Rescan vCenter environment

PowerShell script exchange

Rescan vCenter environment

Veeam Logoby yrrah2010 » Tue Jul 14, 2015 3:05 pm

Within the Veeam console > Backup Infrastructure > Manager servers > vCenter you can rescan the environment (Util.VolumesHostDiscover) and there's an register key to change this interval instead of every 24 hours to more or less hours.
But i want to schedule this task at 17:00 every day with powershell there's an option Rescan-VBREntity how can i use this with rescanning an vCenter environment?
I want to use this because we're reinstalling ESXi host and the UUID changes, when Veeam hasn't done an rescan the backups are failing.
yrrah2010
Influencer
 
Posts: 18
Liked: never
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2011 7:06 am

Re: Rescan vCenter environment

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Tue Jul 14, 2015 3:22 pm

Hi yrrah2010,
If I understood correctly, this should do the trick: Get-VBRServer -Type VC | Rescan-VBREntity
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 6249
Liked: 440 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: SPb
Full Name: Dmitry Popov

Re: Rescan vCenter environment

Veeam Logoby yrrah2010 » Tue Jul 14, 2015 3:30 pm

It wont work when testing but the command is not available is it an v8 feature?
yrrah2010
Influencer
 
Posts: 18
Liked: never
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2011 7:06 am

Re: Rescan vCenter environment

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Tue Jul 14, 2015 3:40 pm

I've looked across the previous PS guide and unfortunately can’t find any mentioning of the Rescan-VBREntity cmdlet. It might be added only in v8 (which was used to test the said script from my end).
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 6249
Liked: 440 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: SPb
Full Name: Dmitry Popov

Re: Rescan vCenter environment

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Tue Jul 14, 2015 4:54 pm

The said commandlet has been added in version 8. Try the following script and see whether it meets your expectations:

Code: Select all
$Server = Get-VBRServer -Name "Name of your VC"
Rescan-VBREntity -Entity $Server

Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13266
Liked: 968 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: Rescan vCenter environment

Veeam Logoby scottcarr » Thu Sep 17, 2015 4:55 pm

Where in the registry is the change made to rescan more frequently? I have a customer that is using VMware DRS quite extensively, and has backup jobs failing due to "Object cannot be created" errors.
scottcarr
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 15
Liked: never
Joined: Tue Jun 30, 2015 5:25 pm
Full Name: Scott Carr


Return to PowerShell



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 3 guests