-
- Veeam ProPartner
- Posts: 114
- Liked: 5 times
- Joined: Jun 11, 2013 11:27 am
- Full Name: Andreas
- Contact:
Creating Veeam Recovery Media remote
Hi,
I have many servers and workstations that I need to create ISO recovery media from.
Is there a "bulk" option ? Because now I have to select one-and-one and right click and choose Agent->Create Recovery media
Best would be to have a powershell script that takes input from computers.txt and create iso files from this, and store them on a central location.
Thanks for reply.
I have many servers and workstations that I need to create ISO recovery media from.
Is there a "bulk" option ? Because now I have to select one-and-one and right click and choose Agent->Create Recovery media
Best would be to have a powershell script that takes input from computers.txt and create iso files from this, and store them on a central location.
Thanks for reply.
-
- Product Manager
- Posts: 14725
- Liked: 1706 times
- Joined: Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
- Full Name: Dmitry Popov
- Location: Prague
- Contact:
Re: Creating Veeam Recovery Media remote
Hello Andreas,
If you have similar operating systems / hardware you can create Recovery Media per 'device type'. It's not required to create a dedicated RE for every machine. Cheers!
If you have similar operating systems / hardware you can create Recovery Media per 'device type'. It's not required to create a dedicated RE for every machine. Cheers!
-
- Veeam ProPartner
- Posts: 114
- Liked: 5 times
- Joined: Jun 11, 2013 11:27 am
- Full Name: Andreas
- Contact:
Re: Creating Veeam Recovery Media remote
Hi,
Sad to say that would be a challenge to locate those who have the same hardware, and I know we have a lot of different versions.
We have Windows 2008R2, 2012R2, 2016, 2019 and both standard, enterprise and also windows 10, with both pro and ent. Several diffrent vendors, dell, hp, fujitsu and so on....
I would believe there was a script out there somewhere that could assist with what I am trying to do...
Sad to say that would be a challenge to locate those who have the same hardware, and I know we have a lot of different versions.
We have Windows 2008R2, 2012R2, 2016, 2019 and both standard, enterprise and also windows 10, with both pro and ent. Several diffrent vendors, dell, hp, fujitsu and so on....
I would believe there was a script out there somewhere that could assist with what I am trying to do...
-
- Product Manager
- Posts: 14725
- Liked: 1706 times
- Joined: Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
- Full Name: Dmitry Popov
- Location: Prague
- Contact:
Re: Creating Veeam Recovery Media remote
Andreas,
If these are agents managed by Veeam B&R you are safe - we are collecting RE components during first full backup, so it's not required physically create and iso for every machine. You can do that whenever it's required. As for the script - I've already asked folks responsible for PowerShell to take a look. Cheers!
If these are agents managed by Veeam B&R you are safe - we are collecting RE components during first full backup, so it's not required physically create and iso for every machine. You can do that whenever it's required. As for the script - I've already asked folks responsible for PowerShell to take a look. Cheers!
-
- Veeam ProPartner
- Posts: 114
- Liked: 5 times
- Joined: Jun 11, 2013 11:27 am
- Full Name: Andreas
- Contact:
Re: Creating Veeam Recovery Media remote
Hi,
Yes they are managed by B&R
Hmm... can I then do the following ?
1xISO file for Windows Server 2008R2 servers (Servers have different hardware)
1xISO file for Windows Server 2016 servers (Servers have different hardware)
1xISO file for Windows 10 clients (different hardware, and different OS edition, like enterprise and standard)
Nice of you to follow up on the powershell script.
Yes they are managed by B&R
Hmm... can I then do the following ?
1xISO file for Windows Server 2008R2 servers (Servers have different hardware)
1xISO file for Windows Server 2016 servers (Servers have different hardware)
1xISO file for Windows 10 clients (different hardware, and different OS edition, like enterprise and standard)
Nice of you to follow up on the powershell script.
-
- Product Manager
- Posts: 14725
- Liked: 1706 times
- Joined: Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
- Full Name: Dmitry Popov
- Location: Prague
- Contact:
Re: Creating Veeam Recovery Media remote
Yup, that should work. You can keep drivers (network and storage near the iso to load those whenever it's required). Cheers!
-
- Veeam Software
- Posts: 2010
- Liked: 670 times
- Joined: Sep 25, 2019 10:32 am
- Full Name: Oleg Feoktistov
- Contact:
Re: Creating Veeam Recovery Media remote
Hi Andreas,
Here is a sample script I wrote for your case:
All comments are inline, but if you need any further assistance, I'm ready to help.
Thanks,
Oleg
Here is a sample script I wrote for your case:
Code: Select all
# Get computer names from text file
$names = Get-Content -Path 'C:\Temp\computers.txt'
# Get the most current list of physical computers managed by VBR
$computers = Get-VBRDiscoveredComputer
# Determine the centralised path for ISO
$path = 'C:\Temp\'
foreach ($name in $names) {
# Find physical computers with the corresponding names
$computer = $computers | where {$_.Name -eq $name}
if ($computer) {
# If such computer is managed by VBR, construct custom path for ISO image and compose ISO target object
$ISOPath = "$($path)$($computer.Name).iso"
$ISOtarget = New-VBRRecoveryMediaISOTarget -Path $ISOPath
# Create recovery media for the computer in question
Add-VBRDiscoveredComputerRecoveryMedia -DiscoveredComputer $computer -RecoveryMediaTarget $ISOtarget
}
else {
Write-Host "Computer with name $name wasn't found"
}
}
Thanks,
Oleg
-
- Service Provider
- Posts: 453
- Liked: 30 times
- Joined: Dec 28, 2014 11:48 am
- Location: The Netherlands
- Contact:
Re: Creating Veeam Recovery Media remote
Hi Oleg,
Does this script also considers the specific drivers being used by the different systems listed in the computer.txt, or is the ISO target object the same for all systems listed in the computers.txt file ( but then copied out under a different name ) ?
Does this script also considers the specific drivers being used by the different systems listed in the computer.txt, or is the ISO target object the same for all systems listed in the computers.txt file ( but then copied out under a different name ) ?
Who is online
Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests