PowerShell script exchange
Post Reply
gvinpin
Enthusiast
Posts: 48
Liked: never
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Contact:

Remote PowerShell

Post by gvinpin » May 16, 2011 9:17 pm

I can start remote PowerShell (2008R2) session, but specific Veeam commands will not run, as like extensions not installed.
Locally (on target server) I can run Veeam specific PowerShell commands.
Something missing?

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 24612
Liked: 3458 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Remote PowerShell

Post by Gostev » May 16, 2011 11:57 pm

I know little about PowerShell, but I would check that you have PS 2.0 installed on both servers (since 1.0 does not support remote operations), and also if you have Veeam PS extensions installed on both. Thanks.

gvinpin
Enthusiast
Posts: 48
Liked: never
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Contact:

Re: Remote PowerShell

Post by gvinpin » May 17, 2011 12:49 am

OK, found import-psession to do it.

$s=new-pssession -computername xxxxx
import-pssession -session $s

But, when I am trying to run job called EV, using this command:

Start-VBRJob -Job EV

getting error message.

gvinpin
Enthusiast
Posts: 48
Liked: never
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Contact:

Re: Remote PowerShell

Post by gvinpin » May 17, 2011 6:29 am

Another update:
I need to run locally this script to start existing job called EV

$job=Get-VBRJob | where {$_.Name –eq “EV”}
Start-VBRJob –Job $job

But, I cannot run it remotely.

Basic idea is to trigger this job remotely as a part of a Symantec Enterprise Vault backup.
Anyone has any idea on how to do it?

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 22858
Liked: 1538 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Remote PowerShell

Post by Vitaliy S. » May 17, 2011 8:32 am

Are you able to trigger the same script from a batch file locally on the backup server?

gvinpin
Enthusiast
Posts: 48
Liked: never
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Contact:

Re: Remote PowerShell

Post by gvinpin » May 17, 2011 8:57 am

Yes,
$job=Get-VBRJob | where {$_.Name –eq “EV”}
Start-VBRJob –Job $job

works fine locally on backup server.

gvinpin
Enthusiast
Posts: 48
Liked: never
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Contact:

Re: Remote PowerShell

Post by gvinpin » May 17, 2011 9:49 pm

Should I raise a support call?

Sethbartlett
Expert
Posts: 282
Liked: 25 times
Joined: Nov 10, 2010 6:51 pm
Full Name: Seth Bartlett
Contact:

Re: Remote PowerShell

Post by Sethbartlett » May 18, 2011 5:02 am

I'm guessing that when you are testing the commands locally, you are doing it within the Veeam Power shell console? It sounds like you need to do 1 of 2 things:

1. Run C:\Program Files\Veeam\Backup and Replication\Initialize-VeeamToolkit.ps1 to initialize the Veeam snap-in or
2. Run the command "Add-PSSnapin VeeamPSSnapIn" so you can use the Veeam powershell commands.
Skype: Sethbartlett88 - Make sure to label who you are and why you want to add me ;)
Twitter: @sethbartlett
If my post was helpful, please like it. Sometimes twitter is quicker to hit me up if you need me.

gvinpin
Enthusiast
Posts: 48
Liked: never
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Contact:

Re: Remote PowerShell

Post by gvinpin » May 18, 2011 5:19 am

Sethbartlett wrote:I'm guessing that when you are testing the commands locally, you are doing it within the Veeam Power shell console? It sounds like you need to do 1 of 2 things:

1. Run C:\Program Files\Veeam\Backup and Replication\Initialize-VeeamToolkit.ps1 to initialize the Veeam snap-in or
2. Run the command "Add-PSSnapin VeeamPSSnapIn" so you can use the Veeam powershell commands.
I can use Veeam Powershell commands locally, no problems.
But, I cannot use it remotely from other computer.
I can create a PS remote session and use native PS commands, but this remote session do not recognise that backup server has VeeamPSSnapin installed.
I will try your commands anyway, thanks.

Alexey D.

Re: Remote PowerShell

Post by Alexey D. » May 18, 2011 8:41 am

To use Veeam PowerShell remotely you should perform these steps:
- install WinRM service (Windows Remote Management);
- type this command in PS console:

Code: Select all

Enable-PSRemoting
Should work! Let us know if not.

gvinpin
Enthusiast
Posts: 48
Liked: never
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Contact:

Re: Remote PowerShell

Post by gvinpin » May 18, 2011 9:36 pm

Alexey D. wrote:To use Veeam PowerShell remotely you should perform these steps:
- install WinRM service (Windows Remote Management);
- type this command in PS console:

Code: Select all

Enable-PSRemoting
Should work! Let us know if not.
I have already told several times, that I can connect remotely.
Please spend some time reading my posts.
The problem is that during remote session, I cannot run Veeam subset of cmdlets.

Sethbartlett
Expert
Posts: 282
Liked: 25 times
Joined: Nov 10, 2010 6:51 pm
Full Name: Seth Bartlett
Contact:

Re: Remote PowerShell

Post by Sethbartlett » May 19, 2011 2:05 am

After connecting remotely, are you doing the Add-PSSnapin VeeamPSSnapIn command? Does it give you an error stating that it doesn't exist or what? Your connection outside of the Veeam box would not know about the commands without being using the snapin first.
Skype: Sethbartlett88 - Make sure to label who you are and why you want to add me ;)
Twitter: @sethbartlett
If my post was helpful, please like it. Sometimes twitter is quicker to hit me up if you need me.

gvinpin
Enthusiast
Posts: 48
Liked: never
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Contact:

Re: Remote PowerShell

Post by gvinpin » May 19, 2011 5:51 am

Sethbartlett wrote:After connecting remotely, are you doing the Add-PSSnapin VeeamPSSnapIn command? Does it give you an error stating that it doesn't exist or what? Your connection outside of the Veeam box would not know about the commands without being using the snapin first.
Thanks a lot, that was a missing part.

So, the final script to start existing job named EV from remote Powershell:

$s = New-PSSession -Computername server1
Enter-PSSession $s
Add-PSSnapin VeeamPSSnapIn
$job=Get-VBRJob | where {$_.Name –eq “EV”}
Start-VBRJob –Job $job

1-0-1
Enthusiast
Posts: 54
Liked: never
Joined: Nov 30, 2010 1:38 pm
Full Name: Bernd
Contact:

Re: Remote PowerShell

Post by 1-0-1 » May 02, 2012 3:25 pm

I noticed if I run the command manually it works but if I put it into Powershell script it stops after it connects to the remote server. My script looks like this:

Code: Select all

$s = New-PSSession -Computername srvveeam02.internal.com.na
Enter-PSSession $s
Add-PSSnapin VeeamPSSnapIn
Get-VBRJob | where {$_.Name -eq "P1DR"} | Start-VBRJob -RunAsync
So once I execute the script from the command line it just stops at the remote powershell prompt. So basically it seems to stop straight after:

Code: Select all

Enter-PSSession $s 
If I execute the command one by hand it starts the remote backup job. The whole idea is that I have this script as part of a post backup command on one VEEAM Server to start the backups on another remote VEEAM Server. Cannot schedule the jobs so basically the last job on the local VEEAM server is going to start the next job on the remote VEEAM server.

I am using VEEAM Backup and Replication v5.0.2.230 (x64) on Windows 2008 R2 Standard Edition (x64) with Powershell 2.0.

ThomasMc
Expert
Posts: 293
Liked: 17 times
Joined: Apr 13, 2011 12:45 pm
Full Name: Thomas McConnell
Contact:

Re: Remote PowerShell

Post by ThomasMc » May 02, 2012 3:29 pm 2 people like this post

try

Code: Select all

Invoke-Command -Session $s -ScriptBlock {
   Add-PsSnapin -Name VeeamPSSnapIn -ErrorAction SilentlyContinue
   Get-VBRJob | where {$_.Name -eq "P1DR"} | Start-VBRJob -RunAsync
} 
or v6

Code: Select all

Invoke-Command -Session $s -ScriptBlock {
   Add-PsSnapin -Name VeeamPSSnapIn -ErrorAction SilentlyContinue
   Get-VBRJob -Name "P1DR" | Start-VBRJob -RunAsync
} 
instead of entering the session


[Added]
Don't forget the housekeeping :)

Code: Select all

Get-PSSession | Remove-PSSession

1-0-1
Enthusiast
Posts: 54
Liked: never
Joined: Nov 30, 2010 1:38 pm
Full Name: Bernd
Contact:

Re: Remote PowerShell

Post by 1-0-1 » May 03, 2012 11:45 am

You are a champion!

Just for anybody want to use this - make sure to add your remote session declaration in front of the code block:

Code: Select all

$s = New-PSSession -Computername srvveeam02.internal.com.na
So the whole thing will look like this:

Code: Select all

$s = New-PSSession -Computername srvveeam02.internal.com.na
Invoke-Command -Session $s -ScriptBlock {
   Add-PsSnapin -Name VeeamPSSnapIn -ErrorAction SilentlyContinue
   Get-VBRJob | where {$_.Name -eq "P1DR"} | Start-VBRJob -RunAsync
}
I also assume this is safe to run as a post job command as long as the VEEAM service account has accesss to the powershell script? I will be able to find out only tonight as I cannot kickstart this chain without causing issues with the schedule. In my case I have added "C:\SCRIPTS\RemoteStartP1DR.ps1" to the post activity/command section of a job.

ThomasMc
Expert
Posts: 293
Liked: 17 times
Joined: Apr 13, 2011 12:45 pm
Full Name: Thomas McConnell
Contact:

Re: Remote PowerShell

Post by ThomasMc » May 03, 2012 11:58 am 1 person likes this post


George
Influencer
Posts: 22
Liked: never
Joined: Jan 27, 2012 12:25 pm
Full Name: George
Contact:

Start Job Remotely

Post by George » Jun 27, 2012 4:31 pm

[merged]

Hi Guys,

Whats the script to start a backup from a remote server?

I have a Veeam Server (Server A), i would like to start the backup using a script from a different server (Server B).

Thanks! :D

svenschulze
Lurker
Posts: 1
Liked: never
Joined: Aug 28, 2013 5:52 am
Contact:

[MERGED] Starting a Backup Job per Script.

Post by svenschulze » Sep 02, 2013 6:55 am

Hi at all,

I want to start a Backup Job per Script from another Windows 2008 R2 with no veeam Sulution on it.
After the jobs's done, I need to receive the result of the backup job on the same way.

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 18114
Liked: 1536 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Remote PowerShell

Post by foggy » Sep 02, 2013 7:17 am

Hello, please review this thread for the answers. If you need additional clarification, feel free to ask here. Thanks.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests