Using tape as a backup target
Post Reply
y-tokoro
Novice
Posts: 4
Liked: never
Joined: Apr 05, 2021 9:59 am
Contact:

About the behavior when the tape capacity is insufficient when executing tape backup

Post by y-tokoro »

Hello,

We are now using VBR10 to perform daily tape backups.
Now we delete the data on the tape every time.
What happens when the tape is full if we don't do the delete process every time?
Will the process fail? Or is the tape rewinding performed automatically?

Best Regards,
yuuki

veremin
Product Manager
Posts: 18361
Liked: 1802 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: About the behavior when the tape capacity is insufficient when executing tape backup

Post by veremin » 1 person likes this post

What do you mean by "delete the data on the tape every time"? What retention and media set settings are configured on the Media Pool? Or you manually erase tape each time backup runs? Thanks!

y-tokoro
Novice
Posts: 4
Liked: never
Joined: Apr 05, 2021 9:59 am
Contact:

Re: About the behavior when the tape capacity is insufficient when executing tape backup

Post by y-tokoro »

Thank you for your reply!

I'm running a powershell script each time backup , and erasing the tape with "Erase-VBRTapeMedium" Command.
Just one tape is registered in the media pool.

Best Regards,
yuuki

Dima P.
Product Manager
Posts: 12405
Liked: 1151 times
Joined: Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Full Name: Dmitry Popov
Location: Prague
Contact:

Re: About the behavior when the tape capacity is insufficient when executing tape backup

Post by Dima P. » 1 person likes this post

yuuki,

Whenever tape job requires extra tape (and you do not have it loaded in the library), it will sit in waiting for tape state for the next 72 hours.

y-tokoro
Novice
Posts: 4
Liked: never
Joined: Apr 05, 2021 9:59 am
Contact:

Re: About the behavior when the tape capacity is insufficient when executing tape backup

Post by y-tokoro »

Thank you for your reply!

What if I only have one tape to write to?
[Example]
Tape remaining capacity = 200GB
Total capacity of files to write = 500GB
What happens if I perform tape writing in the above state?

Thanks!

Mildur
Veeam Legend
Posts: 705
Liked: 335 times
Joined: May 13, 2017 4:51 pm
Full Name: Fabian Kessler
Contact:

Re: About the behavior when the tape capacity is insufficient when executing tape backup

Post by Mildur » 1 person likes this post

It will ask for another tape and after 72 hours, the job will be failed.

You have to make sure, that you have the correct amount of tapes for your data available at the job starting time (72 hour timeout if a new Tape is needed).
If a new Tape is needed to continue the job, you have to put in another tape in the drive.
After the job is finish, make sure that both tapes are removed and not in the drive. A hacker can delete your tape, if you left it in the drive.

If you work with media Pools and Tape retention, and your mediaset is exported after tape Job has run successfully, you don‘t have to erase it by yourself. But this way, you will need more tapes and a tape rotation concept. The costs of a single tape are not that big anymore. Consider it.

y-tokoro
Novice
Posts: 4
Liked: never
Joined: Apr 05, 2021 9:59 am
Contact:

Re: About the behavior when the tape capacity is insufficient when executing tape backup

Post by y-tokoro »

I got a good understanding of how the tape works.
Thank you, everyone!

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests