Copy-VBRJob - description bug

PowerShell script exchange

Copy-VBRJob - description bug

Veeam Logoby marc.rousseau » Fri Apr 14, 2017 10:54 am

Hello,

I created a "Template" job with an empty description
I want to clone this job with Copy-VBRJob (with different datastores as source backup)
Cloning operation works fine but Description field is empty for all cloned jobs despite the fact I use the Copy-VBRJob -Description "xxxxx"

Looks like a bug
Can someone confirm this behavior ?
Thanks
Marc


Code: Select all
foreach ($datastore in $datastores_only_netapp) {

$crm = Find-VBRViEntity -DatastoresAndVMs -Name $datastore | Where-Object {$_.Path -like 'euhvmwap11*'}

$Job_template = Get-VBRJob -Name "_template_for_netapp"
$job=Copy-VBRJob -Job $job_template -NAme $job_name -Description "$datastore snapnetapp_snapvm (ret=93)"
#ajoute le datastore dans le clone du template
Add-VBRViJobObject -Job $job -Entities $crm

}

marc.rousseau
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 25
Liked: 11 times
Joined: Thu May 01, 2014 9:48 am
Full Name: marc.rousseau

Re: Copy-VBRJob - description bug

Veeam Logoby marc.rousseau » Fri Apr 14, 2017 11:40 am

Case 02128975
marc.rousseau
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 25
Liked: 11 times
Joined: Thu May 01, 2014 9:48 am
Full Name: marc.rousseau

Re: Copy-VBRJob - description bug

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Mon Apr 17, 2017 11:44 am

It's a known issue. According to the plan, it should be fixed in version 10. Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13266
Liked: 968 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: Copy-VBRJob - description bug

Veeam Logoby marc.rousseau » Mon Apr 17, 2017 3:05 pm

Thanks for the feeedback. When v10 will be released ?
marc.rousseau
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 25
Liked: 11 times
Joined: Thu May 01, 2014 9:48 am
Full Name: marc.rousseau

Re: Copy-VBRJob - description bug

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Mon Apr 17, 2017 4:36 pm

We cannot share ETA at the moment. Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13266
Liked: 968 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: Copy-VBRJob - description bug

Veeam Logoby marc.rousseau » Mon Apr 17, 2017 5:06 pm

Ok I unterstand.
I found a temporary workaround with editing description field into Veeam SQL database :

Image
marc.rousseau
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 25
Liked: 11 times
Joined: Thu May 01, 2014 9:48 am
Full Name: marc.rousseau

Re: Copy-VBRJob - description bug

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Mon Apr 17, 2017 5:28 pm

Yep, correcting db manually always comes to the rescue, playing the role of the "last resort". Glad to hear that you've found a workaround.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13266
Liked: 968 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

[MERGED] Change job description field via powershell

Veeam Logoby znabela » Fri May 19, 2017 8:40 pm

Not that I want to bark up an old tree, but ...

Is it possible to change the content of "Description" field in powershell with Veeam 9.5 (still in a supported way?)

I think the SQL query way is a hack, best suited for homelabs! ;)
znabela
Influencer
 
Posts: 12
Liked: 5 times
Joined: Thu Dec 04, 2014 7:09 am
Full Name: Robert Christiansen

Re: Change job description field via powershell

Veeam Logoby marc.rousseau » Fri May 26, 2017 9:05 pm

I tried everything with powershell to change description field (including hacks in this post) but the only solution I found, is to edit database :

powershell-f26/copy-vbrjob-description-bug-t42346.html#p238058

Code: Select all
##### SQL variables
$server="SERVER\VEEAMSQL2012"
$db="VeeamBackup"
$table="dbo.BJobs"

#Update description
Invoke-Sqlcmd -Query "UPDATE $table set description='new_description' WHERE name='job_name_to_modify';" -ServerInstance $server -Database $db
marc.rousseau
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 25
Liked: 11 times
Joined: Thu May 01, 2014 9:48 am
Full Name: marc.rousseau

[]MERGED] Description not added when Cloning Job

Veeam Logoby twesterd » Sun May 28, 2017 7:48 am

Below is the code for PowerShell that I used to Clone a job. The job is cloning, but the description is not applied. Is there something off in my code, or is this a bug?
Code: Select all
$job = Get-VBRJob -Name "Template Windows Backup Jobs"
Copy-VBRJob -Job $job -Name "Template Test Clone" -Description "Description of new job"
twesterd
Influencer
 
Posts: 17
Liked: never
Joined: Wed May 17, 2017 7:38 pm
Full Name: Trevor W

Re: Description not added when Cloning Job

Veeam Logoby marc.rousseau » Mon May 29, 2017 10:40 pm

Hello,

Known bug. Will be fixed in v10
Workaround: SQL query to edit database

powershell-f26/copy-vbrjob-description-bug-t42346.html#p237899
marc.rousseau
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 25
Liked: 11 times
Joined: Thu May 01, 2014 9:48 am
Full Name: marc.rousseau


Return to PowerShell



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests