Create VTL within V7

Everything about backing up to tape

Create VTL within V7

Veeam Logoby BDassow » Mon Sep 02, 2013 12:27 pm

Hello,

is it possible to create an VTL within Veeam V7? Where currently using HP DataProtector for Backup to Tape but try to switch to one product.
At the moment we´re creating an VTL-Tape (backup data is here includet) and writing the VTL-Tape to real tape.

Thanks for help.

Best regards,
Benjamin
BDassow
Novice
 
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Fri Jan 18, 2013 7:26 am

Re: Create VTL within V7

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Mon Sep 02, 2013 12:52 pm

Hello Benjamin,

Sure, it is possible to set up a VTL and connect it to Veeam v7 thru the iSCSI.
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 6237
Liked: 440 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: SPb
Full Name: Dmitry Popov

Re: Create VTL within V7

Veeam Logoby tsightler » Mon Sep 02, 2013 3:20 pm

I'm not 100% sure, but if you are asking if it's possible to create a VTL natively within Veeam, rather than connect to an external VTL, then no, Veeam does not have this capability. Some backup software has the native option to create a VTL that uses disk as a backup. This really wouldn't make a lot of sense with Veeam since Veeam is already a "backup to disk" product.

However, if that's not what you meant, Dmitry is correct that we can leverage any traditional hardware or software VTL appliances that can be connected via SCSI (SAS or Parallel), iSCSI, or FC.
tsightler
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 4768
Liked: 1737 times
Joined: Fri Jun 05, 2009 12:57 pm
Full Name: Tom Sightler


Return to Tape



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 14 guests