Failed to eject some tapes

Everything about backing up to tape

Failed to eject some tapes

Veeam Logoby jimbliss » Sun Dec 11, 2016 10:03 pm

After updating to 9.5, we are getting a "Failed to eject some tapes" on some of our tape jobs. After watching it, the tape is ejecting, and the robot is moving it back to its slot correctly. It looks like a timing issue, in that the library robot is taking longer that the time to wait Veeam 9.5 allows. We had no issues with v9.0.

My question, is there such a setting? And can it be changed?

The library is an HPE MSL8096 G3 with LTO6 FC drives. All firmware and drivers are at the latest level. OS is MS Windows Server 2012 R2 running on a BL460 G8.

Thanks,

Jim
jimbliss
Novice
 
Posts: 9
Liked: never
Joined: Sat Aug 24, 2013 2:09 pm
Full Name: James Bliss

Re: Failed to eject some tapes

Veeam Logoby Mike Resseler » Mon Dec 12, 2016 6:19 am

Hi Jim,

As far as I know, there is no specific setting for this. I also can't find a specific registry key for it so I would advise you to log a support case so our support engineers can look at this and try to solve it.

Post the case ID here and the result after that also to help fellow community members

Thanks!

Mike
Mike Resseler
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 3340
Liked: 379 times
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 3:08 pm
Location: Belgium, the land of the fries, the beer, the chocolate and the diamonds...
Full Name: Mike Resseler

Re: Failed to eject some tapes

Veeam Logoby francs » Mon Dec 12, 2016 7:50 am

Case #02002409
I'm having the same issue on an IBM TS3200 since upgrading to 9.5


Code: Select all
I found the following warning in the job logfiles.
[09.12.2016 16:02:01] <01> Warning  [CTapeMediumUnloader] Skipping tape media SAQ175L5 eject because lock failed
[09.12.2016 16:02:01] <01> Info     Unlocking tape medium 'SAQ179L5'
[09.12.2016 16:02:01] <01> Info         Tape medium 'SAQ179L5' is successfully unlocked
[09.12.2016 16:02:01] <01> Info     Unlocking device '\\.\Tape0'
[09.12.2016 16:02:01] <01> Info         Device '\\.\Tape0' successfully unlocked
[09.12.2016 16:02:01] <01> Info     [TapeDriveLock] Drive 'Drive 1 (Server: BARNEY, Library: IBM 3573-TL C.50, Drive ID: Tape0)' was unlocked
[09.12.2016 16:02:01] <01> Warning  Failed to eject some tapes


Comparing this to the logs before the upgrade it would seem that it would wait for the unlock to complete first and then do an unload.
This doesn't seem to be the case with v9.5, where the unlock and unload seems to happen at the same time.
francs
Novice
 
Posts: 9
Liked: never
Joined: Tue Mar 20, 2012 8:54 am

Re: Failed to eject some tapes

Veeam Logoby Mike Resseler » Mon Dec 12, 2016 7:52 am

Hi Francs,

Thanks for posting here also. Keep us informed when support gives you more information

Thanks
Mike
Mike Resseler
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 3340
Liked: 379 times
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 3:08 pm
Location: Belgium, the land of the fries, the beer, the chocolate and the diamonds...
Full Name: Mike Resseler

Re: Failed to eject some tapes

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Mon Dec 12, 2016 1:31 pm

There is hot fix for this issue. You may refer to ticket number 01982635 in order to get it. Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13543
Liked: 1002 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: Failed to eject some tapes

Veeam Logoby jimbliss » Wed Dec 14, 2016 4:14 pm

Hot fix did the job. Thanks. :D
jimbliss
Novice
 
Posts: 9
Liked: never
Joined: Sat Aug 24, 2013 2:09 pm
Full Name: James Bliss

Re: Failed to eject some tapes

Veeam Logoby francs » Wed Dec 14, 2016 4:19 pm

I can confirm. The hotfix solved the problem.
francs
Novice
 
Posts: 9
Liked: never
Joined: Tue Mar 20, 2012 8:54 am

Re: Failed to eject some tapes

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Wed Dec 14, 2016 5:34 pm

Thank you, guys, for confirming that hot fix has solved the problem for you. However, it would not harm to check occasionally whether there are no tapes stuck in drives. Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13543
Liked: 1002 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: Failed to eject some tapes

Veeam Logoby kmbelt » Thu Jan 12, 2017 5:57 pm

I am having the Exact same problem since upgrading. How can I obtain the hotfix?
kmbelt
Influencer
 
Posts: 10
Liked: never
Joined: Mon Sep 08, 2014 4:08 pm
Full Name: Kevin Belt

Re: Failed to eject some tapes

Veeam Logoby lyapkost » Fri Jan 13, 2017 9:10 am 1 person likes this post

Hi, Kevin! You need to open a support case and refer to case #01982635 to obtain a hotfix.

By the way. There will be a special registry key DisableEjectWarning available after upgrading to upd1. If it is set to 1, no more warnigs should appear.
lyapkost
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 85
Liked: 15 times
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2015 2:26 pm
Location: Saint Petersburg
Full Name: Konstantin

Re: Failed to eject some tapes

Veeam Logoby edvschriesheim » Tue Jan 31, 2017 6:42 am

But why should i disable the warning?
edvschriesheim
Influencer
 
Posts: 11
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Wed Jan 21, 2015 8:46 am
Full Name: Schriesheim

Re: Failed to eject some tapes

Veeam Logoby lyapkost » Tue Jan 31, 2017 9:12 am

edvschriesheim wrote:But why should i disable the warning?

Hi! You don't have to disable it, warnings are turned on by default as it was before. But if for any reason one doesn't want to receive these warnings he has an option to disable them.
lyapkost
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 85
Liked: 15 times
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2015 2:26 pm
Location: Saint Petersburg
Full Name: Konstantin

Re: Failed to eject some tapes

Veeam Logoby danc » Mon Feb 13, 2017 12:38 am

Veeam Support - Case # 02066873
I am having the same issue since upgrading to 9.5 Update 1:

Tape library: Physical - HP MSL G3 Series 8.70
Used tapes: HOE862L5 [HOE862L5]
TapeDrive alert: The tape drive is having problems reading data. No data has been lost, but there has been a reduction in the performance of the tape..
Failed to eject some tapes
Skipping tape media HOE862L5 eject because lock failed



Is the hotfix available for download or do I need to wait for Veeam support to provide the hotfix via the Case logged?

Thanks
Dan
danc
Influencer
 
Posts: 11
Liked: never
Joined: Wed Apr 15, 2015 7:19 am
Full Name: Dan

Re: Failed to eject some tapes

Veeam Logoby Mike Resseler » Mon Feb 13, 2017 6:33 am

Dan,

Did you refer to hotfix (ticket number) 01982635 in your support case? I actually have my doubts this is the same problem to be honest so yes Support will take it further from here and if the hotfix is the solution they will give it to you. But as I said, I have a feeling that there is something else
Mike Resseler
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 3340
Liked: 379 times
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 3:08 pm
Location: Belgium, the land of the fries, the beer, the chocolate and the diamonds...
Full Name: Mike Resseler

Re: Failed to eject some tapes

Veeam Logoby dgreer » Mon Feb 27, 2017 9:39 pm

I'm going to throw in a "Me too" on this.

We've received four "Warnings" from VB&R in last 40(ish) days: "Failed to eject some tapes. Skipping tape media [media name] eject because lock failed." The backups, themselves, appear to be successful, so no apparent worries there. It appears Veeam is just failing to eject the tapes.

We updated VB&R from v9.0 to v9.5.0.711 on 11/29/16. It performed error free for 49 days, until first occurrence of warning on 01/16/17, and then subsequent warnings on 02/03/17, 02/20/17, and 02/24/17. I googled the warning, and it led me to this forum post.

I don't know if this "hotfix (ticket number) 01982635" is the magic bullet, or if it's included in "9.5 Update 1", but we have not yet installed either piece. I have opened a support case (including reference to aforementioned "hot fix") to request further guidance before making any changes (and provided both screenshots & logs), but any assistance you guys (from Veeam) can provide will be appreciated.

Thanks,
-DG
dgreer
Novice
 
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Mon Feb 27, 2017 9:25 pm
Full Name: Don Greer

Next

Return to Tape



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 14 guests