PowerShell script exchange
Post Reply
ThomasMc
Expert
Posts: 293
Liked: 18 times
Joined: Apr 13, 2011 12:45 pm
Full Name: Thomas McConnell
Contact:

Copy-VBRJob

Post by ThomasMc »

Still an issue with this one and I noticed that you might be doing an update soon :) any chance this could be looked at and included, it now seems to not copy the objects in as per the original problem but now it creates "Legacy" jobs(even when the original isn't a legacy job)

I also uncovered a Replica Prefix in the shell, I'm assuming that this is for future as it doesn't work just yet but that feature would be awesome as well :D

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 26524
Liked: 4155 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Copy-VBRJob

Post by Gostev »

What is the support case number for this issue?

ThomasMc
Expert
Posts: 293
Liked: 18 times
Joined: Apr 13, 2011 12:45 pm
Full Name: Thomas McConnell
Contact:

Re: Copy-VBRJob

Post by ThomasMc »

I've never opened a SC with Veeam before so probably now is a good time to start :)

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 26524
Liked: 4155 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Copy-VBRJob

Post by Gostev »

Yes, it has to go through support and they have to reproduce/confirm before this can be escalated into development. Thanks!

Sethbartlett
Expert
Posts: 282
Liked: 26 times
Joined: Nov 10, 2010 6:51 pm
Full Name: Seth Bartlett
Contact:

Re: Copy-VBRJob

Post by Sethbartlett »

Fully reproduced/confirmed, Copy-VBRJob has been broke since 5 :)
Skype: Sethbartlett88 - Make sure to label who you are and why you want to add me ;)
Twitter: @sethbartlett
If my post was helpful, please like it. Sometimes twitter is quicker to hit me up if you need me.

ThomasMc
Expert
Posts: 293
Liked: 18 times
Joined: Apr 13, 2011 12:45 pm
Full Name: Thomas McConnell
Contact:

Re: Copy-VBRJob

Post by ThomasMc »

Sethbartlett wrote:Fully reproduced/confirmed, Copy-VBRJob has been broke since 5 :)
Cheers Seth, my ticket is 5157782

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 26524
Liked: 4155 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Copy-VBRJob

Post by Gostev »

Sethbartlett wrote:Fully reproduced/confirmed, Copy-VBRJob has been broke since 5 :)
And you can guess why it was not fixed... nobody had ever created a support case before!

ThomasMc
Expert
Posts: 293
Liked: 18 times
Joined: Apr 13, 2011 12:45 pm
Full Name: Thomas McConnell
Contact:

Re: Copy-VBRJob

Post by ThomasMc »

Gostev wrote: And you can guess why it was not fixed... nobody had ever created a support case before!
Point taken :) In my defense though I assumed it would have to had been reworked to do it via the GUI copy a backup job

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 26524
Liked: 4155 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Copy-VBRJob

Post by Gostev »

Job cloning is implemented in the Enteprise Manager functionality, so that's a bit different.

ThomasMc
Expert
Posts: 293
Liked: 18 times
Joined: Apr 13, 2011 12:45 pm
Full Name: Thomas McConnell
Contact:

Re: Copy-VBRJob

Post by ThomasMc »

Just installed EM to try it out, the clone feature is pretty cool with the rename functionality, if we could get that for the cmdlet then I would be very happy :)

pizzim13
Enthusiast
Posts: 94
Liked: 6 times
Joined: Apr 21, 2011 7:37 pm
Contact:

Re: Copy-VBRJob

Post by pizzim13 »

ThomasMc wrote:Just installed EM to try it out, the clone feature is pretty cool with the rename functionality, if we could get that for the cmdlet then I would be very happy :)
Would Export-VBRJob & Import-VBRJob work for you? I have used these in the past to clone jobs with all their settings.

jteager
Influencer
Posts: 10
Liked: never
Joined: Mar 28, 2011 2:13 pm
Full Name: Justin Teager
Contact:

Re: Copy-VBRJob

Post by jteager »

That'll keep the settings, but not the objects. If I recall it can also act-up with VSS (though I haven't tested it in a while). Handy workaround though, and it does do the export into fairly simple XML.

*EDIT*: Actually, looks like there's some issue(s) with Export-VBRJob in v6, so be warned. Seth and I are tossing that up internally.

pizzim13
Enthusiast
Posts: 94
Liked: 6 times
Joined: Apr 21, 2011 7:37 pm
Contact:

Re: Copy-VBRJob

Post by pizzim13 »

Export-VBRJob has a -IncludeObjects parameter. What issues have you seen with the VSS? With my tests the encrypted credentials were exported and I was able to use them against other VMs without modification. I ask because I may be using this functionality in an upcoming project.

Edit: Tested only with v5

Sethbartlett
Expert
Posts: 282
Liked: 26 times
Joined: Nov 10, 2010 6:51 pm
Full Name: Seth Bartlett
Contact:

Re: Copy-VBRJob

Post by Sethbartlett »

With 6, we are noticing some problems with Export-VBRJob that me and Justin are taking a look at. After lunch we'll post our finds :)
Skype: Sethbartlett88 - Make sure to label who you are and why you want to add me ;)
Twitter: @sethbartlett
If my post was helpful, please like it. Sometimes twitter is quicker to hit me up if you need me.

