Discussions specific to tape backups
Post Reply
MCrown90
Novice
Posts: 6
Liked: never
Joined: Dec 12, 2016 3:47 pm
Contact:

Copy job to tape or straight from backup jobs?

Post by MCrown90 » May 11, 2017 9:17 am

Our backups are currently running like this: VMs>Backup>Backup Copy>Tape

I set it up like this because the tape library and the secondary backup storage are local to each other, reducing network traffic. I've noticed some weirdness, last week, the tape job copied two full backups of the copy job instead of one and it regularly had to wait 12h+ to start because the copy job hasn't finished merging.

Should I change it to backup from the primary backup storage is is there a better way to do what I'm currently doing?

Many thanks

Shestakov
Veeam Software
Posts: 6575
Liked: 649 times
Joined: May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov
Location: Prague
Contact:

Re: Copy job to tape or straight from backup jobs?

Post by Shestakov » May 11, 2017 10:55 am

Hello and welcome to the community!
... last week, the tape job copied two full backups of the copy job instead of one and it regularly had to wait 12h+ to start because the copy job hasn't finished merging.
Could you give more details please? Did it copy the same file twice or 2 different full backups?
Thanks!

MCrown90
Novice
Posts: 6
Liked: never
Joined: Dec 12, 2016 3:47 pm
Contact:

Re: Copy job to tape or straight from backup jobs?

Post by MCrown90 » May 11, 2017 11:10 am

Two different synthetic full backups.

Shestakov
Veeam Software
Posts: 6575
Liked: 649 times
Joined: May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov
Location: Prague
Contact:

Re: Copy job to tape or straight from backup jobs?

Post by Shestakov » May 12, 2017 11:49 am

Were both of the backups missing on tape or the job? What do you use as a source of the tape job, repository or backup copy job?
Thanks!

MCrown90
Novice
Posts: 6
Liked: never
Joined: Dec 12, 2016 3:47 pm
Contact:

Re: Copy job to tape or straight from backup jobs?

Post by MCrown90 » May 18, 2017 11:58 am

Nothing seems missing. The Source is the copy job.

skrause
Expert
Posts: 386
Liked: 77 times
Joined: Dec 08, 2014 2:58 pm
Full Name: Steve Krause
Contact:

Re: Copy job to tape or straight from backup jobs?

Post by skrause » May 22, 2017 2:06 pm

I would not recommend using backups on repositories that are "remote" in relation to the tape server as your source. I had several issues with tape jobs craoking because the tape jobs can't handle network issues very well.
Steve Krause
Veeam Certified Architect

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 3 guests