Discussions specific to tape backups
Post Reply
johnmacd
Lurker
Posts: 1
Liked: never
Joined: Oct 11, 2018 5:54 pm
Full Name: John MacDonald
Contact:

Automatic Tape Export Full I/E slots behaviour

Post by johnmacd » Apr 10, 2019 9:42 pm

We are implementing a PS script that will Export Tapes once a day Mon-Fri using Windows Task Scheduler to call the script.

There are approximately 18 I/E slots available. In the case where all the I/E slots were filled and the script executed on it's schedule
my hunch is that Veeam would error out as no I/E slots were available to eject the tape too, is that correct?

The scenario we trying to avoid is when there is a delay (over holidays etc.. and we do not want to pause the Export of tapes) where a human may not be available to remove the tapes from the IE slots. Would Veeam 'Queue' up the ejections and then once the slots are freed start exporting the tapes back to the first one?

Also if you know of any error Code that would appear when I/E slots are full that would be helpful as we could alert on it.

Is there a Veeam PS cmdlet that can check for I/E slot usage, availability?


Any suggestions or hints are appreciated.

Thanks,

John

vemurirajesh10
Novice
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Jul 04, 2018 12:37 pm
Full Name: Vemuri Rajesh
Contact:

Re: Automatic Tape Export Full I/E slots behaviour

Post by vemurirajesh10 » Apr 11, 2019 9:41 am

How are you filtering full tapes to export? I hope there is no command in Veeam to check I/E Slots. You have to run "Import Tapes" before you run export the tapes to avoid failure.

csydas
Expert
Posts: 193
Liked: 46 times
Joined: Jan 16, 2018 5:14 pm
Full Name: Harvey Carel
Contact:

Re: Automatic Tape Export Full I/E slots behaviour

Post by csydas » Apr 12, 2019 12:02 pm

Hi John,

My experience is that you'll just get an error that no I/E slots were available, and it will try to go to a normal slot; if no such slot is available, you get another error that the operations failed due to no available slots in the library.

veremin
Product Manager
Posts: 16708
Liked: 1394 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: Automatic Tape Export Full I/E slots behaviour

Post by veremin » Apr 12, 2019 5:01 pm 1 person likes this post

I believe tapes in I/E slots are treated as offline ones, therefore, you cannot reliably identify them via PowerShell. As to queue question, backup server will just fail eject operation instead of queuing it up. Thanks!

vemurirajesh10
Novice
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Jul 04, 2018 12:37 pm
Full Name: Vemuri Rajesh
Contact:

Re: Automatic Tape Export Full I/E slots behaviour

Post by vemurirajesh10 » Apr 19, 2019 10:28 am

Is there any way to check how many slots are empty in MAP from Veeam server? I have Dell ML3 library with 34 I\E Slots. I need to check how many I\E Slots are free so that my script can export only those many tapes. If no free slots then it should send a mail notification about the status.

veremin
Product Manager
Posts: 16708
Liked: 1394 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: Automatic Tape Export Full I/E slots behaviour

Post by veremin » Apr 19, 2019 11:41 am

I'm not familiar with the given library, but there must be a native utility that allows you to check I/E availability. Combining it with Veeam PowerShll should do the trick. Thanks!

vemurirajesh10
Novice
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Jul 04, 2018 12:37 pm
Full Name: Vemuri Rajesh
Contact:

Re: Automatic Tape Export Full I/E slots behaviour

Post by vemurirajesh10 » Apr 19, 2019 1:01 pm

I have cross verified with Dell as well. They do not have CLI for this model. So I feel is to check the status of Export-VBRTapeMedium command for each tape. If it is success continue next tape to export. if it fails then stop there and send notification for those tapes that are ejected.

But need to collect the error to check if it throws something like "no I\E slot is available to export" as there might be multiple errors during tape exporting process.

Anyone is aware of error codes for "I\E Slot is not available" or how to collect this information?

veremin
Product Manager
Posts: 16708
Liked: 1394 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: Automatic Tape Export Full I/E slots behaviour

Post by veremin » Apr 22, 2019 11:51 am

I don't have a tape library at hand, so cannot check that, but it should be possible to assign result of export-vbrtapemedium cmdlet to a variable, and confirm its status afterwards. Thanks!

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests