-
- Enthusiast
- Posts: 94
- Liked: 6 times
- Joined: Apr 21, 2011 7:37 pm
- Contact:
Connect to remote Veeam Backup server with powershell
Is there a powershell cmdlet to remotely connect to a Veeam server?
-
- Chief Product Officer
- Posts: 31793
- Liked: 7295 times
- Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
- Location: Baar, Switzerland
- Contact:
Re: Connect to remote Veeam Backup server with powershell
AFAIK PowerShell 2.0 supports remote operations (this has nothing to do with Veeam though).
-
- Influencer
- Posts: 13
- Liked: never
- Joined: Mar 30, 2011 2:06 pm
- Full Name: Arne Fokkema
- Contact:
Re: Connect to remote Veeam Backup server with powershell
@Gostev, Is it possible to add the cmdlet to the upcoming release of Veeam B&R?
-
- Chief Product Officer
- Posts: 31793
- Liked: 7295 times
- Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
- Location: Baar, Switzerland
- Contact:
-
- Enthusiast
- Posts: 38
- Liked: never
- Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
- Contact:
Re: Connect to remote Veeam Backup server with powershell
I would suggest that Veeam need to have a manual for PowerShell and PS remote connection.
It is a gray area, and many of enterprise customers have to raise a support calls for a simple script.
I will talk to my sales rep about it.
It is a gray area, and many of enterprise customers have to raise a support calls for a simple script.
I will talk to my sales rep about it.
Re: Connect to remote Veeam Backup server with powershell
Hello,
There is a section devoted to PowerShell usage, in the User Guide and a help file shipped with B&R console (available through Help -> Help menu item). It also includes information on Veeam PowerShell remoting. Does it help you?
There is a section devoted to PowerShell usage, in the User Guide and a help file shipped with B&R console (available through Help -> Help menu item). It also includes information on Veeam PowerShell remoting. Does it help you?
-
- Influencer
- Posts: 13
- Liked: never
- Joined: Mar 30, 2011 2:06 pm
- Full Name: Arne Fokkema
- Contact:
Re: Connect to remote Veeam Backup server with powershell
Like the VMware PowerCLI cmdlet connect-viserver to connect with the vCenter Server or a vSphere host. It would be awsome to work with Powershell without the use of Remoting.Gostev wrote:What cmdlet?
-
- Chief Product Officer
- Posts: 31793
- Liked: 7295 times
- Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
- Location: Baar, Switzerland
- Contact:
Re: Connect to remote Veeam Backup server with powershell
Hmm... but what's wrong with remoting? Available today, and does the job.
-
- Influencer
- Posts: 13
- Liked: never
- Joined: Mar 30, 2011 2:06 pm
- Full Name: Arne Fokkema
- Contact:
Re: Connect to remote Veeam Backup server with powershell
It does the job indeed but with some limitations.
-
- Veteran
- Posts: 282
- Liked: 26 times
- Joined: Nov 10, 2010 6:51 pm
- Full Name: Seth Bartlett
- Contact:
Re: Connect to remote Veeam Backup server with powershell
What limitations? There is a memory limitation for each remote powershell that is created, which is set to 120MB I believe by default, but this can be increased to whatever number you need. After remoting in, I don't see what other limitations will hold you back from using our powershell cmdlets.
Skype: Sethbartlett88 - Make sure to label who you are and why you want to add me
Twitter: @sethbartlett
If my post was helpful, please like it. Sometimes twitter is quicker to hit me up if you need me.
Twitter: @sethbartlett
If my post was helpful, please like it. Sometimes twitter is quicker to hit me up if you need me.
-
- Chief Product Officer
- Posts: 31793
- Liked: 7295 times
- Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
- Location: Baar, Switzerland
- Contact:
Re: Connect to remote Veeam Backup server with powershell
LOL. I actually expected to see the wrath from our PowerShell guru when he sees that... and here it comes
-
- Lurker
- Posts: 1
- Liked: never
- Joined: Jan 22, 2011 4:57 pm
- Full Name: Christopher Schmitt
- Contact:
Load Veeam Module Remotely
[merged]
Is anyone using WindowsRM to query Powershell/Veeam remotely? I am trying to figure out the best way to get the Veeam Module imported.
I've tried creating a profile for everyone that has the module imported and that works on the server itself but it doesn't seem to work on a remote runspace. I also tried executing Import-Module "C:\...\Veeam.Backup.Powershell.dll" but that does not work either...
Is anyone using WindowsRM to query Powershell/Veeam remotely? I am trying to figure out the best way to get the Veeam Module imported.
I've tried creating a profile for everyone that has the module imported and that works on the server itself but it doesn't seem to work on a remote runspace. I also tried executing Import-Module "C:\...\Veeam.Backup.Powershell.dll" but that does not work either...
-
- Veteran
- Posts: 293
- Liked: 19 times
- Joined: Apr 13, 2011 12:45 pm
- Full Name: Thomas McConnell
- Contact:
Re: Load Veeam Module Remotely
Once your connected to your veeam server just dotankbusta wrote:Is anyone using WindowsRM to query Powershell/Veeam remotely? I am trying to figure out the best way to get the Veeam Module imported.
I've tried creating a profile for everyone that has the module imported and that works on the server itself but it doesn't seem to work on a remote runspace. I also tried executing Import-Module "C:\...\Veeam.Backup.Powershell.dll" but that does not work either...
Code: Select all
asnp "VeeamPSSnapIn"
-
- Influencer
- Posts: 10
- Liked: never
- Joined: Mar 28, 2011 2:13 pm
- Full Name: Justin Teager
- Contact:
Re: Connect to remote Veeam Backup server with powershell
Best way to do it in my experience is to use
Nice thing with that as well is that if you're converting the data to a native powershell format (as opposed to the Veeam objects) you can do all the actual manipulation on the local side by returning the hash/array/string/what-have-you.
Code: Select all
Invoke-Command -ComputerName "VBR-01" -ScriptBlock "asnp VeeamPSSnapin; #some code, using semicolons instead of line breaks#"
Who is online
Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 12 guests