I am trying to run some powershell scripts in the console and they are failing because the console has MFA enabled. The console is running which is how I launched the Powershell console. I tried the Connect-VBRServer command with credentials but it didn't prompt for MFA and failed with the error below:
Connect-VBRServer : PowerShell client update environment initialization failed: Failed to connect to Veeam Backup &
Replication server:
The logon attempt failed
Execution environment cannot be initialized to Remote
At line:1 char:1
+ Connect-VBRServer -Credential $Cred
+ ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
+ CategoryInfo : InvalidOperation: (:) [Connect-VBRServer], AggregateException
+ FullyQualifiedErrorId : UpdateCheckerErrorId,Veeam.Backup.PowerShell.Cmdlets.ConnectVBRServer
-
- Novice
- Posts: 9
- Liked: 2 times
- Joined: Nov 20, 2018 12:25 am
- Full Name: Jeff Doty
- Contact:
-
- Veeam Software
- Posts: 555
- Liked: 208 times
- Joined: Mar 07, 2016 3:55 pm
- Full Name: Ronn Martin
- Contact:
Re: How do you do Powershell with MFA enabled on the console
MFA would be pretty useless if one could simply bypass it by running PS scripts to perform VBR operations. You'll need to add user/role definition(s) in VBR in order to run your scripts in a user context not subject to MFA...
-
- Novice
- Posts: 9
- Liked: 2 times
- Joined: Nov 20, 2018 12:25 am
- Full Name: Jeff Doty
- Contact:
Re: How do you do Powershell with MFA enabled on the console
THanks, I am useing an account that doesn't require MFA.
-
- Veeam Software
- Posts: 555
- Liked: 208 times
- Joined: Mar 07, 2016 3:55 pm
- Full Name: Ronn Martin
- Contact:
Re: How do you do Powershell with MFA enabled on the console
Great. Then MFA isn't the issue. I was able to reproduce this error by not specifying a target server. Try explicitly specifying the remote VBR host i.e.
If MFA is the issue you'll see an error like "Unable to connect to the server with MFA-enabled user account"
Code: Select all
Connect-VBRServer -cred $credential -Server <IP/FQDN>
-
- Novice
- Posts: 9
- Liked: 2 times
- Joined: Nov 20, 2018 12:25 am
- Full Name: Jeff Doty
- Contact:
Re: How do you do Powershell with MFA enabled on the console
Yes, I am all good now. Thanks again.
Who is online
Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 15 guests