backup to tape ??

Everything about backing up to tape

backup to tape ??

Veeam Logoby spf62 » Fri Feb 27, 2015 3:09 pm

We are struggling to find a setting that will only backup the previous nights changes.
We don't want the whole string (VBK and ALL the vibs), just what was changed.

Currently we have a backup job that calls the tape job, but it keeps putting the entire string on the tape. We have chosen "Latest" when creating the tape job

What am I missing? any help is appreciated
spf62
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 64
Liked: never
Joined: Fri Sep 17, 2010 12:33 pm
Location: Connecticut
Full Name: Steve Fritsch

Re: backup to tape ??

Veeam Logoby Shestakov » Sat Feb 28, 2015 7:03 am

Hello Steve,
Could clarify the purpose of writing only an increment to tape? In a case of disaster, you need the whole chain to restore vms. Thanks.
Shestakov
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 4863
Liked: 396 times
Joined: Wed May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Location: Saint Petersburg
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov

Re: backup to tape ??

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Mon Mar 02, 2015 11:27 am

What backup mode is specified for a source backup job? What retention and mediaset creation settings are setup on media pool level?
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13290
Liked: 973 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin


Return to Tape



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 5 guests