Agent-based backups for Windows and Linux, centralized agent management
Post Reply
nabor
Novice
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: May 05, 2021 4:12 am
Contact:

Backup Server Behind NAT

Post by nabor »

I installed the B&R on hypervisor which hides the public IP from the NIC. If I perform a backup against on a Linux box with a public IP, the Linux box won't be able to route back to the server since the server is advertising the client with a private IP.

All the server and clients resides in the same physical location for different customers.

Is there a way to tell the clients to communicate to the server with its public IP?

HannesK
Veeam Software
Posts: 11015
Liked: 2094 times
Joined: Sep 01, 2014 11:46 am
Full Name: Hannes Kasparick
Location: Austria
Contact:

Re: Backup Server Behind NAT

Post by HannesK »

Hello,
and welcome to the forums.

Please use a VPN or normal routing between the customers. NAT is not supported in general.

Off-Topic:
I installed the B&R on hypervisor
VBR should run in a VM or physical. Applications directly on the management partition of the hypervisor (I assume you use Hyper-V) are not supported by Microsoft.

Best regards,
Hannes

nabor
Novice
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: May 05, 2021 4:12 am
Contact:

Re: Backup Server Behind NAT

Post by nabor »

Hi Hannes,

Thanks for replying. Actually, it's installed in a Windows VM over a openstack hypervisor.

What did you meaning the normal routing? The server must have a routable address for the clients, right?

Cheers

HannesK
Veeam Software
Posts: 11015
Liked: 2094 times
Joined: Sep 01, 2014 11:46 am
Full Name: Hannes Kasparick
Location: Austria
Contact:

Re: Backup Server Behind NAT

Post by HannesK »

ah okay, so you are running VBR in a VM. That's fine then.

correct, routable networks without NAT.

nabor
Novice
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: May 05, 2021 4:12 am
Contact:

Re: Backup Server Behind NAT

Post by nabor »

Got it, thank you Hannes!

HannesK
Veeam Software
Posts: 11015
Liked: 2094 times
Joined: Sep 01, 2014 11:46 am
Full Name: Hannes Kasparick
Location: Austria
Contact:

Re: Backup Server Behind NAT

Post by HannesK »

ah well, we also have the Veeam Service Provider Console that works with Veeam Cloud Connect in the background. Cloud Connect works fine with NAT on the customer side.

https://www.veeam.com/service-provider- ... nsole.html
https://helpcenter.veeam.com/docs/vac/p ... tml?ver=50
https://helpcenter.veeam.com/docs/backup/cloud/

If you are a Veeam Service provider... we have extra forums for the service provider products veeam-backup-replication-f2/applying-to ... 55488.html

DonZoomik
Service Provider
Posts: 316
Liked: 99 times
Joined: Nov 25, 2016 1:56 pm
Contact:

Re: Backup Server Behind NAT

Post by DonZoomik »

HannesK wrote: May 05, 2021 6:15 amApplications directly on the management partition of the hypervisor (I assume you use Hyper-V) are not supported by Microsoft.
Offtopic but do you have some reference for this? I have some customers that run many other cluster roles on Hyper-V cluster nodes but it's hard to convince them without a vendor statement.

HannesK
Veeam Software
Posts: 11015
Liked: 2094 times
Joined: Sep 01, 2014 11:46 am
Full Name: Hannes Kasparick
Location: Austria
Contact:

Re: Backup Server Behind NAT

Post by HannesK »

the architecture picture is the first link that shows up to me searching for "microsoft hyper-v parent partition application" https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/virtua ... chitecture

"User applications" run in VMs.

Maybe there are also clearer statements on that topic. But in general it's just "stating the obvious". I mean, would you run application on top of ESXi? Sure, it's possible (well, not VBR of course because it's Windows-based, but in general) - but it sounds obvious to me to put applications where they should be: inside VMs.

HannesK
Veeam Software
Posts: 11015
Liked: 2094 times
Joined: Sep 01, 2014 11:46 am
Full Name: Hannes Kasparick
Location: Austria
Contact:

Re: Backup Server Behind NAT

Post by HannesK »

ah, and we state it in the user guide

https://helpcenter.veeam.com/docs/backu ... ml?ver=110
Veeam Backup & Replication must not be installed directly on a Hyper-V host. Such installation may lead to unpredictable system behavior. Instead, create a VM on the host and install Veeam Backup & Replication on the VM.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: mcz and 8 guests