-
- Lurker
- Posts: 2
- Liked: never
- Joined: Dec 30, 2013 10:10 pm
Mark as Free CLI
Hi,
how can I simulate the "Mark as free" GUI menu' command using only powershell command ?
I didn't find the similar command from veeam powershell guide.
Anyone can help me ?
Best Regards
how can I simulate the "Mark as free" GUI menu' command using only powershell command ?
I didn't find the similar command from veeam powershell guide.
Anyone can help me ?
Best Regards
-
- Product Manager
- Posts: 20415
- Liked: 2302 times
- Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
- Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
- Contact:
Re: Mark as Free CLI
You should move a given medium to "Free" Media Pool, using Move-VBRTapeMedium command.
Thanks.
Code: Select all
Move-VBRTapeMedium -Medium $tape -MediaPool $pool // Where $pool is a "Free" media pool.
-
- Product Manager
- Posts: 20415
- Liked: 2302 times
- Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
- Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
- Contact:
Re: Mark as Free CLI
Additionally, you can use the following script:
Thanks.
Code: Select all
$Medium = Get-VBRTapeMedium -Name "Name of tape"
$Medium.MarkAsFree()
-
- Influencer
- Posts: 21
- Liked: never
- Joined: Nov 26, 2013 11:37 am
- Contact:
[Merged] : Mark tape as free
Hi is tghere any way to mark tape as free via powershell?
I only found the command to erase tape but i just want it marked as free.
Ty in advance.
regards
I only found the command to erase tape but i just want it marked as free.
Ty in advance.
regards
-
- Product Manager
- Posts: 20415
- Liked: 2302 times
- Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
- Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
- Contact:
Re: Mark as Free CLI
Yep, it should be possible, using one of the methods described above.
Thanks.
Thanks.
-
- Influencer
- Posts: 21
- Liked: never
- Joined: Nov 26, 2013 11:37 am
- Contact:
Re: Mark as Free CLI
Ty, that does the trick
-
- Product Manager
- Posts: 20415
- Liked: 2302 times
- Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
- Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
- Contact:
Re: Mark as Free CLI
Glad to hear that my input was helpful. Also, feel free to use the corresponding section of our online Help Center that provides detailed information about existing PS commandlets.
Thanks.
Thanks.
-
- Influencer
- Posts: 12
- Liked: never
- Joined: Nov 06, 2012 10:43 am
- Full Name: Christian
- Contact:
[MERGED] missing $medium.markasfree() method in version 8
Why in version 8 is not more possible do this :
the markasfree() method is missing in medium type object!!
How can I set 'as free' a tape using powershell with VB&R 8 ???
Thank you all.
Code: Select all
$Medium = Get-VBRTapeMedium -Name "Name of tape"
$Medium.MarkAsFree()
How can I set 'as free' a tape using powershell with VB&R 8 ???
Thank you all.
-
- VP, Product Management
- Posts: 27377
- Liked: 2800 times
- Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
- Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
- Contact:
Re: Mark as Free CLI
Hi Christian, please try to follow the instructions given by Vladimir in the first post.
-
- Influencer
- Posts: 12
- Liked: never
- Joined: Nov 06, 2012 10:43 am
- Full Name: Christian
- Contact:
Re: Mark as Free CLI
I have already done this 'workaround'! But it's a workaround and not a dot net method that does the "mark-as-free" action as the one in the GUI.Vitaliy S. wrote:Hi Christian, please try to follow the instructions given by Vladimir in the first post.
My question is: why veeam has changed this behaviour without any notice, breaking all scripts ??
I think this is not a way to go!
thanks for your time
-
- Product Manager
- Posts: 20415
- Liked: 2302 times
- Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
- Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
- Contact:
Re: Mark as Free CLI
In fact, it's not a workaround, because marking tape as free places it inside "Free" media pool. The script provided above does the same.
As to missing methods, some explanation is provided in the adjacent thread.
Thanks.
As to missing methods, some explanation is provided in the adjacent thread.
Thanks.
Who is online
Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests