Using tape as a backup target
Post Reply
BDassow
Novice
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Jan 18, 2013 7:26 am
Contact:

Create VTL within V7

Post by BDassow »

Hello,

is it possible to create an VTL within Veeam V7? Where currently using HP DataProtector for Backup to Tape but try to switch to one product.
At the moment we´re creating an VTL-Tape (backup data is here includet) and writing the VTL-Tape to real tape.

Thanks for help.

Best regards,
Benjamin

Dima P.
Product Manager
Posts: 11868
Liked: 1063 times
Joined: Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Full Name: Dmitry Popov
Location: Prague
Contact:

Re: Create VTL within V7

Post by Dima P. »

Hello Benjamin,

Sure, it is possible to set up a VTL and connect it to Veeam v7 thru the iSCSI.

tsightler
VP, Product Management
Posts: 5688
Liked: 2509 times
Joined: Jun 05, 2009 12:57 pm
Full Name: Tom Sightler
Contact:

Re: Create VTL within V7

Post by tsightler »

I'm not 100% sure, but if you are asking if it's possible to create a VTL natively within Veeam, rather than connect to an external VTL, then no, Veeam does not have this capability. Some backup software has the native option to create a VTL that uses disk as a backup. This really wouldn't make a lot of sense with Veeam since Veeam is already a "backup to disk" product.

However, if that's not what you meant, Dmitry is correct that we can leverage any traditional hardware or software VTL appliances that can be connected via SCSI (SAS or Parallel), iSCSI, or FC.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests