Agent-based backups for Windows and Linux, centralized agent management
Post Reply
andreas2012
Veeam ProPartner
Posts: 79
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Jun 11, 2013 11:27 am
Full Name: Andreas
Contact:

Creating Veeam Recovery Media remote

Post by andreas2012 »

Hi,

I have many servers and workstations that I need to create ISO recovery media from.
Is there a "bulk" option ? Because now I have to select one-and-one and right click and choose Agent->Create Recovery media

Best would be to have a powershell script that takes input from computers.txt and create iso files from this, and store them on a central location.

Thanks for reply.

Dima P.
Product Manager
Posts: 11851
Liked: 1050 times
Joined: Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Full Name: Dmitry Popov
Location: Prague
Contact:

Re: Creating Veeam Recovery Media remote

Post by Dima P. » 1 person likes this post

Hello Andreas,

If you have similar operating systems / hardware you can create Recovery Media per 'device type'. It's not required to create a dedicated RE for every machine. Cheers!

andreas2012
Veeam ProPartner
Posts: 79
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Jun 11, 2013 11:27 am
Full Name: Andreas
Contact:

Re: Creating Veeam Recovery Media remote

Post by andreas2012 »

Hi,

Sad to say that would be a challenge to locate those who have the same hardware, and I know we have a lot of different versions.
We have Windows 2008R2, 2012R2, 2016, 2019 and both standard, enterprise and also windows 10, with both pro and ent. Several diffrent vendors, dell, hp, fujitsu and so on....

I would believe there was a script out there somewhere that could assist with what I am trying to do...

Dima P.
Product Manager
Posts: 11851
Liked: 1050 times
Joined: Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Full Name: Dmitry Popov
Location: Prague
Contact:

Re: Creating Veeam Recovery Media remote

Post by Dima P. »

Andreas,

If these are agents managed by Veeam B&R you are safe - we are collecting RE components during first full backup, so it's not required physically create and iso for every machine. You can do that whenever it's required. As for the script - I've already asked folks responsible for PowerShell to take a look. Cheers!

andreas2012
Veeam ProPartner
Posts: 79
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Jun 11, 2013 11:27 am
Full Name: Andreas
Contact:

Re: Creating Veeam Recovery Media remote

Post by andreas2012 »

Hi,

Yes they are managed by B&R
Hmm... can I then do the following ?

1xISO file for Windows Server 2008R2 servers (Servers have different hardware)
1xISO file for Windows Server 2016 servers (Servers have different hardware)
1xISO file for Windows 10 clients (different hardware, and different OS edition, like enterprise and standard)

Nice of you to follow up on the powershell script.

Dima P.
Product Manager
Posts: 11851
Liked: 1050 times
Joined: Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Full Name: Dmitry Popov
Location: Prague
Contact:

Re: Creating Veeam Recovery Media remote

Post by Dima P. » 1 person likes this post

Yup, that should work. You can keep drivers (network and storage near the iso to load those whenever it's required). Cheers!

oleg.feoktistov
Veeam Software
Posts: 559
Liked: 197 times
Joined: Sep 25, 2019 10:32 am
Full Name: Oleg Feoktistov
Contact:

Re: Creating Veeam Recovery Media remote

Post by oleg.feoktistov » 1 person likes this post

Hi Andreas,

Here is a sample script I wrote for your case:

Code: Select all


# Get computer names from text file
$names = Get-Content -Path 'C:\Temp\computers.txt'

# Get the most current list of physical computers managed by VBR
$computers = Get-VBRDiscoveredComputer

# Determine the centralised path for ISO
$path = 'C:\Temp\'

foreach ($name in $names) {

# Find physical computers with the corresponding names
      $computer = $computers | where {$_.Name -eq $name}
      if ($computer) {
# If such computer is managed by VBR, construct custom path for ISO image and compose ISO target object
      $ISOPath = "$($path)$($computer.Name).iso"
      $ISOtarget = New-VBRRecoveryMediaISOTarget -Path $ISOPath

# Create recovery media for the computer in question
      Add-VBRDiscoveredComputerRecoveryMedia -DiscoveredComputer $computer -RecoveryMediaTarget $ISOtarget
      }
      else {
        Write-Host "Computer with name $name wasn't found"
      }
} 

All comments are inline, but if you need any further assistance, I'm ready to help.

Thanks,
Oleg

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests