PowerShell script exchange
Post Reply
meisve
Novice
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Jan 14, 2020 1:16 pm
Full Name: Andreas Meister
Contact:

Set-VBRBackupRepository by repositories into SOBR?

Post by meisve »

Hello all,

I want to change the "Limit maximum concurrent tasks" in 3 steps on serveral repositories (50). From current 20 tasks, step by step, to 50 tasks ... but I don't want it change by the gui - 50 repositories.

I found the cmdlet "Set-VBRBackupRepository" with option -MaxConcurrentJobs <int> ... but it's only run for repository without SBOR?!?

Code: Select all

PS D:\> Get-VBRBackupRepository

Name                      Type         Host            FriendlyPath    Description
----                      ----         ----            ------------    -----------
Default Backup Repository WinLocal     xxx.mgm... D:\Backup       Created by Veeam Backup
How can I change the setting of the repositories, when the repositories are in SBOR?

Thanks for help

BR
Andreas

Dima P.
Product Manager
Posts: 12513
Liked: 1167 times
Joined: Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Full Name: Dmitry Popov
Location: Prague
Contact:

Re: Set-VBRBackupRepository by repositories into SBOR?

Post by Dima P. »

Andreas,

Concurrent task value is set per extent of every Scale-Out repository, to change it you need to modify the values for every repository added as extents. Looks like the VBRBackupRepository family of cmdlets is the correct way of doing that but I'll leave this topic open for our PowerShell gurus to comment.

oleg.feoktistov
Veeam Software
Posts: 904
Liked: 319 times
Joined: Sep 25, 2019 10:32 am
Full Name: Oleg Feoktistov
Contact:

Re: Set-VBRBackupRepository by repositories into SOBR?

Post by oleg.feoktistov »

Dmitry is right. Since in powershell SOBR extents don't appear in the output of Get-VBRBackupRepository cmdlet, you need to obtain repository object for each extent to make it work. Example:

Code: Select all

$sobr = Get-VBRBackupRepository -ScaleOut
$extent = Get-VBRRepositoryExtent -Repository $sobr
Set-VBRBackupRepository -Repository $extent[0].Repository -LimitConcurrentJobs -MaxConcurrentJobs 50 
Thanks,
Oleg

meisve
Novice
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Jan 14, 2020 1:16 pm
Full Name: Andreas Meister
Contact:

Re: Set-VBRBackupRepository by repositories into SOBR?

Post by meisve »

thanks Oleg for the example

and I tried it in small test environment:
there is one SBOR with two extents, default 4 max concurrent tasks is acitved

Code: Select all

$sobr = Get-VBRBackupRepository -ScaleOut
$extent = Get-VBRRepositoryExtent -Repository $sobr
Set-VBRBackupRepository -Repository $extent[0].Repository -LimitConcurrentJobs -MaxConcurrentJobs 8
the tasks will changed by only one extent

Code: Select all

$sobr = Get-VBRBackupRepository -ScaleOut
Get-VBRRepositoryExtent -Repository $sobr

Code: Select all

StoreFull      : True
StoreIncrement : True
ParentId       : 5cc63b68-a870-4a3c-b12e-c8d91e87e371
Repository     : Veeam.Backup.Core.CBackupRepository
Status         : Normal
Name           : xxx02_2
Id             : 7ea5ac60-6d08-459a-a341-1a92a113c1f9

StoreFull      : True
StoreIncrement : True
ParentId       : 5cc63b68-a870-4a3c-b12e-c8d91e87e371
Repository     : Veeam.Backup.Core.CBackupRepository
Status         : Normal
Name           : xxx01_2
Id             : 2366795b-4a84-441d-8476-202b153c56bb
extent with name xxx02_2 changed to 8 concurrent tasks

thanks and reagards,
Andreas

oleg.feoktistov
Veeam Software
Posts: 904
Liked: 319 times
Joined: Sep 25, 2019 10:32 am
Full Name: Oleg Feoktistov
Contact:

Re: Set-VBRBackupRepository by repositories into SOBR?

Post by oleg.feoktistov »

Yep, that's only an example. To set the same amount of concurrent tasks across all extents you need to iterate over them in a foreach loop:

Code: Select all

$sobr = Get-VBRBackupRepository -ScaleOut
$extents = Get-VBRRepositoryExtent -Repository $sobr
foreach ($extent in $extents) {
    Set-VBRBackupRepository -Repository $extent.Repository -LimitConcurrentJobs -MaxConcurrentJobs 8
}
Also, please, use </> label instead of quotes to wrap your code. It looks cleaner and can be easily copied for a test.

Thanks,
Oleg

meisve
Novice
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Jan 14, 2020 1:16 pm
Full Name: Andreas Meister
Contact:

Re: Set-VBRBackupRepository by repositories into SOBR?

Post by meisve »

thanks Oleg ... it's works

I am still a newcomer to the forum and I will stick to it ;-)

Thanks again
Andreas

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests