Using tape as a backup target
Post Reply
Asahi
Enthusiast
Posts: 52
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Jun 03, 2016 5:44 am
Full Name: Iio Asahi
Contact:

About the specification of tape backup

Post by Asahi »

Hi,

I am having trouble with Veeam's tape backup job.

Our customers are doing tape backup with my customers.
There are two backup copy jobs as sources of tape backups.

Both of them, the restore point is set as 3.
However, the tape backup requirement states that the backup copy job restore point is 4 required.
https://helpcenter.veeam.com/docs/backu ... tml?ver=95

However, despite being the restore point 3, one of the backup copy jobs in the customer environment, the tape backup was executed.

I confirmed this to the support case.
However, because it does not meet the minimum requirement, there was an answer that the operation is unknown.

Could anyone help me?

Kind Regards,
Asahi,
Climb Inc.

lyapkost
Veeam Software
Posts: 187
Liked: 34 times
Joined: Nov 27, 2015 2:26 pm
Full Name: Konstantin
Location: Saint Petersburg
Contact:

Re: About the specification of tape backup

Post by lyapkost »

Hi Asahi.

It's correct, source Backup Copy job should have 4 or more points because it's last backup is active and is skipped by tape jobs. No one said that tape job won't work with jobs which have less points at all. But it will work incorrectly, for example, it will copy full backup to tapes again and again after source job's merge wasting tapes. It is by design and this config is unsupported so it's urged to consider to increase the nubmer of restore points kept in repository up to at least 4.

Asahi
Enthusiast
Posts: 52
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Jun 03, 2016 5:44 am
Full Name: Iio Asahi
Contact:

Re: About the specification of tape backup

Post by Asahi »

HI lyapkost,

Thank you for reply.

I understand that you need to keep source backup copy job for more than 4 generations.

You tell us in the previous interaction.
====================================
No one said that tape job won't work with jobs which have less points at all.
But it will work incorrectly, for example, it will copy full backup to tapes again and again after source job's merge wasting tapes.
====================================

I do not understand this part much.
It will be helpful if you can explain in a bit more detail.

Kind Regards,
Asahi,
Climb Inc.

lyapkost
Veeam Software
Posts: 187
Liked: 34 times
Joined: Nov 27, 2015 2:26 pm
Full Name: Konstantin
Location: Saint Petersburg
Contact:

Re: About the specification of tape backup

Post by lyapkost »

In details. Suppose we have Backup Copy job with retention 3.

Yesterday
disk vbk1 - vib1 - vib2
tape vbk1 - vib1 (no vib2 because it's active now)

Today
disk vbk2(=vbk1 merged with vib1) - vib2 - vib3
tape vbk1 - vib1 (already there) + vbk2 (which is not needed since all it's data is already on tapes, thus this full backup is wasting tapes) + vib2

Asahi
Enthusiast
Posts: 52
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Jun 03, 2016 5:44 am
Full Name: Iio Asahi
Contact:

Re: About the specification of tape backup

Post by Asahi »

Hi lyapkost,

Thank you for reply.

Does the content you taught to me also apply to Virtual Full backup?
I'm sorry if I asked an irrelevant question.

Kind Regards,
Asahi,
Climb Inc.

lyapkost
Veeam Software
Posts: 187
Liked: 34 times
Joined: Nov 27, 2015 2:26 pm
Full Name: Konstantin
Location: Saint Petersburg
Contact:

Re: About the specification of tape backup

Post by lyapkost »

Hi. Not sure I understood your question, would you please clarify the scenario (Backup copy job settings, Tape job settings including virtuall full creation settings etc).

May I ask what the reasons that stop you from changing job's retention settings to at least 4 points are? It would avoid the described and any potential issues with unsupported setup.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests