Copy job to tape or straight from backup jobs?

Everything about backing up to tape

Copy job to tape or straight from backup jobs?

Veeam Logoby MCrown90 » Thu May 11, 2017 9:17 am

Our backups are currently running like this: VMs>Backup>Backup Copy>Tape

I set it up like this because the tape library and the secondary backup storage are local to each other, reducing network traffic. I've noticed some weirdness, last week, the tape job copied two full backups of the copy job instead of one and it regularly had to wait 12h+ to start because the copy job hasn't finished merging.

Should I change it to backup from the primary backup storage is is there a better way to do what I'm currently doing?

Many thanks
MCrown90
Novice
 
Posts: 4
Liked: never
Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2016 3:47 pm

Re: Copy job to tape or straight from backup jobs?

Veeam Logoby Shestakov » Thu May 11, 2017 10:55 am

Hello and welcome to the community!
... last week, the tape job copied two full backups of the copy job instead of one and it regularly had to wait 12h+ to start because the copy job hasn't finished merging.

Could you give more details please? Did it copy the same file twice or 2 different full backups?
Thanks!
Shestakov
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 5128
Liked: 430 times
Joined: Wed May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Location: Saint Petersburg
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov

Re: Copy job to tape or straight from backup jobs?

Veeam Logoby MCrown90 » Thu May 11, 2017 11:10 am

Two different synthetic full backups.
MCrown90
Novice
 
Posts: 4
Liked: never
Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2016 3:47 pm

Re: Copy job to tape or straight from backup jobs?

Veeam Logoby Shestakov » Fri May 12, 2017 11:49 am

Were both of the backups missing on tape or the job? What do you use as a source of the tape job, repository or backup copy job?
Thanks!
Shestakov
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 5128
Liked: 430 times
Joined: Wed May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Location: Saint Petersburg
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov

Re: Copy job to tape or straight from backup jobs?

Veeam Logoby MCrown90 » Thu May 18, 2017 11:58 am

Nothing seems missing. The Source is the copy job.
MCrown90
Novice
 
Posts: 4
Liked: never
Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2016 3:47 pm

Re: Copy job to tape or straight from backup jobs?

Veeam Logoby skrause » Mon May 22, 2017 2:06 pm

I would not recommend using backups on repositories that are "remote" in relation to the tape server as your source. I had several issues with tape jobs craoking because the tape jobs can't handle network issues very well.
Steve Krause
Veeam Certified Architect
skrause
Expert
 
Posts: 308
Liked: 45 times
Joined: Mon Dec 08, 2014 2:58 pm
Full Name: Steve Krause


Return to Tape



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 2 guests