-
- Influencer
- Posts: 10
- Liked: never
- Joined: Feb 19, 2021 6:31 am
- Full Name: Hazem Amer
- Contact:
Need to change Job Backup Repository
I will be thanks If you can support me to change all Jobs Backup Repository without cloning the jobs.
I have both Vmware backup & Windows Agent Backup Jobs.
Another thing to change the description of all Jobs one time
Veeam Version: 10.0.0.4461 P2
I have both Vmware backup & Windows Agent Backup Jobs.
Another thing to change the description of all Jobs one time
Veeam Version: 10.0.0.4461 P2
-
- Product Manager
- Posts: 14844
- Liked: 3086 times
- Joined: Sep 01, 2014 11:46 am
- Full Name: Hannes Kasparick
- Location: Austria
- Contact:
Re: Need to change Job Backup Repository
Hello,
and welcome to the forum.
To change the backup repository, you need to move the backups first. That's pretty complex with PowerShell (you posted in the PowerShell forum). https://www.veeam.com/kb1729
Are you sure, that you want to solve that problem with PowerShell instead of doing it manually? How many VMs / Jobs / Agents to you have?
Description: post289260.html#p289260 should help.
Best regards,
Hannes
and welcome to the forum.
To change the backup repository, you need to move the backups first. That's pretty complex with PowerShell (you posted in the PowerShell forum). https://www.veeam.com/kb1729
Are you sure, that you want to solve that problem with PowerShell instead of doing it manually? How many VMs / Jobs / Agents to you have?
Description: post289260.html#p289260 should help.
Best regards,
Hannes
-
- Influencer
- Posts: 10
- Liked: never
- Joined: Feb 19, 2021 6:31 am
- Full Name: Hazem Amer
- Contact:
Re: Need to change Job Backup Repository
I know, already all backups moved to the new storage location. I need now just to change the value of the backup repository for each job.
For example old ip 1.1.1.1 and new is 2.2.2.2 and to change description for all
For example old ip 1.1.1.1 and new is 2.2.2.2 and to change description for all
-
- Veeam Software
- Posts: 2010
- Liked: 670 times
- Joined: Sep 25, 2019 10:32 am
- Full Name: Oleg Feoktistov
- Contact:
Re: Need to change Job Backup Repository
Hi Hazem,
Which job types do you mean? The ways to set this may vary depending on the job type.
Thanks,
Oleg
Which job types do you mean? The ways to set this may vary depending on the job type.
Thanks,
Oleg
-
- Influencer
- Posts: 10
- Liked: never
- Joined: Feb 19, 2021 6:31 am
- Full Name: Hazem Amer
- Contact:
Re: Need to change Job Backup Repository
I have 2 types of backup jobs
1- Vmware backup
2- Windows Agent Backup
I need to change backup repository name and description for each job (I already moved backup files to the new repository)
1- Vmware backup
2- Windows Agent Backup
I need to change backup repository name and description for each job (I already moved backup files to the new repository)
-
- Veeam Software
- Posts: 2010
- Liked: 670 times
- Joined: Sep 25, 2019 10:32 am
- Full Name: Oleg Feoktistov
- Contact:
Re: Need to change Job Backup Repository
For Vmware backup job - there is no direct way to do that, but see the method suggested in this thread.
For Windows agent backup job - it's quite simple if it comes to windows agent jobs managed by VBR:
Thanks,
Oleg
For Windows agent backup job - it's quite simple if it comes to windows agent jobs managed by VBR:
Code: Select all
$repo = Get-VBRBackupRepository -Name 'Backup Repo'
$job = Get-VBRComputerBackupJob -Name ' Windows Agent Job'
Set-VBRComputerBackupJob -Job $job -Description "Description here" -BackupRepository $repo
Oleg
-
- Influencer
- Posts: 10
- Liked: never
- Joined: Feb 19, 2021 6:31 am
- Full Name: Hazem Amer
- Contact:
Re: Need to change Job Backup Repository
And if i need do it for all one time,
Can you help me in this?
Can you help me in this?
-
- Veeam Software
- Posts: 2010
- Liked: 670 times
- Joined: Sep 25, 2019 10:32 am
- Full Name: Oleg Feoktistov
- Contact:
Re: Need to change Job Backup Repository
Sure, just loop over each job and perform necessary actions.
For VMware backup jobs:
For Windows agent backup jobs:
And if you want custom description for each job, you'll need to compose a txt file with an array of description strings, get contents of this file and then match them with a job by index in a nested loop.
Thanks,
Oleg
For VMware backup jobs:
Code: Select all
$repository = Get-VBRBackupRepository "Backup Repo"
$jobs = Get-VBRJob | where {$_.TypeToString -eq "VMware Backup"}
foreach ($job in $jobs) {
Copy-VBRJob -Job $job -Repository $repository -Description "Description here"
}
Code: Select all
$repo = Get-VBRBackupRepository -Name "Backup Repo"
$jobs = Get-VBRComputerBackupJob | where {$_.OSPlatform -eq "Windows"}
foreach ($job in $jobs) {
Set-VBRComputerBackupJob -Job $job -Description "Description here" -BackupRepository $repo
}
Thanks,
Oleg
-
- Influencer
- Posts: 10
- Liked: never
- Joined: Feb 19, 2021 6:31 am
- Full Name: Hazem Amer
- Contact:
Re: Need to change Job Backup Repository
Thanks for your attention and support.
Who is online
Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 14 guests