Configure tape job

Everything about backing up to tape

Configure tape job

Veeam Logoby bplancic » Fri Dec 13, 2013 9:52 am

HI everyone,

we have standalone tape drive and are changing tapes manually. We are doing jobs to tape backup

I would like to ask you how to do the following when backing up to tape:

1) Tape currently in drive should be always overwritten (no retention) with full backup
2) If there is Veeam data already on tape i don't want appending - just overwrite.

I have created tape pool with this settings:

1) Create new media set
2) Do not protect data (cyclicaly...)

And nevertheless today job was waiting for the tape - when I said to mark it as free I got the message that retention period is not over.

What am I doing wrong ?

Regards
bplancic
Influencer
 
Posts: 16
Liked: never
Joined: Tue Nov 26, 2013 11:37 am

Re: Configure tape job

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Fri Dec 13, 2013 11:50 am

Hello,
Please, try to modify the settings for the media pool/media set according to your scenario:
1) Create new media set
Change it to create media set for each backup session
2) Do not protect data (cyclicaly...)
Agree on this one

If it is possible mark all existing tapes free, and check if export/eject option is off in Tape Job settings.
Thank you.
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 6249
Liked: 440 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: SPb
Full Name: Dmitry Popov

Re: Configure tape job

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Sat Dec 14, 2013 7:37 am

Just out of curiosity - what product version you're using? Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13266
Liked: 968 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: Configure tape job

Veeam Logoby bplancic » Sun Dec 15, 2013 10:20 am

v.Eremin wrote:Just out of curiosity - what product version you're using? Thanks.

I'm using latest version (7.0.0.771)

Today it happened again - although I set "no retention period" and "create new backup set" status was "waiting for tape".

So just to clarify - I put the tape in the drive on friday (and set it as free). Backup was made to tape over night and it was succesfull on Saturday. Same tape stayed in drive (I'm not at work to change it) and it was supposed to be overwritten overnight (Saturday to Sunday) but it says that retention period is not over...

Is there some requirement for the tape to be ejected and inserted again ?

Regards
bplancic
Influencer
 
Posts: 16
Liked: never
Joined: Tue Nov 26, 2013 11:37 am

Re: Configure tape job

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Mon Dec 16, 2013 8:45 pm

Thank you for the heads up.
This issue was addressed in the latest patch but since you mentioned that you are running the latest available build I need to ask you to contact with the support team. Please, let them check if the update to R2A (7.0.0.771) was smooth and all VBR system files were updated correctly. Also, I would highly appreciate if you update this thread with the case ID.
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 6249
Liked: 440 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: SPb
Full Name: Dmitry Popov

Re: Configure tape job

Veeam Logoby Reiner63 » Wed Dec 25, 2013 8:43 am

Hi bplanic,

any Solutions in your Problem?

I´ve got the same behaviour with my Quantum LTO4.

Thank you!
Reiner63
Novice
 
Posts: 6
Liked: never
Joined: Wed Dec 25, 2013 8:37 am
Full Name: Reiner Feldl

Re: Configure tape job

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Wed Dec 25, 2013 9:50 am

Reiner,
This is a known issue and would be fixed in the upcoming patch 3. Stay tuned.
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 6249
Liked: 440 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: SPb
Full Name: Dmitry Popov


Return to Tape



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests