Tape Library inventory

PowerShell script exchange

Tape Library inventory

Veeam Logoby krogerss » Tue Apr 07, 2015 7:10 pm

I've noticed that whenever starting an inventory from powershell, that a "Tape library cataloging" job appears to run instead. I can run the inventory manually and it works fine. I'm just running the simple script I have found on here -

asnp VeeamPSSnapin
$Library = Get-VBRTapeLibrary -name "Spectra Python 2000"
$Library | Start-VBRTapeInventory

Is this expected behavior? Thanks.
krogerss
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 63
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Mon Aug 18, 2014 6:06 pm

Re: Tape Library inventory

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Wed Apr 08, 2015 10:51 am

We've tracked that as a bug already which should be fixed after Update 2. Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13266
Liked: 968 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: Tape Library inventory

Veeam Logoby krogerss » Wed Apr 08, 2015 4:25 pm 1 person likes this post

Ok, good to know. Thanks.
krogerss
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 63
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Mon Aug 18, 2014 6:06 pm

Re: Tape Library inventory

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Wed Apr 08, 2015 4:31 pm

You're welcome. Should other question arise or you come across an issue, feel free to reach us. Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13266
Liked: 968 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

[MERGED] Start-VBRTapeInventory does cataloging?

Veeam Logoby Erhardt » Fri May 15, 2015 1:33 pm

Hello,
i want to inventory the tapes with PSScript.

Code: Select all
$library = Get-VBRTapeLibrary
Start-VBRTapeInventory -Library $library -Wait


or

Code: Select all
Get-VBRTapedrive | Start-VBRTapeInventory


When i run the PSScript, Veeam performs a "Tape library cataloging" instead of "Tape library inventory".

Is that right?... I thought there is an extra command called "Start-VBRTapeCatalog" for that.


Version: Veeam 8.0.0.2021
Erhardt
Influencer
 
Posts: 18
Liked: never
Joined: Fri Aug 23, 2013 2:25 pm
Full Name: Erhardt

Re: Tape Library inventory

Veeam Logoby foggy » Fri May 15, 2015 3:48 pm

The fix mentioned above was not included with Veeam B&R v8 Update 2, will be addressed in one of the next updates. Thanks.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14728
Liked: 1077 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: Tape Library inventory

Veeam Logoby Erhardt » Fri May 15, 2015 9:48 pm

Thanks for reply foggy.
I haven't found this Post with search ^^.
Erhardt
Influencer
 
Posts: 18
Liked: never
Joined: Fri Aug 23, 2013 2:25 pm
Full Name: Erhardt

Re: Tape Library inventory

Veeam Logoby Erhardt » Mon Jun 08, 2015 8:29 am

Is the Problem finally fixed with this Update?...

KB ID: 2024
Products: Veeam Backup & Replication
Version: 8.0.0.2029
Published: 2015-04-28
Created: 2015-06-06
Last Modified: 2015-06-06
Erhardt
Influencer
 
Posts: 18
Liked: never
Joined: Fri Aug 23, 2013 2:25 pm
Full Name: Erhardt

Re: Tape Library inventory

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Mon Jun 08, 2015 10:37 am

Nope, it was not meant to be included in Update 2, nor in Update 2a. Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13266
Liked: 968 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: Tape Library inventory

Veeam Logoby Erhardt » Tue Oct 13, 2015 5:46 pm

Hello Guys, me again :lol:

Is this problem fixed with this Update?

Code: Select all
KB ID: 2068
Products: Veeam Backup & Replication
Version: 8.0.0.2084
Published: 2015-10-08
Created: 2015-10-09
Last Modified: 2015-10-09



Thanks
Erhardt
Influencer
 
Posts: 18
Liked: never
Joined: Fri Aug 23, 2013 2:25 pm
Full Name: Erhardt

Re: Tape Library inventory

Veeam Logoby Erhardt » Wed Oct 14, 2015 8:27 am

Tested by myself.

NOT fixed with Version: 8.0.0.2084 :?

Greets
Erhardt
Influencer
 
Posts: 18
Liked: never
Joined: Fri Aug 23, 2013 2:25 pm
Full Name: Erhardt

Re: Tape Library inventory

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Wed Oct 14, 2015 9:52 am 1 person likes this post

Just double checked it. The issue is addressed in version 9. Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13266
Liked: 968 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: Tape Library inventory

Veeam Logoby Erhardt » Fri Jan 29, 2016 2:19 pm

v.Eremin wrote:Just double checked it. The issue is addressed in version 9. Thanks.


Hey v.Eremin, can you tell me if the problem is fixed with 9.x?

TY
Erhardt
Influencer
 
Posts: 18
Liked: never
Joined: Fri Aug 23, 2013 2:25 pm
Full Name: Erhardt

Re: Tape Library inventory

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Fri Jan 29, 2016 2:55 pm 1 person likes this post

Sure, just checked - the problem is fixed in version 9. Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13266
Liked: 968 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: Tape Library inventory

Veeam Logoby Erhardt » Fri Jan 29, 2016 3:17 pm

Thank you :-]
Erhardt
Influencer
 
Posts: 18
Liked: never
Joined: Fri Aug 23, 2013 2:25 pm
Full Name: Erhardt

Next

Return to PowerShell



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests