-
- Enthusiast
- Posts: 51
- Liked: 5 times
- Joined: Oct 17, 2018 9:01 am
- Contact:
job name not updated
hello,
i've renamed a backup copy job and i noticed that the ps snappin does not find the job with his new name
i know that veeam does not really rename jobs but is there something to do for updating this ?
(i'm using vb&r 9.5.42866)
thank you
i've renamed a backup copy job and i noticed that the ps snappin does not find the job with his new name
i know that veeam does not really rename jobs but is there something to do for updating this ?
(i'm using vb&r 9.5.42866)
thank you
-
- Product Manager
- Posts: 20415
- Liked: 2302 times
- Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
- Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
- Contact:
Re: job name not updated
Have you re-opened a PS console (just in case)? What script do you use to find a backup copy job? Thanks!
-
- Enthusiast
- Posts: 51
- Liked: 5 times
- Joined: Oct 17, 2018 9:01 am
- Contact:
Re: job name not updated
hello,
yes i have re-opened powershell
i tried directly from the vbr server and remotly from my computer (where the console is installed).
here is the simple code :
with this job name the result is empty, if i try with the old name i can get all the restorepoints
here is the job properties where i can find the old name :
thank you
yes i have re-opened powershell
i tried directly from the vbr server and remotly from my computer (where the console is installed).
here is the simple code :
Code: Select all
Add-Pssnapin VeeamPssnapin
$JOBNAME = "c_mess_45j"
$restorepoint = Get-VBRBackup -Name $JOBNAME | Get-VBRRestorePoint -Name vm71
here is the job properties where i can find the old name :
Code: Select all
JobName : c_mess_30j
Name : c_mess_30j
Path : c_mess_30j
DirPath : c_mess_30j
PartialPath : c_mess_30j
Name : c_mess_30j.vbm
-
- Product Manager
- Posts: 20415
- Liked: 2302 times
- Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
- Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
- Contact:
Re: job name not updated
You're querying previously created restore points, not backup copy jobs. So, the behaviour is expected - previously created restore points have previous backup copy job name. Thanks!
-
- Service Provider
- Posts: 49
- Liked: 15 times
- Joined: May 29, 2018 8:42 pm
- Contact:
Re: job name not updated
I want to say that the restore point is not being queried here but the backup which does not have a need or expectation of keeping a historic name as far as I am aware. Restore points are not aware of job names at all and simply pull this information from the backup itself. This job name is also pretty easy to change either through the UI by remapping the backup to to job which updates the job or through power shell to force an update and accomplish the same thing.You're querying previously created restore points, not backup copy jobs. So, the behaviour is expected - previously created restore points have previous backup copy job name. Thanks!
Code: Select all
$Backup = (Get-VBRBackup | Where-Object {$_.ID -eq 'B5F074C4-1598-4C1B-ADDF-2B021B12E95A'})
$Backup.Update($Backup.GetJob())
That being said the easiest workaround to query by job name now is to actually query for the job and then get the backup from the job instead of just asking for the backup but that is not something that is clear by documentation
Code: Select all
(Get-VBRJob -Name 'Example Backup Name').FindLastBackup()
-
- Product Manager
- Posts: 20415
- Liked: 2302 times
- Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
- Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
- Contact:
Re: job name not updated
Get-VBRRestorePoint cmdlet is used, so, it's restore points that are being queried.
Also, I'd advice against using undocumented PS method (like loading an assembly) especially to perform actions product is not ready for.
Be aware that ifsomething goes unexpectedly after the backup job name is updated on previous backups, you will be left with unsupported product configuration.
Thanks!
Code: Select all
$restorepoint = Get-VBRBackup -Name $JOBNAME | Get-VBRRestorePoint -Name vm71
Be aware that ifsomething goes unexpectedly after the backup job name is updated on previous backups, you will be left with unsupported product configuration.
Thanks!
-
- Service Provider
- Posts: 49
- Liked: 15 times
- Joined: May 29, 2018 8:42 pm
- Contact:
Re: job name not updated
While he is calling that commandlet it is not the part that is failing. This issue is this does not return any result:Get-VBRRestorePoint cmdlet is used, so, it's restore points that are being queried.
Code: Select all
Get-VBRBackup -Name $JOBNAME
Code: Select all
@() | Get-VBRRestorePoint
Option 1 Technically unsupported
Code: Select all
(Get-VBRJob -Name $JOBNAME).FindLastBackup() | Get-VBRRestorePoint
Code: Select all
Get-VBRBackup | Where-Object {$_.jobID -eq (Get-VBRJob -Name $JOBNAME).ID} | Get-VBRRestorePoint
EDIT: I attribute the issue to simply an oversight in the job rename process to be clear not a bug in how powershell is working.
-
- Enthusiast
- Posts: 51
- Liked: 5 times
- Joined: Oct 17, 2018 9:01 am
- Contact:
Re: job name not updated
thank you it's better with a remapping.
Who is online
Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests