PowerShell script exchange
Post Reply
Dotmax
Influencer
Posts: 18
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Aug 17, 2016 6:49 am
Contact:

Powershell cmdlet Start-VBRJob error (Root element is missing)

Post by Dotmax »

Good morning, recently we modified our backup script, replacing a backup job with a backupcopy job
The powershell syntax to start the job is (as i understand) the same: Get-VBRJob -name "jobname"|Start-VBRJob -RunAsync

But now when we start the job from poweshell, almost immediately, the job fails.
In the job history I don't have the failed run, but I receive the mail notification with the error: "Root element is missing"

Translated from the italian:
Backup completed with errors Error: Elemento radice mancante.
Job has been stopped with failures. Error: Elemento radice mancante.

if we start the job from the console, it runs fine

can you please provide me some help?

MAX
Dotmax
Influencer
Posts: 18
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Aug 17, 2016 6:49 am
Contact:

Re: Powershell cmdlet Start-VBRJob error (Root element is missing)

Post by Dotmax »

Here is a screenshot of the logs (not sure why it talks of veeamzip)

https://i.imgur.com/HkCYrYK.png
Dotmax
Influencer
Posts: 18
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Aug 17, 2016 6:49 am
Contact:

Re: Powershell cmdlet Start-VBRJob error (Root element is missing)

Post by Dotmax »

Opened case:
Case #07040441
david.domask
Veeam Software
Posts: 1226
Liked: 322 times
Joined: Jun 28, 2016 12:12 pm
Contact:

Re: Powershell cmdlet Start-VBRJob error (Root element is missing)

Post by david.domask »

Hi @Dotmax, thank you for posting the case number. Support will check it out, but just a note, I don't think it's about the cmdlet itself, I suspect there is some issue elsewhere that introduces the malformed XML you reported. But this is just "first blush" idea, let's allow the Support team a bit to check the situation.
David Domask | Product Management: Principal Analyst
Dotmax
Influencer
Posts: 18
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Aug 17, 2016 6:49 am
Contact:

Re: Powershell cmdlet Start-VBRJob error (Root element is missing)

Post by Dotmax »

Hi, i want to share with you the resolution of the ticket.

The helpdesk provide us the following answer:
"In V12, the proper way to initiate data transfer of a copy job is to use the Sync-VBRBackupCopyJob cmdlet instead of Start-VBRJob."
so i change my script from:

Code: Select all

Get-VBRJob -name "jobname"|Start-VBRJob -RunAsync
to:

Code: Select all

Sync-VBRBackupCopyJob -job "jobname" -ImmediateCopyLastRestorePoint 
Great thanks to the Veeam Support
MAX
Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests