
Contact:

Re: Add replication job with reseeding option

Post by PTide »

Hi,

Please check the very bottom of this article for example of how to modify repica job for seeding.

Thanks
snzhang2
Influencer
Posts: 22
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Oct 12, 2016 3:17 pm
Full Name: Nan Zhang
Contact:

Re: Add replication job with reseeding option

Post by snzhang2 »

Version 9.0 of the snapin doesn't seem to have the option -EnableSeeding. The article documentation is for version 9.5.

We are currently using VB&R version 9.0.

Having said that I did find this posting powershell-f26/need-a-little-help-with- ... 19109.html regarding this topic for veeam 7.0, but the solution is quite involved as it requires accessing and making changes to the veeam database.

I am hoping there would be a simpler way to accomplish this in version 9.0. Version 9.5 seems to have added the features for accomplishing this simpler but unfortunately we are not using this version yet.
veremin
Product Manager
Posts: 20271
Liked: 2252 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: Add replication job with reseeding option

Post by veremin » 1 person likes this post

The said parameter has been added in version 9.5. Before that only "creative" (meaning unsupported) workarounds existed. So, the best way would be to update to 9.5 and make use of the given enhancement. Thanks.
snzhang2
Influencer
Posts: 22
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Oct 12, 2016 3:17 pm
Full Name: Nan Zhang
Contact:

Re: Add replication job with reseeding option

Post by snzhang2 »

Can we use the powershell 9.5 snapin with VB&R version 9.0?
veremin
Product Manager
Posts: 20271
Liked: 2252 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: Add replication job with reseeding option

Post by veremin »

Nope, it cannot be used separately. Is there something preventing you from updating VB&R to 9.5? Or it's more like "never update to new version, until first patch is released" practice? :)

Thanks.
snzhang2
Influencer
Posts: 22
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Oct 12, 2016 3:17 pm
Full Name: Nan Zhang
Contact:

Re: Add replication job with reseeding option

Post by snzhang2 »

I was able to modify the codes found in the article posted earlier to meet my purposes.

However the code just does the mapping, but it doesn't enable seeding (name -> "low connetcion bandwith" AND Seeding -> "Map replicas to existing VMs"). Would it still be possible to enable reseeding with the Veeam 9.0 cmdlets? Unfortunately we can't upgrade to version 9.5 due to various factors.
veremin
Product Manager
Posts: 20271
Liked: 2252 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: Add replication job with reseeding option

Post by veremin »

Have you tried to follow the advice given in the referenced thread?
tsightler wrote:And just in case you need this, the above script only adds entries to the Replica Mapping table, you still have to enable it on the job with the following:
$Job = Get-VBRJob -name "Name of replication job"
$Job.Options.ViReplicaTargetOptions.InitialSeeding = $true
$Job.Options.ViReplicaTargetOptions.UseVmMapping = $true
$Job.SetOptions($Job.Options)
snzhang2
Influencer
Posts: 22
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Oct 12, 2016 3:17 pm
Full Name: Nan Zhang
Contact:

Re: Add replication job with reseeding option

Post by snzhang2 »

You came through again. Thanks!

This does exactly what I needed.
veremin
Product Manager
Posts: 20271
Liked: 2252 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: Add replication job with reseeding option

Post by veremin »

You're welcome. If any other assistance is needed, let us know. Thanks.
GabesVirtualWorld
Expert
Posts: 244
Liked: 37 times
Joined: Jun 15, 2009 10:49 am
Full Name: Gabrie van Zanten
Contact:

[MERGED] Set-VBRViReplicaJob doesn't know parameters

Post by GabesVirtualWorld »

Hi,
I'm trying to script the seeding mapping of a number of VMs, but the Set-VBRViReplicaJob doesn't seem to accept the parameters -OriginalVM and -ReplicaVM. Could this be a version difference since I can see the manual is for VEEAM v9.5 and I'm running v9.0.

I already have defined the job with all the settings and manually added 1 VM with seeding mapping. Now I want to add more VMs to this job and map them. This is the code I have:

Code: Select all

$JobName = Get-VBRJob -Name "MyReplicaJob"
$SourcevCenter = "vcenter.source.local"
$ReplicavCenter = "vcenter.destination.local"

$OrgVM = Find-VBRViEntity -Server $SourcevCenter -Name "MyVM"
$ReplicaVM = Find-VBRViEntity -Server $ReplicavCenter -Name "MyVM"
All the variables are filled now with the correct information. Then I try to change the job:

Code: Select all

Set-VBRViReplicaJob -Job $JobName -OrignalVM $OrgVM -ReplicaVM $ReplicaVM
Result:

Code: Select all

PS D:\scripts> Set-VBRViReplicaJob -Job $JobName -OrignalVM $OrgVM -ReplicaVM $ReplicaVM
Set-VBRViReplicaJob : Cannot validate argument on parameter 'Job'. The argument is null. Provide a valid value for the
argument, and then try running the command again.
At line:1 char:26
+ Set-VBRViReplicaJob -Job $JobName -OrignalVM $OrgVM -ReplicaVM $ReplicaVM
+                          ~~~~~~~~
    + CategoryInfo          : InvalidData: (:) [Set-VBRViReplicaJob], ParameterBindingValidationException
    + FullyQualifiedErrorId : ParameterArgumentValidationError,Veeam.Backup.PowerShell.Command.SetVBRViReplicaJob

When I type just "Set-VBRViReplicaJob" followed by - sign and then tab to scroll through all the parameters, the EnableSeeding / RepositorySeed / EnableVMMapping / OriginalVM / ReplicaVM don't show up.

This is the guide I'm following: https://helpcenter.veeam.com/docs/backu ... tml?ver=95 and since it has the 95 at the end...... .

Is there a way to do this in v9.0 ???
Andreas Neufert
VP, Product Management
Posts: 6707
Liked: 1401 times
Joined: May 04, 2011 8:36 am
Full Name: Andreas Neufert
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Set-VBRViReplicaJob doesn't know parameters

Post by Andreas Neufert »

I have no test environment at hand, but try to add
-EnableVMMapping
GabesVirtualWorld
Expert
Posts: 244
Liked: 37 times
Joined: Jun 15, 2009 10:49 am
Full Name: Gabrie van Zanten
Contact:

Re: Set-VBRViReplicaJob doesn't know parameters

Post by GabesVirtualWorld »

Andreas Neufert wrote:I have no test environment at hand, but try to add
-EnableVMMapping
That is not an option.

I fixed it using -Entity and then add the VMs I want to add and then go into the job via the GUI and add the seeing using "DETECT".
veremin
Product Manager
Posts: 20271
Liked: 2252 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: Add replication job with reseeding option

Post by veremin »

Could this be a version difference since I can see the manual is for VEEAM v9.5 and I'm running v9.0.
You've hit the nail on the head. The parameters you're looking for have been added in 9.5. Thanks.
Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 21 guests