PowerShell script exchange
Post Reply
AlexL
Service Provider
Posts: 89
Liked: 5 times
Joined: Aug 24, 2010 8:55 am
Full Name: Alex
Contact:

bug in Set-VBRNetworkTrafficRule

Post by AlexL »

Using v11 with latest patches.

get-help shows:

-ThrottlingValue <Int32>
Specifies the maximum speed value that must be used to transfer VM machine data from source to target.

But, the parameter accepts only values up to 999, if you try for example 1024 (mbitpersec) you get this error:

Set-VBRNetworkTrafficRule : Cannot validate argument on parameter 'ThrottlingValue'. The 1024 argument is greater than the maximum allowed range of
999. Supply an argument that is less than or equal to 999 and then try the command again.
Mildur
Product Manager
Posts: 8735
Liked: 2294 times
Joined: May 13, 2017 4:51 pm
Full Name: Fabian K.
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Re: bug in Set-VBRNetworkTrafficRule

Post by Mildur »

Are you really sure, that it is a bug?
It looks like the value is limited to 999 on purpose (like other parameters on other veeam powershell commands are limited to 999, for example max immutability for object storage)
Product Management Analyst @ Veeam Software
AlexL
Service Provider
Posts: 89
Liked: 5 times
Joined: Aug 24, 2010 8:55 am
Full Name: Alex
Contact:

Re: bug in Set-VBRNetworkTrafficRule

Post by AlexL » 1 person likes this post

In the GUI you can perfectly set any value, for example 1024Mbps or 3072Mbps which is what I needed to limit to 3Gbs.
Since we have multiple servers/proxies I'd rather set this with a simple powershell oneliner rather than using the GUI.
Other commands have absolute limits, for example your max immutability, but for traffic limiting this obviously makes no sense and most likely this is a simple copy/paste error for input validation by the developer which wasn't catched by QA.
Mildur
Product Manager
Posts: 8735
Liked: 2294 times
Joined: May 13, 2017 4:51 pm
Full Name: Fabian K.
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Re: bug in Set-VBRNetworkTrafficRule

Post by Mildur »

You are right. That makes sense. If it's working in the GUI, then it should be possible in the powershell too.
Product Management Analyst @ Veeam Software
Mildur
Product Manager
Posts: 8735
Liked: 2294 times
Joined: May 13, 2017 4:51 pm
Full Name: Fabian K.
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Re: bug in Set-VBRNetworkTrafficRule

Post by Mildur »

You could configure it that way as a workaround until there is a solution from Veeam.
384 Mbyte/s is the same as 3072 Mbit/s.

Code: Select all

$rule = Get-VBRNetworkTrafficRule -Name "Testing"
Set-VBRNetworkTrafficRule -rule $rule -ThrottlingUnit MbytePerSec -ThrottlingValue 384
Product Management Analyst @ Veeam Software
oleg.feoktistov
Veeam Software
Posts: 1918
Liked: 636 times
Joined: Sep 25, 2019 10:32 am
Full Name: Oleg Feoktistov
Contact:

Re: bug in Set-VBRNetworkTrafficRule

Post by oleg.feoktistov »

Hi Alex,

Thanks for your bug report! We scheduled the fix to vNext. For now, you can use the workaround Fabian suggested.

Best regards,
Oleg
Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 14 guests