Backup to Tape

Everything about backing up to tape

Backup to Tape

Veeam Logoby michaelhogendoorn » Fri Feb 12, 2016 12:36 pm

Hi,
After every backup job we copy the data to tape. Every full backup is usually around 1.5 TB. Normally this goes on one tape and works fine.

For some reason sometimes its ask multiple tapes. When I look in the log files I see 3 times ‘New storage …. On This server was added to the backup list.’ Instead of ones. This does make the job bigger and won’t fit on one tape.

What I would like to accomplice is that the tape backup would only backup the last backed up data. This means it would always stays around 1.5 TB.

What are the possibilities for this. And why would is add the New storage 3 times

Thanks,
Michael
michaelhogendoorn
Service Provider
 
Posts: 20
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Thu Jan 07, 2016 8:13 am
Full Name: Michael Hogendoorn

Re: Backup to Tape

Veeam Logoby Shestakov » Fri Feb 12, 2016 12:47 pm

Hi Michael,
As I understood the problem is Veeam copying not only the last backup from disk, but the previous ones as well. Is that correct? If so, there is a related topic about that.
What product version are you at?
Thanks!
Shestakov
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 4856
Liked: 394 times
Joined: Wed May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Location: Saint Petersburg
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov

Re: Backup to Tape

Veeam Logoby michaelhogendoorn » Fri Feb 12, 2016 12:59 pm

Hi,

Thanks for the quick replay. I am using 8.0.0.917.
Well normally it does backup the last backup to tape and adds 1 vbk file. But once in a while it adds 3 vbk files and this will increase the amount of tapes.
Thanks!
michaelhogendoorn
Service Provider
 
Posts: 20
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Thu Jan 07, 2016 8:13 am
Full Name: Michael Hogendoorn

Re: Backup to Tape

Veeam Logoby Shestakov » Fri Feb 12, 2016 1:06 pm

I suppose you mean not 3 same .vbk files but previous .vbks of the same job. Am I right?
That`s a known behavior in v8 which has been changed in v9 by the requests of users(check the provided hyperlink).
Shestakov
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 4856
Liked: 394 times
Joined: Wed May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Location: Saint Petersburg
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov

Re: Backup to Tape

Veeam Logoby michaelhogendoorn » Fri Feb 12, 2016 1:15 pm

Yes i'm sorry, will read the post and try to update to v9 asap.

Thanks
michaelhogendoorn
Service Provider
 
Posts: 20
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Thu Jan 07, 2016 8:13 am
Full Name: Michael Hogendoorn

Re: Backup to Tape

Veeam Logoby Shestakov » Fri Feb 12, 2016 1:28 pm 1 person likes this post

No problem, Michael.
v9 doesn`t have critical bugs, but if you are interested, we are going to release v9update1 in 2-3 weeks.
Let me know if any assistance is needed.
Shestakov
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 4856
Liked: 394 times
Joined: Wed May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Location: Saint Petersburg
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov


Return to Tape



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Absalom, Bing [Bot] and 5 guests