Discussions specific to tape backups
Post Reply
rosmith42
Influencer
Posts: 12
Liked: never
Joined: Dec 19, 2014 9:33 pm
Full Name: RobS
Contact:

Backup copy jobs to tape

Post by rosmith42 » Feb 27, 2019 7:33 pm

If I have already ran a tape job to copy the backup copy (Full backups) to tape and re-run the tape job again later, will it still copy the latest to tape even though "Process latest backup full chain only" is checked? Will I still have two copies tape or is Veeam smart enough to detect this?
Last month a full backup was missed in which resulted in a new media pool being created to backup the fulls to tape.

Dima P.
Product Manager
Posts: 9911
Liked: 790 times
Joined: Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Full Name: Dmitry Popov
Location: Prague
Contact:

Re: Backup copy jobs to tape

Post by Dima P. » Feb 28, 2019 11:18 am

Hello RobS,

Checkbox works for every job specified as a source. Once checked it will always process the latest backup chain and ignore the rest.

Keep in mind that if the tape media was erased completely (so there is no backup chain on tapes) - it will write the same backup chain again but that's going to be the latest backup chain :wink:

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests