-
- Novice
- Posts: 5
- Liked: never
- Joined: Sep 05, 2011 10:41 am
- Full Name: Nick Payne
- Contact:
Delete Offline Tapes
Hi,
Do you have a script I can use to delete all offline tapes rather than use the GUI to delete them on at a time?
Thanks,
Nick
Do you have a script I can use to delete all offline tapes rather than use the GUI to delete them on at a time?
Thanks,
Nick
-
- Product Manager
- Posts: 20406
- Liked: 2298 times
- Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
- Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
- Contact:
Re: Delete Offline Tapes
It's not that clear what you've meant by "delete tapes". Are you after removing offline tapes from a catalog? If so, then, the following script might help:
Hope this helps.
Thanks.
Code: Select all
asnp VeeamPSSnapin
foreach ($Medium in Get-VBRTapeMedium | where {($_.isoffline -eq "$True")})
{
$Medium.Delete()
}
Thanks.
-
- Novice
- Posts: 5
- Liked: never
- Joined: Sep 05, 2011 10:41 am
- Full Name: Nick Payne
- Contact:
Re: Delete Offline Tapes
Hi,
Firstly, thanks for coming back to me so quickly, appreciated!
Not quite the issue I have, thousands of drives where created when I attached Veeam to our VTL and I would like to delete them. See below;
Get-VBRTapeDrive
Name Display Name Model State Enabled
---- ------------ ----- ----- -------
IBM ULT3580-TD5 SCSI S... Empty True
LTO Tape drive Empty True
LTO Tape drive Empty True
IBM ULT3580-TD5 SCSI S... Empty True
LTO Tape drive Empty True
LTO Tape drive Empty True
IBM ULT3580-TD5 SCSI S... Empty True
IBM ULT3580-TD5 SCSI S... Empty True
Firstly, thanks for coming back to me so quickly, appreciated!
Not quite the issue I have, thousands of drives where created when I attached Veeam to our VTL and I would like to delete them. See below;
Get-VBRTapeDrive
Name Display Name Model State Enabled
---- ------------ ----- ----- -------
IBM ULT3580-TD5 SCSI S... Empty True
LTO Tape drive Empty True
LTO Tape drive Empty True
IBM ULT3580-TD5 SCSI S... Empty True
LTO Tape drive Empty True
LTO Tape drive Empty True
IBM ULT3580-TD5 SCSI S... Empty True
IBM ULT3580-TD5 SCSI S... Empty True
-
- Product Manager
- Posts: 20406
- Liked: 2298 times
- Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
- Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
- Contact:
Re: Delete Offline Tapes
Hmm, not sure whether I quite follow you on that.
You've attached the said VTL appliance to the VB&R management server and, meanwhile, you don't want for corresponding drives to be shown in GUI, right? Or it's more about library being shown wrongly as a bunch of standalone drives?
Anyway, you can disable VB&R scan/recognition of tape libraries/standalone drives using DisableTapeSubsystem regkey.
Thanks.
You've attached the said VTL appliance to the VB&R management server and, meanwhile, you don't want for corresponding drives to be shown in GUI, right? Or it's more about library being shown wrongly as a bunch of standalone drives?
Anyway, you can disable VB&R scan/recognition of tape libraries/standalone drives using DisableTapeSubsystem regkey.
Thanks.
-
- Novice
- Posts: 5
- Liked: never
- Joined: Sep 05, 2011 10:41 am
- Full Name: Nick Payne
- Contact:
Re: Delete Offline Tapes
Veeam doesn't recognize the VTL Robotic and mounts the tape drives as standalone drives. Each time Veeam scans the drives it adds a new set of drives. I think half of the battle is to disable the automated scan with the regkey. The next, is how do I remove all of the drives?
-
- Product Manager
- Posts: 20406
- Liked: 2298 times
- Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
- Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
- Contact:
Re: Delete Offline Tapes
From my perspective, the first thing to investigate should be the tape library improper recognition. Usage of drivers provided by software vendor and presence of other tape backup software running on the same machine are the typical causes of this behavior. So, you might want to check it first.
Also, it doesn't seems that there is an way to delete tape drive/library using either GUI or PS snap-in. However, if it's acceptable, you can disconnect the said library from this machine, thus, no libraries/drives won't be shown even in Windows Device Manager.
Thanks.
Also, it doesn't seems that there is an way to delete tape drive/library using either GUI or PS snap-in. However, if it's acceptable, you can disconnect the said library from this machine, thus, no libraries/drives won't be shown even in Windows Device Manager.
Thanks.
-
- Novice
- Posts: 5
- Liked: never
- Joined: Sep 05, 2011 10:41 am
- Full Name: Nick Payne
- Contact:
Re: Delete Offline Tapes
I've disconnected the library and drives however, I still have 5000+ offline tapes showing :$
So theres no way to remove these?
So theres no way to remove these?
-
- Product Manager
- Posts: 20406
- Liked: 2298 times
- Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
- Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
- Contact:
Re: Delete Offline Tapes
The script I've posted above should delete all offline cassettes from backup console. Have you tried it already? Thanks.
-
- Novice
- Posts: 5
- Liked: never
- Joined: Sep 05, 2011 10:41 am
- Full Name: Nick Payne
- Contact:
Re: Delete Offline Tapes
Yes, I ran the script however, the script deletes tapes rather than the tape drives I'm trying to remove. I tried to modify the script to use Get-VBRTapeDrive and remove the medium component, but no luck.
-
- Product Manager
- Posts: 20406
- Liked: 2298 times
- Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
- Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
- Contact:
Re: Delete Offline Tapes
Oh, I must have been confused by your statement regarding offline tapes.
If after disconnecting corresponding tape library from a backup console, and restarting the backup management server, you still have standalone drives shown in the GUI, then, the best way would be to open a case with our support team and let them assist you in clearing everything up.
Thanks.
If after disconnecting corresponding tape library from a backup console, and restarting the backup management server, you still have standalone drives shown in the GUI, then, the best way would be to open a case with our support team and let them assist you in clearing everything up.
Thanks.
-
- Product Manager
- Posts: 14720
- Liked: 1705 times
- Joined: Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
- Full Name: Dmitry Popov
- Location: Prague
- Contact:
Re: Delete Offline Tapes
Nick,
Currently, deletion of all offline tape libraries/drives possible thru the SQL query - removing all the records in the corresponding tables of the VBR database, however, this is not recommended for production. So if you got up to 10 offline drives, I would strongly recommend to delete all of them manually – if you have hundreds of offline drives, as it was noted before, please, contact support team in order to get the appropriate fix. Thank you.
Currently, deletion of all offline tape libraries/drives possible thru the SQL query - removing all the records in the corresponding tables of the VBR database, however, this is not recommended for production. So if you got up to 10 offline drives, I would strongly recommend to delete all of them manually – if you have hundreds of offline drives, as it was noted before, please, contact support team in order to get the appropriate fix. Thank you.
-
- Novice
- Posts: 5
- Liked: never
- Joined: May 30, 2012 7:12 pm
- Full Name: Max Dembo
- Contact:
Re: Delete Offline Tapes
Hello,
is the above script valid in version 8?
I have to delete a lot of offline tapes.
Thanks.
is the above script valid in version 8?
I have to delete a lot of offline tapes.
Thanks.
-
- Product Manager
- Posts: 20406
- Liked: 2298 times
- Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
- Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
- Contact:
Re: Delete Offline Tapes
Nope, in version 8 the said method isn't present in tape medium object any longer. So, you can either shift select all mediums and remove them from catalog or ask support team for assistance in clearing those entities from product DB via SQL commands. Thanks.
Who is online
Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests