-
- Novice
- Posts: 4
- Liked: never
- Joined: Jan 18, 2021 11:35 am
- Contact:
VM Report UsedSize,ProvisionedSize
Hi,
Is it possible to generate csv report like this:
VMname,UsedSize,ProvisionedSize
from PowerShell (Veeam Backup and Replication Community Edition v11)?
Any hints?
Is it possible to generate csv report like this:
VMname,UsedSize,ProvisionedSize
from PowerShell (Veeam Backup and Replication Community Edition v11)?
Any hints?
-
- Veeam Software
- Posts: 2010
- Liked: 670 times
- Joined: Sep 25, 2019 10:32 am
- Full Name: Oleg Feoktistov
- Contact:
Re: VM Report UsedSize,ProvisionedSize
Hi,
Can you try these queries?
For Hyper-V:
For VMware vSphere:
Thanks,
Oleg
Can you try these queries?
For Hyper-V:
Code: Select all
$server = Get-VBRServer -Name 'Server Name'
$vms = Find-VBRHvEntity -Server $server -HostsAndVMs
$vms | select Name, UsedSize, ProvisionedSize
Code: Select all
$server = Get-VBRServer -Name 'Server Name'
$vms = Find-VBRViEntity -Server $server -VMsAndTemplates
$vms | select Name, UsedSize, ProvisionedSize
Oleg
-
- Novice
- Posts: 4
- Liked: never
- Joined: Jan 18, 2021 11:35 am
- Contact:
Re: VM Report UsedSize,ProvisionedSize
Thx for Your reply but I'm getting an empty response:
-
- Novice
- Posts: 4
- Liked: never
- Joined: Jan 18, 2021 11:35 am
- Contact:
Re: VM Report UsedSize,ProvisionedSize
I was using wrong server name. After providing proper server name I'm still not getting the results:
-
- Veteran
- Posts: 643
- Liked: 312 times
- Joined: Aug 04, 2019 2:57 pm
- Full Name: Harvey
- Contact:
Re: VM Report UsedSize,ProvisionedSize
Just a practical question, is there a reason you don't want to generate such a report on the HyperV servers themselves? Microsoft has Get-VM and seems like it's better to go that route, no?
I'm sure you have a reason, and I'm just very curious!
I'm sure you have a reason, and I'm just very curious!
-
- Novice
- Posts: 4
- Liked: never
- Joined: Jan 18, 2021 11:35 am
- Contact:
Re: VM Report UsedSize,ProvisionedSize
UsedSize - I can't get it directly from HyperV
-
- Veteran
- Posts: 643
- Liked: 312 times
- Joined: Aug 04, 2019 2:57 pm
- Full Name: Harvey
- Contact:
-
- Veteran
- Posts: 643
- Liked: 312 times
- Joined: Aug 04, 2019 2:57 pm
- Full Name: Harvey
- Contact:
Re: VM Report UsedSize,ProvisionedSize
Also I checked it in my lab quick and get the same within Veeam; seems that for HyperV there isn't the same periodic caching of the data like with VMware. If you go to Inventory you'll see that it sits there "Calculating" for awhile, so I guess there's no persistent data for this stored and it's looked up on the fly?
Is it possible the values just aren't returned to Powershell like it's returned to the UI? I tried refreshing the view in the UI and then recollecting the data, but couldn't get it to work on fully patched v11a
Is it possible the values just aren't returned to Powershell like it's returned to the UI? I tried refreshing the view in the UI and then recollecting the data, but couldn't get it to work on fully patched v11a
-
- Veeam Software
- Posts: 2010
- Liked: 670 times
- Joined: Sep 25, 2019 10:32 am
- Full Name: Oleg Feoktistov
- Contact:
Re: VM Report UsedSize,ProvisionedSize
Hi guys,
Talked to QA, Harvey is correct. We don't launch caching for Hyper-V items through powershell.
For the UI we do calculate these values, but we do it manually through opening and summing up vm disk values.
In Powershell the same approach affected performance a lot, so we decided to not reflect this info.
Works for Vi items via Powershell though.
Thanks,
Oleg
Talked to QA, Harvey is correct. We don't launch caching for Hyper-V items through powershell.
For the UI we do calculate these values, but we do it manually through opening and summing up vm disk values.
In Powershell the same approach affected performance a lot, so we decided to not reflect this info.
Works for Vi items via Powershell though.
Thanks,
Oleg
-
- Veteran
- Posts: 643
- Liked: 312 times
- Joined: Aug 04, 2019 2:57 pm
- Full Name: Harvey
- Contact:
Re: VM Report UsedSize,ProvisionedSize
Ah, interesting.
Is it just that the HyperV API calls (WMI?) are non-performant? (Or VMware's are that much better?) Just seems weird that it'd be that different.
Is it just that the HyperV API calls (WMI?) are non-performant? (Or VMware's are that much better?) Just seems weird that it'd be that different.
-
- Veeam Software
- Posts: 2010
- Liked: 670 times
- Joined: Sep 25, 2019 10:32 am
- Full Name: Oleg Feoktistov
- Contact:
Re: VM Report UsedSize,ProvisionedSize
In fact, they are. It is not much of a difference if you have very few Hyper-V VMs, but it turned out to be an issue with hundreds and even dozens of them.
Who is online
Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests