Failed to continue tape backup session on the next tape medi

Everything about backing up to tape

Failed to continue tape backup session on the next tape medi

Veeam Logoby paaglo » Mon May 25, 2015 6:23 am

Hey.
I`ve got some issues with Veeam B&R v. 8 (8.0.0.2021).
When I start a backup to tape job that needs more than one tape, I`ll get this error message: "Failed to continue tape backup session on the next tape medium Object reference not set to an instance of an object.".
I thougth this was fixed in build 2021 (ref. tape-f29/start-tapejob-in-v8-t26073.html), but apparently not.

Any idea on when this will be fixed?

B&R v 8.0.0.2021
HP MSL G3 Series 7.80.

Hoping for some good news :)

Regards
Paal
Regards,
Paal
paaglo
Novice
 
Posts: 4
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Mon Aug 22, 2011 5:36 am
Full Name: Paal Glorvigen

Re: Failed to continue tape backup session on the next tape

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Mon May 25, 2015 8:42 am

Are you using multipath to your device, as well? What's your case number?
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13266
Liked: 968 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: Failed to continue tape backup session on the next tape

Veeam Logoby paaglo » Wed May 27, 2015 9:02 am

I`m not using multipath on the tapelibrary.
And I`ve not contacted support yet.
Would you recomend me to contact support?

Regards, Paal
Regards,
Paal
paaglo
Novice
 
Posts: 4
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Mon Aug 22, 2011 5:36 am
Full Name: Paal Glorvigen

Re: Failed to continue tape backup session on the next tape

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Thu May 28, 2015 4:36 pm

Hello Paal,
Since you received an error it’s recommended to open a support case, so please do and post here the case ID for tracking purposes. Thanks.
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 6242
Liked: 440 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: SPb
Full Name: Dmitry Popov

Re: Failed to continue tape backup session on the next tape

Veeam Logoby paaglo » Sat May 30, 2015 5:40 am 2 people like this post

Fixed!
Our tapelibrary does not use multipath, all backup to tape goes over ethernet.
What`s strange to me is this:
The HP MSL tapelibrary had 2 fiberports connected that was not in use (but still connected).
When we tried backup to tape from Veeam, we got this error message: "Failed to continue tape backup session on the next tape medium Object reference not set to an instance of an object."
Then we disconnected the fiberports in the HP MSL tapelibrary, and all went fine.

Thanks to v.eremin and dima p for trying to help!

Regards,
Paal
Regards,
Paal
paaglo
Novice
 
Posts: 4
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Mon Aug 22, 2011 5:36 am
Full Name: Paal Glorvigen

Re: Failed to continue tape backup session on the next tape

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Fri Jun 05, 2015 12:08 pm

Hello Paal,

Thanks for the sharing the solution with the community. I am glad to hear you are up and running now!
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 6242
Liked: 440 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: SPb
Full Name: Dmitry Popov

Re: Failed to continue tape backup session on the next tape

Veeam Logoby Jeroenix » Wed Feb 08, 2017 9:32 am

I had the same issue which popped up suddenly, but probably after a firmware and driver upgrade on the VeeAm host server. Tape inventories, format operations and backups all failed after a random number of the library's tape changes. Firmware update of library and LTO didn't help.

With inventory operations I noticed that VeeAm mounted a tape and while it was inventorying, tried to mount another tape, and another, and another, which all failed.

We use SAS cabling, and in our case there are two cables (merged into one port) going from library to the host's controller. Windows' device manager showed two instances of our MSL2024 library and two instances of the library's LTO5 drive (we have only one MSL2024 changer with one LTO5 drive fitted). After disabling one of each in Device Manager, everything worked again.

It's strange, because we also have a Microsoft Data Protection Manager server with the same equipment. The Device Manager on that server also shows the devices in duplicate, but DPM has never had any trouble with it. Nor does the HP tape utility, that can diagnose the library's robotics. It seems a VeeAm thing. Don't know about version 9 though, we have version 8 (2084).
Jeroenix
Lurker
 
Posts: 1
Liked: never
Joined: Mon Jan 30, 2017 1:48 pm
Full Name: Jeroen van Drongelen


Return to Tape



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests