Replication: Change all VMs to disk type "source"

PowerShell script exchange

Replication: Change all VMs to disk type "source"

Veeam Logoby michele.berardo » Tue Mar 07, 2017 5:07 pm

Hi all,
I've this need and I cannot find a way to solve it. At a customer I have 2 different sites, and some Replication Jobs that replicate all the VMs from the production site to the DR site. These jobs have "datastore" as source so I can have the same datastore layout at the destination and replicate exactly all the VMs inside the specific datastore to the same one in the destination.
Unfortunately I cannot find a way to modify all the VMs (about 100) to replicate using the source disk type (thick provision lazy zeroed) so all the destination VMs are thin provision (that is the default behavior) and I don't want this.
I've just tried the cmdlet: Get-VBRJob -name "replica_xyz" | Set-VBRViReplicaJob -DiskType Source
but it seems to leave the settings inaltered.
I'm using Veeam B&R 9.5 U1

Do you have some suggestions?
Thank you so much for your help.
Regards.
michele.berardo
Novice
 
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Wed Feb 26, 2014 11:54 am
Full Name: Michele Berardo

Re: Replication: Change all VMs to disk type "source"

Veeam Logoby Andreas Neufert » Sun Mar 12, 2017 11:10 pm

Do you try to change an existing Job? Can you please try to modify a new job (that never ran with your code) ?
Andreas Neufert
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 2266
Liked: 376 times
Joined: Wed May 04, 2011 8:36 am
Location: Germany
Full Name: @AndyandtheVMs Veeam PM

Re: Replication: Change all VMs to disk type "source"

Veeam Logoby michele.berardo » Mon Mar 13, 2017 3:57 pm

Hi Andreas,
thank you for your reply but I cannot understand what are you suggesting me? These are all new jobs, the customer didn't have replicas before. But the default setting is to replicate using thin disks, but I need to use "source". How can I do massively?
michele.berardo
Novice
 
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Wed Feb 26, 2014 11:54 am
Full Name: Michele Berardo

Re: Replication: Change all VMs to disk type "source"

Veeam Logoby Andreas Neufert » Mon Mar 13, 2017 8:39 pm

If the VM disk was already added under "Pick Datastore"... you can use the following way to change this.
powershell-f26/example-replica-vm-disk-target-and-type-t23725.html
Andreas Neufert
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 2266
Liked: 376 times
Joined: Wed May 04, 2011 8:36 am
Location: Germany
Full Name: @AndyandtheVMs Veeam PM

Re: Replication: Change all VMs to disk type "source"

Veeam Logoby michele.berardo » Wed Mar 15, 2017 12:16 pm

I guess it is exactly what I was looking for. I'll try that and give you a feedback.
Thank you so much!
michele.berardo
Novice
 
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Wed Feb 26, 2014 11:54 am
Full Name: Michele Berardo

[MERGED] Replica Disk Type

Veeam Logoby Stabz » Mon Oct 02, 2017 1:13 pm

Hi,

A new quick question for you :)

My Vm Disk format at source are thick lazy zeroed, in the replication side the disks are thin.

After a look in your helpcente, I found that is normal. https://helpcenter.veeam.com/docs/backu ... tml?ver=95

We have the possibilities to configure the job to change the disk format. But when I use the pick dastore option, I have to add my Vms and change the disk type, one by one.

There is no option to change the default value ?
Stabz
Influencer
 
Posts: 24
Liked: never
Joined: Fri Apr 07, 2017 7:40 am
Full Name: Philippe DUPUIS

Re: Replica Disk Type

Veeam Logoby DGrinev » Mon Oct 02, 2017 4:26 pm

Hi Philippe,

You can use Powershell script mentioned in this thread above. Thanks!
DGrinev
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 532
Liked: 63 times
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2016 3:49 pm
Full Name: Dmitry Grinev

Re: Replication: Change all VMs to disk type "source"

Veeam Logoby Stabz » Tue Oct 03, 2017 7:16 am

Hi DGrinev,

Thanks for the answer, I ll take a look at this script!
Stabz
Influencer
 
Posts: 24
Liked: never
Joined: Fri Apr 07, 2017 7:40 am
Full Name: Philippe DUPUIS


Return to PowerShell



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 14 guests