-
- Novice
- Posts: 5
- Liked: never
- Joined: Jan 24, 2019 5:15 pm
- Full Name: Lance Knox
- Contact:
Change credentials of existing managed server
OK so what I REALLY need to do is change the credentials that a existing server in backup infrastructure is using. these are windows 10 machines. I want to change the credentials on them to use our veeam service account now that the service account has been granted local admin priviledges on these windows boxes
-
- Veteran
- Posts: 3077
- Liked: 455 times
- Joined: Aug 07, 2018 3:11 pm
- Full Name: Fedor Maslov
- Contact:
Re: Change credentials of existing managed server
Hi Lance,
Could you please clarify what question do you have?
Thank you in advance!
Could you please clarify what question do you have?
Thank you in advance!
-
- Novice
- Posts: 5
- Liked: never
- Joined: Jan 24, 2019 5:15 pm
- Full Name: Lance Knox
- Contact:
Re: Change credentials of existing managed server
I have 200+ servers in my backup infrastructure that have been added with one set of credentials.
I want to change those to a different set of credentials.
I don't want to do this manually. It would take hours.
I want to create a power shell script that loops through a CSV file with "store numbers"
The store number will determine the name of the managed windows server and place that into a variable like $server
then I want to change the credentials on that server to an already added credential (domain\svc.veeam)
does that make sense?
I want to change those to a different set of credentials.
I don't want to do this manually. It would take hours.
I want to create a power shell script that loops through a CSV file with "store numbers"
The store number will determine the name of the managed windows server and place that into a variable like $server
then I want to change the credentials on that server to an already added credential (domain\svc.veeam)
does that make sense?
-
- Veteran
- Posts: 3077
- Liked: 455 times
- Joined: Aug 07, 2018 3:11 pm
- Full Name: Fedor Maslov
- Contact:
Re: Change credentials of existing managed server
Hi Lance,
A couple additional questions:
Are you talking about virtualization servers added to B&R as Managed Servers? Do you want to change a single set of credentials to the other one for all the 200 servers? If so, it will be easier to do that using UI and it should take approx. 83 minutes for 200 Managed Servers - just input the credentials once, then choose it from the list, repeat for each server.
BR,
Fedor
A couple additional questions:
Are you talking about virtualization servers added to B&R as Managed Servers? Do you want to change a single set of credentials to the other one for all the 200 servers? If so, it will be easier to do that using UI and it should take approx. 83 minutes for 200 Managed Servers - just input the credentials once, then choose it from the list, repeat for each server.
BR,
Fedor
-
- Novice
- Posts: 5
- Liked: never
- Joined: Jan 24, 2019 5:15 pm
- Full Name: Lance Knox
- Contact:
Re: Change credentials of existing managed server
correct.
I'd prefer to not do it manually, but if I have no choice......
I'd prefer to not do it manually, but if I have no choice......
-
- Product Manager
- Posts: 20400
- Liked: 2298 times
- Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
- Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
- Contact:
Re: Change credentials of existing managed server
Try the following example:
Thanks!
Code: Select all
$c = Get-VBRCredentials -Name "Name of new credentials"
$s = Get-VBRServer -Name "Name of your server"
$s.Info.SetCreds($c.Id);
$s.Update()
Who is online
Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 15 guests