Sethbartlett
Expert
Posts: 282
Liked: 26 times
Joined: Nov 10, 2010 6:51 pm
Full Name: Seth Bartlett
Contact:

Re: Copy-VBRJob

Post by Sethbartlett »

Export-VBRJob seems to be failing, some issues with Reflection

Code: Select all

Export-VBRJob : There was an error reflecting type 'System.Collections.Generic.List`1[Veeam.Backup.PowerShell.Model.ExternalJob]'.
Something painfully wrong with Veeam.Backup.PowerShell.Model.ExternalJob currently during any reflection, tried re-writing the code by hand through powershell, no dice.
Skype: Sethbartlett88 - Make sure to label who you are and why you want to add me ;)
Twitter: @sethbartlett
If my post was helpful, please like it. Sometimes twitter is quicker to hit me up if you need me.

soehl
Enthusiast
Posts: 53
Liked: 8 times
Joined: May 09, 2011 12:43 pm
Full Name: Sebastian
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Copy-VBRJob

Post by soehl »

Any chance to get that fixed soon?! :?:

thx.

ThomasMc
Expert
Posts: 293
Liked: 18 times
Joined: Apr 13, 2011 12:45 pm
Full Name: Thomas McConnell
Contact:

Re: Copy-VBRJob

Post by ThomasMc »

The export or copy? The copy cmdlet is a legacy cmdlet so would have to be something new like Copy-ViBackup or something.


p.s have you tried this: Copy a bunch of Backup Job to New Jobs

soehl
Enthusiast
Posts: 53
Liked: 8 times
Joined: May 09, 2011 12:43 pm
Full Name: Sebastian
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Copy-VBRJob

Post by soehl »

I meant the export-vbrjob cmdlet.

thanks for the link. :)

Wintel
Influencer
Posts: 11
Liked: never
Joined: Mar 13, 2012 10:34 am
Contact:

Re: Copy-VBRJob

Post by Wintel »

will the export-vbrjob cmdlet be fixed anytime soon?

Is the format of the .xml output documented anywhere?

rgds

Sethbartlett
Expert
Posts: 282
Liked: 26 times
Joined: Nov 10, 2010 6:51 pm
Full Name: Seth Bartlett
Contact:

Re: Copy-VBRJob

Post by Sethbartlett »

The problem is that the Import/Export Job cmdlets both reference the same issue. Even if you could get the syntax down to do the imports, you would get the same reflection error you get with Export.
Skype: Sethbartlett88 - Make sure to label who you are and why you want to add me ;)
Twitter: @sethbartlett
If my post was helpful, please like it. Sometimes twitter is quicker to hit me up if you need me.

jpierre
Novice
Posts: 4
Liked: never
Joined: Dec 24, 2009 3:17 am
Full Name: Josh Pierre
Contact:

Re: Copy-VBRJob

Post by jpierre »

When will this be resolved? We'd like to backup our configuration and ExportJob doesn't work with the same errors listed above.

claudiog64
Lurker
Posts: 1
Liked: never
Joined: May 16, 2012 1:22 pm
Full Name: Claudio Galletti
Contact:

Re: Copy-VBRJob

Post by claudiog64 »

Sethbartlett wrote:The problem is that the Import/Export Job cmdlets both reference the same issue. Even if you could get the syntax down to do the imports, you would get the same reflection error you get with Export.
Any news on this bug ? Any chance to have it fixed ?

Thanks
Claudio

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 26524
Liked: 4155 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Copy-VBRJob

Post by Gostev »

Not a bug. Apparently, Import/Export job cmdlet are simply stubs for the future functionality that is not yet implemented in the product. There is simply no code behind these cmdlets, as there is no configuration backup/restore functionality in the product itself yet. They were included in the reference accidentally, and will be removed with the next update until this functionality is actually implemented (chances are, in the next release). Thanks!

RJI
Service Provider
Posts: 13
Liked: never
Joined: Jan 23, 2010 1:02 am
Full Name: Richard Ihmels
Contact:

Re: Copy-VBRJob

Post by RJI »

Did this make 6.1 or will it be implemented in a release after that?

Sethbartlett
Expert
Posts: 282
Liked: 26 times
Joined: Nov 10, 2010 6:51 pm
Full Name: Seth Bartlett
Contact:

Re: Copy-VBRJob

Post by Sethbartlett »

Copy-VBRJob works in 6.1 now.
Skype: Sethbartlett88 - Make sure to label who you are and why you want to add me ;)
Twitter: @sethbartlett
If my post was helpful, please like it. Sometimes twitter is quicker to hit me up if you need me.

RJI
Service Provider
Posts: 13
Liked: never
Joined: Jan 23, 2010 1:02 am
Full Name: Richard Ihmels
Contact:

Re: Copy-VBRJob

Post by RJI »

My question was regarding the export-vbrjobs and import-vbrjobs stubs. Has the equivilent funcionality made it into 6.1 as the commandlets now report that they are obsolete?

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests