Cannot Inventory or Catalog

Everything about backing up to tape

Cannot Inventory or Catalog

Veeam Logoby marky » Mon Mar 17, 2014 1:30 pm

I understand we should be able to inventory and catalog tapes created with BE2010r3

Having managed to run a tape backup on a newly erased tape, the next part is to see if we can restore historical data

Whenever we run either, the following failure is recorded

Code: Select all
17/03/2014 13:08:03          Processing started at 17 March 2014 13:08:02
17/03/2014 13:08:05          Drive 1 (Tape1) locked successfully
17/03/2014 13:08:06 Error    Failed to inventory tape in Drive 1 (Tape1) Error: WinApi function 'GetTapeParameters(ETapeInformation.Media)' failed, code '1167', message 'The device is not connected'
17/03/2014 13:08:06 Error    Completed with error at 17 March 2014 13:08:06

As mentioned we're using a driver I located for 2008 and the DLT-S4 is housed in a HP StorageWorks enclosure.
marky
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 69
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Thu Dec 19, 2013 9:44 am
Full Name: Mark Coleman

Re: Cannot Inventory or Catalog

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Mon Mar 17, 2014 1:38 pm

I understand we should be able to inventory and catalog tapes created with BE2010r3

Only inventory, as you can't search or restore data written by 3rd party applications with VB&R.

What kind of drivers you're using? Is the corresponding device shown correctly in Windows device manage? Are there any BE remnants installed on the said machine.

Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13255
Liked: 968 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: Cannot Inventory or Catalog

Veeam Logoby marky » Mon Mar 17, 2014 2:31 pm

It's a new Veaam Server, nothing else has ever been installed.

Ok, installed HP Tape Tools and now the Inventory works but what's the point if you cannot catalog and restore?
marky
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 69
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Thu Dec 19, 2013 9:44 am
Full Name: Mark Coleman

Re: Cannot Inventory or Catalog

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Mon Mar 17, 2014 2:33 pm

but what's the point if you cannot catalog and restore?

As mentioned, you can't restore only data written by other backup application. Meanwhile, you should be able to catalog/restore from tapes written by VB&R without any issues. Do you see different behavior? Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13255
Liked: 968 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin


Return to Tape



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 3 guests