Adding VM to job selects app-aware processing on job

RESTful knowledge exchange

Adding VM to job selects app-aware processing on job

Veeam Logoby J.Haatainen » Tue Jun 07, 2016 7:39 am

Hi!

I'm adding VM's to Veeam Backup job, but I have a problem and I'm not able to find solution from API-reference.

So, when I add new VM to backup job, it always selects 'Enable application-aware processing', and I don't know how to prevent this? I don't want to change that setting, just add VM to backup job.

Example of XML that is used to add VM to job is:

Code: Select all
<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8"?>
<CreateObjectInJobSpec xmlns="http://www.veeam.com/ent/v1.0" xmlns:xsd="http://www.w3.org/2001/XMLSchema" xmlns:xsi="http://www.w3.org/2001/XMLSchema-instance">
<HierarchyObjRef>urn:VMware:VM:bf5f2612-8d93-476c-a5f9-7da1922eb5a1.vm-48</HierarchyObjRef>
<HierarchyObjName>VMNAME</HierarchyObjName>
<Order>0</Order>
<GuestProcessingOptions>
<AppAwareProcessingMode>Disabled</AppAwareProcessingMode>
<FileSystemIndexingMode>ExceptSpecifiedFolders</FileSystemIndexingMode>
<IncludedIndexingFolders/>
<ExcludedIndexingFolders>
<Path>%windir%</Path>
<Path>%ProgramFiles%</Path>
<Path>%TEMP%</Path>
</ExcludedIndexingFolders>
<CredentialsId/>
</GuestProcessingOptions>
</CreateObjectInJobSpec>


What am I missing? :)
J.Haatainen
Novice
 
Posts: 9
Liked: 5 times
Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2014 6:36 pm

Re: Adding VM to job selects app-aware processing on job

Veeam Logoby poulpreben » Tue Jun 07, 2016 7:41 am

Just a crazy idea, and I am not sure if it will work, but did you try to omit the entire <GuestProcessingOptions> section?
poulpreben
Expert
 
Posts: 935
Liked: 398 times
Joined: Mon Jul 23, 2012 8:16 am
Full Name: Preben Berg

Re: Adding VM to job selects app-aware processing on job

Veeam Logoby J.Haatainen » Tue Jun 07, 2016 7:50 am

Actually I did try it, and no, it does not do the trick.

It does not even add VM to job if I remove that section, and if I understand this: https://helpcenter.veeam.com/backup/res ... ludes.html it is mandatory to have it.

I alo tried like this (so that section is empty) but it does not help, now it adds VM, but also enables application-aware processing.

Code: Select all
<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8"?>
<CreateObjectInJobSpec xmlns="http://www.veeam.com/ent/v1.0" xmlns:xsd="http://www.w3.org/2001/XMLSchema" xmlns:xsi="http://www.w3.org/2001/XMLSchema-instance">
<HierarchyObjRef>urn:VMware:VM:bf5f2612-8d93-476c-a5f9-7da1922eb5a1.vm-48</HierarchyObjRef>
<HierarchyObjName>VMNAME</HierarchyObjName>
<Order>0</Order>
<GuestProcessingOptions>
</GuestProcessingOptions>
</CreateObjectInJobSpec>
J.Haatainen
Novice
 
Posts: 9
Liked: 5 times
Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2014 6:36 pm

Re: Adding VM to job selects app-aware processing on job

Veeam Logoby tdewin » Tue Jun 07, 2016 8:54 am

You should be able to omit the guestprocessingsection completely:
restful-api-f30/add-vm-to-backup-job-t29620.html#p193051

Checking the XSD, it is not required:
<xs:element name="GuestProcessingOptions" type="GuestProcessingOptionsType" minOccurs="0" maxOccurs="1"/>

Means that the doc is wrong, I'll send a request for update
tdewin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 1043
Liked: 360 times
Joined: Fri Mar 02, 2012 1:40 pm
Full Name: Timothy Dewin

Re: Adding VM to job selects app-aware processing on job

Veeam Logoby poulpreben » Tue Jun 07, 2016 9:27 am

Furthermore, the above seems like invalid XML. It should be <GuestProcessingOptions /> instead of the tag with no content.
poulpreben
Expert
 
Posts: 935
Liked: 398 times
Joined: Mon Jul 23, 2012 8:16 am
Full Name: Preben Berg

Re: Adding VM to job selects app-aware processing on job

Veeam Logoby J.Haatainen » Tue Jun 07, 2016 12:56 pm

Thanks for replies.

If I omit 'GuestProcessingOptions', it does not work for me, it does nothing. Which is strange, code:
Code: Select all
<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8"?>
<CreateObjectInJobSpec xmlns="http://www.veeam.com/ent/v1.0" xmlns:xsd="http://www.w3.org/2001/XMLSchema" xmlns:xsi="http://www.w3.org/2001/XMLSchema-instance">
<HierarchyObjRef>urn:VMware:VM:bf5f2612-8d93-476c-a5f9-7da1922eb5a1.vm-48</HierarchyObjRef>
<HierarchyObjName>VMNAME</HierarchyObjName>
<Order>0</Order>
</CreateObjectInJobSpec>



And, if I change it in my XML to '<GuestProcessingOptions />', it does add VM to job, but it enables application-aware processing.

What I actually don't understand is, that why is it touching that option anyways?

And I was not able to find any way to change that setting with REST-api, so I could do some post-processing and deselect it again as a workaround :)
J.Haatainen
Novice
 
Posts: 9
Liked: 5 times
Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2014 6:36 pm

Re: Adding VM to job selects app-aware processing on job

Veeam Logoby tdewin » Tue Jun 07, 2016 2:36 pm

Again I verified with code, this really works, posting it
2016/06/07 17:29:40 Contacting (POST) https://localhost:9398/api/jobs/a5fe48a ... 1/includes
2016/06/07 17:29:40 Posting

Code: Select all
<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
 <CreateObjectInJobSpec xmlns="http://www.veeam.com/ent/v1.0">
  <HierarchyObjRef>urn:VMware:Vm:b60137f5-3f80-46d5-995a-edd2bdee1096.45</HierarchyObjRef>
  <HierarchyObjName>win</HierarchyObjName>
  <Order>3</Order>
 </CreateObjectInJobSpec>


Maybe just a quick question, what version are you running? This is tested against v9.
tdewin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 1043
Liked: 360 times
Joined: Fri Mar 02, 2012 1:40 pm
Full Name: Timothy Dewin

Re: Adding VM to job selects app-aware processing on job

Veeam Logoby J.Haatainen » Wed Jun 08, 2016 7:27 am

Version is 9.0.0.1491, so it should be latest.

But, if it works on you, does it modify app-aware processing option on that job ?
J.Haatainen
Novice
 
Posts: 9
Liked: 5 times
Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2014 6:36 pm

Re: Adding VM to job selects app-aware processing on job

Veeam Logoby tdewin » Wed Jun 08, 2016 7:45 am

You are right, it does enable application aware image processing, even if not specified. I suggest you open a call with support and refer to this thread. If you could kindly leave a support case in this thread for other users to refer to.
tdewin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 1043
Liked: 360 times
Joined: Fri Mar 02, 2012 1:40 pm
Full Name: Timothy Dewin

Re: Adding VM to job selects app-aware processing on job

Veeam Logoby J.Haatainen » Wed Jun 08, 2016 9:31 am 1 person likes this post

I now have ticket open, ID# 01821262
J.Haatainen
Novice
 
Posts: 9
Liked: 5 times
Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2014 6:36 pm

Re: Adding VM to job selects app-aware processing on job

Veeam Logoby J.Haatainen » Wed Jun 08, 2016 10:28 am 3 people like this post

Quite fast support you have :)

I got download link from support with hotfix, and now it works the way it should.

This should be fixed in next release.

So if someone else is having same problem, ask hotfix from support.
J.Haatainen
Novice
 
Posts: 9
Liked: 5 times
Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2014 6:36 pm

Re: Adding VM to job selects app-aware processing on job

Veeam Logoby ameyerhoff » Wed Jun 15, 2016 3:26 pm

If you get the hot patch, does it modify application aware processing if you don't specify any GuestProcessingOptions ?
ameyerhoff
Service Provider
 
Posts: 7
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Wed Apr 06, 2016 2:03 pm

Re: Adding VM to job selects app-aware processing on job

Veeam Logoby tdewin » Thu Jun 16, 2016 6:11 pm

The hotfix should fix that application aware image processing is enabled even if you didn't supply guestprocessingoptions or you explicitly disabled it via "<AppAwareProcessingMode>Disabled</AppAwareProcessingMode>" as far as I can tell from the ticket. You can always refer to the ticket supplied in this thread if you are struggling with the same issue.
tdewin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 1043
Liked: 360 times
Joined: Fri Mar 02, 2012 1:40 pm
Full Name: Timothy Dewin


Return to RESTful API



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests