Drive Cleaning?

Everything about backing up to tape

[MERGED] Feature request - tape cleaning

Veeam Logoby mfinnigan_g » Tue Apr 05, 2016 8:20 pm

I'm used to backup software being able to sense when a drive needs to be cleaned, and in an autoloader situation, being able to do the cleaning automatically. I've just started implementing tape infrastructure, and don't see any options for this. Please take this as a feature request?
mfinnigan_g
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 29
Liked: never
Joined: Wed Jun 17, 2015 5:00 pm
Location: Boston, MA
Full Name: Matt Finnigan

Re: Drive Cleaning?

Veeam Logoby Shestakov » Tue Apr 05, 2016 9:26 pm

Hello. Thank you for the request, it will be taken into account for future product versions.
Shestakov
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 4865
Liked: 396 times
Joined: Wed May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Location: Saint Petersburg
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov

Re: Drive Cleaning?

Veeam Logoby tdawg » Thu Apr 07, 2016 8:56 am

Have seen this cause an issue with tape backup since installing Veeam with new equipment.

I needed to clean manually with manufacturer tools before any tape backup would work.

I suppose now I have to find a way to clean the drives on a schedule, outside of Veeams' tape backup windows (as to not interrupt as tape backup).

Veeam staff, if you have implemented similar in the past, perhaps you can post a workaround?

If anyone does this already, please share the method on here? It might point me in the right direction.

As above, please take this post as my support for a feature request for the next version (currently on 9.1).
tdawg
Novice
 
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Wed Feb 10, 2016 3:51 pm
Full Name: tdawg

Re: Drive Cleaning?

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Fri Apr 08, 2016 5:34 pm

Hi tdawg,

Thanks. This feature is in high priority list. As for possible workarounds, theoretically, if the native tools support scripting it might be possible to check the drive alerts and the fire the drive cleaning as a post job activity.
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 6263
Liked: 442 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: SPb
Full Name: Dmitry Popov

Re: Drive Cleaning?

Veeam Logoby tdawg » Mon Apr 11, 2016 11:41 am

Thank you Dima, I will check if the library 'allows scripting', its a HP StoreEver MSL2024, so I guess HP Library and Tape Tools? I doubt it can be scripted, but I would happily be corrected!
tdawg
Novice
 
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Wed Feb 10, 2016 3:51 pm
Full Name: tdawg

Re: Drive Cleaning?

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Tue Apr 26, 2016 12:38 pm

HP Library and Tape Tools

Right. Please, let us know how it goes. Thank you.
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 6263
Liked: 442 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: SPb
Full Name: Dmitry Popov

Re: Drive Cleaning?

Veeam Logoby tdawg » Wed Apr 27, 2016 12:04 pm

Hello Dima P.

How did I clean my 4 tape drives today? Manually, through the HP software, when I was sure my tape backup job was not running and will not be interrupted.

I contacted HPE Support who tell me that it's impossible to script *any* drive operations for a MSL2024 tape library though their software.

While searching however, I noted that there is Powershell cmdlets for Microsoft DPM software which appear to be tape drive manufacturer agnostic.

https://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/library/hh881776(v=sc.30).aspx

I expect Veeam will be able to provide similar functionality soon?

Perhaps once this is done, it would be possible to provide a scheduling option from within Veeam B&R itself to negate the need to script it at all for the backup operator?

Lets face it, most of us customers didn't invest in Veeam for the privilege of sitting over a powershell scripting window, did we?
tdawg
Novice
 
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Wed Feb 10, 2016 3:51 pm
Full Name: tdawg

Re: Drive Cleaning?

Veeam Logoby Didi7 » Wed Apr 27, 2016 4:46 pm

Honestly,

I would be happy to have a Tape Drive Cleaning Option (with an Eject Option after cleaning) in VBR as well, as in the case of HP tape drives or libraries you need to completely stop Veeam Services, which unfortunately is not doable by a single button (would be a nice Option as well btw), to be able to use HP Tape Tools to clean a tape drive, as concurrent access is not allowed. So, this ends up in a very time-consuming task.

Tape drive cleaning is part of every commercial Tape Backup software I know.

Regards,
Didi7
Using Veeam Backup & Replication 9.5 Update 2 on every backup server here!
Didi7
Expert
 
Posts: 228
Liked: 15 times
Joined: Fri Oct 17, 2014 8:09 am

Re: Drive Cleaning?

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Wed Apr 27, 2016 4:56 pm

Guys,

I feel your pain and push this request as much as possible during every single discussion with the tape crew.
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 6263
Liked: 442 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: SPb
Full Name: Dmitry Popov

Re: Drive Cleaning?

Veeam Logoby Didi7 » Wed Apr 27, 2016 4:57 pm

Thanks.
Using Veeam Backup & Replication 9.5 Update 2 on every backup server here!
Didi7
Expert
 
Posts: 228
Liked: 15 times
Joined: Fri Oct 17, 2014 8:09 am

[MERGED]: Feature Request - Tape Cleaning - ID 01793399

Veeam Logoby gwalters » Tue May 10, 2016 9:01 am

ID 01793399

Hello,

We have the following issue:

Our Quantum Autoloader is set to auto clean the drive.
Weekend Backup runs tape is inserted
Tape drive flags a clean is required and inserts a cleaning tape after the first tape is full
Veeam attempts to write to the tape and fails.


Is there something we can do feature wise for this ? e.g allow veeam to check the status of the autoloader and if the status is cleaning wait before deciding to error the job ?


The Auto Clean feature permits the SuperLoader to automatically
perform the cleaning process without interrupting normal operations.
The Auto Clean feature is disabled (turned off) by default.
With Auto Clean enabled, the SuperLoader monitors the cleaning
requirements of the tape drive. When the drive indicates a
status, the SuperLoader automatically checks the tape drive for a
Needed
data cartridge and, if a data cartridge is loaded, the SuperLoader waits
for the host to eject the cartridge from the drive. Then, the SuperLoader
removes the cleaning cartridge from its slot and inserts it into the tape
drive. After the cleaning completes, the SuperLoader puts the cleaning
tape away and then awaits the next command. Even if the user requests a
data cartridge to be loaded, the SuperLoader uses the cleaning tape first
gwalters
Lurker
 
Posts: 2
Liked: never
Joined: Tue May 10, 2016 8:56 am
Full Name: Gareth Walters

Re: Drive Cleaning?

Veeam Logoby Didi7 » Tue May 10, 2016 3:55 pm

Hello,

to be more specific. I would like to reserve one slot from a tape library, as a slot exclusively for tape cleaning media in Veeam Backup & Replication. Should a tape drive need to be cleaned, I would like to right click on a tape drive of a tape library in Veeam B&R and select it for cleaning and the cleaning media should be ejected automatically of course.

This would circumvent the need to stop Veeam Services and launch e.g. HP Library & Tape Tools to clean a drive and restart Veeam Services again. That's really annoying.

Furthermore, it would be fine, if Veeam B&R gets a system control panel Icon and utility behind that, where you could easily stop and start Veeam B&R Services, instead of manually stopping and starting each Service one by one.

Regards,
Didi7
Using Veeam Backup & Replication 9.5 Update 2 on every backup server here!
Didi7
Expert
 
Posts: 228
Liked: 15 times
Joined: Fri Oct 17, 2014 8:09 am

Re: Drive Cleaning?

Veeam Logoby gwalters » Wed May 25, 2016 11:55 am

bump...


is this being looked at ?
gwalters
Lurker
 
Posts: 2
Liked: never
Joined: Tue May 10, 2016 8:56 am
Full Name: Gareth Walters

Re: Drive Cleaning?

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Thu May 26, 2016 11:58 am

Gareth,

Yes, as stated above this feature is planned but we can’t provide any ETA at the moment.
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 6263
Liked: 442 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: SPb
Full Name: Dmitry Popov

Re: Drive Cleaning?

Veeam Logoby lyapkost » Fri May 27, 2016 2:52 pm

Didi7 wrote:... where you could easily stop and start Veeam B&R Services, instead of manually stopping and starting each Service one by one.

You may use Powershell (run as Administrartor) commands:
Code: Select all
get-service veeam*|stop-service
get-service veeam*|start-service
to quickly stop/start all services.
lyapkost
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 76
Liked: 13 times
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2015 2:26 pm
Location: Saint Petersburg
Full Name: Konstantin

PreviousNext

Return to Tape



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests