Veeam Snap-in Problem

PowerShell script exchange

Veeam Snap-in Problem

Veeam Logoby BGilbert » Wed Oct 31, 2012 7:40 pm

All,

I upgraded from version 6.1 to version 6.5 on Monday this week. Since doing so I have found that the PowerShell ISE interface is throwing an error when trying to load the Veeam PSS Snap-in. The Snap-in loads correctly in a normal PowerShell window but won't load in the ISE interface. The error I get in the ISE interface looks like this:
Code: Select all
Add-PSSnapin : Cannot load Windows PowerShell snap-in VeeamPSSnapIn because of the following error: Could not load file or assembly 'file:///C:\Program Files\Veeam\Backup and Replication\Veeam.Backup.PowerShell.dll
' or one of its dependencies. This assembly is built by a runtime newer than the currently loaded runtime and cannot be loaded.
At C:\Util\SpaceCheck.ps1:2 char:13
+ Add-PSSnapin <<<<  -Name VeeamPSSnapIn #-ErrorAction SilentlyContinue
    + CategoryInfo          : InvalidArgument: (VeeamPSSnapIn:String) [Add-PSSnapin], PSSnapInException
    + FullyQualifiedErrorId : AddPSSnapInRead,Microsoft.PowerShell.Commands.AddPSSnapinCommand

I commented out the "-ErrorAction" section for troubleshooting.

I have a case open with tech support (reference number ref:_00D30RWR._50060MWNq4). I have uninstalled/reinstalled the B&R software but that didn't fix the problem. Anyone have a suggestion?

Thanks, Brian
BGilbert
Influencer
 
Posts: 11
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Wed Jun 20, 2012 10:01 pm
Full Name: Brian Gilbert

Re: Veeam Snap-in Problem

Veeam Logoby Tobias_Elfstrom » Thu Nov 01, 2012 8:04 am

Just relised that I have the same problem.

However I could get around it by running the "Install-VeeamToolkit.ps1" file found in the installation folder, default location "C:\Program Files\Veeam\Backup and Replication"

BR Tobias
Tobias_Elfstrom
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 84
Liked: 8 times
Joined: Wed Jul 04, 2012 6:32 am
Full Name: Tobias Elfstrom

Re: Veeam Snap-in Problem

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Thu Nov 01, 2012 10:12 am

BGilbert wrote:I have a case open with tech support (reference number ref:_00D30RWR._50060MWNq4).

Just for the future reference - the correct case number is 00151676, our team is still looking into this.
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19566
Liked: 1104 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Veeam Snap-in Problem

Veeam Logoby BGilbert » Thu Nov 01, 2012 4:34 pm 3 people like this post

I found out why this is happening(Thank you Seth!). I am running the ISE on a Windows 2008 R2 SP1 server that hosts B&R. The problem lies with the ISE and PowerShell Host Console. These products use PowerShell 2.0 which supports up to .Net 3.5. The newest Veeam snap-in is using .Net 4.0. There are several ways to fix the problem other than Tobias' solution of running the Install-VeeamToolKit.ps1. One is to modify the registry (http://stackoverflow.com/questions/2094 ... -4-runtime) to force the ISE to support .Net 4.0 but that has unintended negative side effects of not being able to run .Net 3.5 and earlier apps. Another solution is to use a different editor than the ISE like PowerGUI (http://powergui.org/index.jspa). Lastly, and this is the option I went with, upgrade to PowerShell 3.0 by installing Windows Management Framework 3.0 (http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download ... x?id=34595) which supports .Net 4.0 natively. I hope this helps!

Brian
BGilbert
Influencer
 
Posts: 11
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Wed Jun 20, 2012 10:01 pm
Full Name: Brian Gilbert

Re: Veeam Snap-in Problem

Veeam Logoby marcseitz » Wed Nov 07, 2012 7:56 am 2 people like this post

Hi Guys,

I've had the same problem and I can confirm that this solution - Installing Powershell 3.0 - will solve this problem.

I only got this problem when I've invoked a Powershell-Command remotely.
Locally on the Veeam-Server everything was working fine.

Thanks to Brian!

Regards,
Marc
marcseitz
Influencer
 
Posts: 17
Liked: 5 times
Joined: Wed Apr 04, 2012 11:17 am
Full Name: Marc Seitz

Re: Veeam Snap-in Problem

Veeam Logoby souperstar » Thu Nov 29, 2012 4:10 pm

BGilbert wrote:I found out why this is happening(Thank you Seth!). I am running the ISE on a Windows 2008 R2 SP1 server that hosts B&R. The problem lies with the ISE and PowerShell Host Console. These products use PowerShell 2.0 which supports up to .Net 3.5. The newest Veeam snap-in is using .Net 4.0. There are several ways to fix the problem other than Tobias' solution of running the Install-VeeamToolKit.ps1. One is to modify the registry (http://stackoverflow.com/questions/2094 ... -4-runtime) to force the ISE to support .Net 4.0 but that has unintended negative side effects of not being able to run .Net 3.5 and earlier apps. Another solution is to use a different editor than the ISE like PowerGUI (http://powergui.org/index.jspa). Lastly, and this is the option I went with, upgrade to PowerShell 3.0 by installing Windows Management Framework 3.0 (http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download ... x?id=34595) which supports .Net 4.0 natively. I hope this helps!

Brian


Thank you Brian! I had to install PowerShell 3.0 AND run Install-VeeamToolKit.ps1 in order to get Veeam's snap-in to load. Server 2008 R2 by the way.
souperstar
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 36
Liked: 4 times
Joined: Fri Dec 30, 2011 10:26 pm
Full Name: Chris

Re: Veeam Snap-in Problem

Veeam Logoby jfrmilner » Fri Jan 25, 2013 3:50 pm

Same as souperstar, installed PowerShell 3 and needed to run .\Install-VeeamToolkit.ps1 before functionality returned. (Also 2008 R2)
Regards,

jfrmilner
http://en.gravatar.com/jfrmilner
jfrmilner
Service Provider
 
Posts: 9
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Wed May 23, 2012 9:55 am
Full Name: John Milner

Re: Veeam Snap-in Problem

Veeam Logoby tdewin » Mon Jun 16, 2014 8:58 am

Hi,

We have a customer running into this problem. However they have already installed version 4.0 (powershell) and apparently v3 and v4 can not co-exist. Any solution or should we log a case?

Thanks
tdewin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 1046
Liked: 361 times
Joined: Fri Mar 02, 2012 1:40 pm
Full Name: Timothy Dewin

Re: Veeam Snap-in Problem

Veeam Logoby rhelie » Sun Jul 26, 2015 8:09 pm

I am facing the same issue and was wondering if the Powershell was compatible with 2012R2. If so is there documentation on how to make it work or should I simply open a case?

thanks
rhelie
Lurker
 
Posts: 2
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Sun Jul 26, 2015 8:02 pm
Full Name: Robert Helie

Re: Veeam Snap-in Problem

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Mon Jul 27, 2015 9:15 am

Hi Robert,

Yes, it is compatible. Can you please clarify what error you exactly have? Did you try Brian's suggestion?

Thanks!
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19566
Liked: 1104 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Veeam Snap-in Problem

Veeam Logoby rhelie » Thu Jul 30, 2015 3:43 pm 1 person likes this post

It now works fine. It seems that I had to install the SDK at the time of initial installation and apply the patch and all works fine.

Thanks
rhelie
Lurker
 
Posts: 2
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Sun Jul 26, 2015 8:02 pm
Full Name: Robert Helie


Return to PowerShell



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: m.lazzarotto and 8 guests