backup to tape fails v9

Everything about backing up to tape

backup to tape fails v9

Veeam Logoby lievenVERCRUYSSE » Mon Feb 08, 2016 7:46 am

After backing up to disk my replication to tape fails with the following message:

Backup server has several tape mediums with the same media ID
Failed to backup some full backup files, skipping the corresponding incremental backups

Is there an option to not check for media ID's? I cannot find how to change the id on tapes, only a name change is possible.
lievenVERCRUYSSE
Lurker
 
Posts: 2
Liked: never
Joined: Mon Nov 16, 2015 10:40 am
Full Name: Lieven

Re: backup to tape fails v9

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Mon Feb 08, 2016 8:41 am

What's your ticket number? It's recommend to include support case ID when posting about any technical issue. Once opened, please, post ticket number here, so that, we can follow the case.

Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13281
Liked: 970 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: backup to tape fails v9

Veeam Logoby KLSloan » Sun Feb 14, 2016 6:55 pm

I am having a similar problem, though I am running V8 (specifically, 8.0.0.2084). I am getting the error message "Backup server has several tape mediums with the same media ID" but the job fails without writing any data whatsoever to tape. My ticket # is 01697863.
KLSloan
Lurker
 
Posts: 2
Liked: never
Joined: Sun Feb 14, 2016 6:50 pm
Full Name: Kevin Sloan

Re: backup to tape fails v9

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Sun Feb 14, 2016 7:32 pm

Hi guys,
Backup server has several tape mediums with the same media ID

Any chance you have tape media with identical barcodes loaded?
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 6253
Liked: 440 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: SPb
Full Name: Dmitry Popov

Re: backup to tape fails v9

Veeam Logoby KLSloan » Sun Feb 14, 2016 9:56 pm

Not on my part.This is the same media I have been using but a new error message.
KLSloan
Lurker
 
Posts: 2
Liked: never
Joined: Sun Feb 14, 2016 6:50 pm
Full Name: Kevin Sloan

Re: backup to tape fails v9

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Wed Feb 17, 2016 5:53 pm

Hello Kevin,

Was support able to solve your issue? I do see in the case notes that this problem might be caused by tapes being renamed.
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 6253
Liked: 440 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: SPb
Full Name: Dmitry Popov


Return to Tape



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: MBT and 18 guests