RESTful knowledge exchange
costas
Novice
Liked: 2 times
Full Name: Costas Loupas

Some API questions

Post by costas » 1 person likes this post

Hi all
I am new to Veeam and struggling a bit with some of the concepts and how actually Veeam is used out in the field.
As far as I can tell, Veeam has 2 REST API's: Enterprise Manager and Backup Server
I plan to do some integration work with Veeam, both API's seem to offer what i want to do, how do i choose?
I am under the impression that EM is extra and only useful for customers with more than one backup server. Is this correct? Would it be safer to develop against the Backup REST API as this will be present in every Veeam deployment?
I am trying things out with the EM API but i can not find a way to get to the 'Job Log' (EM->Jobs->Click on job status->Click Details->Popup with activities log). The popup uses what it looks like a EM REST API end point (although the port number is not the same as the EM API and the reference guide does not show it as an endpoint):
https://server:9443/api/Reports/BackupJ ... 0&limit=25
Any ideas on how to get to it? Does the Backup Server API offer this option?

Many Thanks
Costas
oleg.feoktistov
Veeam Software
Liked: 636 times
Full Name: Oleg Feoktistov

Re: Some API questions

Post by oleg.feoktistov » 1 person likes this post

Hi Costas,