Failed to export tape

Everything about backing up to tape

Failed to export tape

Veeam Logoby itpfp » Wed Mar 26, 2014 12:17 pm

I run a daily tape offload job, after which tapes are being transferred offsite. At the moment the job is setup to eject and export the media and media set once the job finishes.

After each backup (using three tapes per backup currently) I get the following warning:

Code: Select all
Failed to export tape EDL068L5 Details: WinApi function 'DeviceIoControl(ChangerGetElementStatus)' failed, code '87', message 'The parameter is incorrect'


It only lists the first of three tapes in this warning.

Any idea what is going on and might I safely ignore this warning ?
itpfp
Influencer
 
Posts: 16
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Mon Mar 17, 2014 2:11 pm
Full Name: it

Re: Failed to export tape

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Wed Mar 26, 2014 1:01 pm

Have you had a chance to open a ticket with our support team, as log investigation seems to be required? Also, sometimes simple library reboot helps to get rid of "export" errors. Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13257
Liked: 968 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: Failed to export tape

Veeam Logoby itpfp » Wed Apr 02, 2014 10:58 am

v.Eremin wrote:Have you had a chance to open a ticket with our support team, as log investigation seems to be required? Also, sometimes simple library reboot helps to get rid of "export" errors. Thanks.


Thanks,

A tape library reboot didn't make the problem disappear.

Now what exactly does the export do ? In other words, what problems do I create if I simply not export it ?
itpfp
Influencer
 
Posts: 16
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Mon Mar 17, 2014 2:11 pm
Full Name: it

Re: Failed to export tape

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Wed Apr 02, 2014 11:12 am

Export functionality allows you to get written cassettes offsite. The described situation doesn't look expected. Thus, you'd better open a ticket with our support team and let them investigate it directly. Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13257
Liked: 968 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: Failed to export tape

Veeam Logoby itpfp » Wed Apr 02, 2014 11:16 am

v.Eremin wrote:Export functionality allows you to get written cassettes offsite. The described situation doesn't look expected. Thus, you'd better open a ticket with our support team and let them investigate it directly. Thanks.


Ok, because indeed that is exactly the purpose, the three tapes in the job will be brought offsite.

Will open a support case.
itpfp
Influencer
 
Posts: 16
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Mon Mar 17, 2014 2:11 pm
Full Name: it

Re: Failed to export tape

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Wed Apr 02, 2014 11:17 am

Once opened, don't forget to update the topic with the ticket number, so that, we can track the case. Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13257
Liked: 968 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: Failed to export tape

Veeam Logoby itpfp » Wed Apr 02, 2014 11:55 am

ticket number is 00543490

relevant section of the log:

Code: Select all
[01.04.2014 18:34:30] <01> Info     Unloading tape EDL096L5
[01.04.2014 18:34:30] <01> Info     [TapeLoader] Unloading tape EDL096L5 to Slot 25
[01.04.2014 18:35:28] <01> Info     [ChangerHandle] Moving tape medium from 'ChangerDrive0' to 'ChangerSlot24'
[01.04.2014 18:36:05] <01> Info     [Tape EDL096L5] Set location, old 'library (ab242879-f3d4-493b-b2d3-2e26fac86aa7) in TapeDrive0', new 'library (ab242879-f3d4-493b-b2d3-2e26fac86aa7) in Slot24'
[01.04.2014 18:36:05] <01> Error    WinApi function 'DeviceIoControl(ChangerGetElementStatus)' failed, code '87', message 'The parameter is incorrect' (Veeam.Tape.Core.VeeamWin32Exception)
[01.04.2014 18:36:05] <01> Error       at Veeam.Tape.Core.ChangerHandle.GetElementsStatusImpl(UInt32 elementAddress, ELEMENT_TYPE type, Boolean volumeInfo, UInt32 number)
[01.04.2014 18:36:05] <01> Error       at Veeam.Tape.Core.ChangerHandle.GetElementsStatus(UInt32 elementAddress, ELEMENT_TYPE type, Boolean volumeInfo, UInt32 number)
[01.04.2014 18:36:05] <01> Error       at Veeam.Tape.Core.TapeMediumExporter.FindFreeIEPort()
[01.04.2014 18:36:05] <01> Error       at Veeam.Tape.Core.TapeMediumExporter.GetFreeIEPort()
[01.04.2014 18:36:05] <01> Error       at Veeam.Tape.Core.TapeMediumExporter.ExportTapeMedium(TapeMedium tapeMedium)
[01.04.2014 18:36:05] <01> Error       at Veeam.Tape.Core.TapeMediumExporter.Export()
[01.04.2014 18:36:05] <01> Error    WinApi function 'DeviceIoControl(ChangerGetElementStatus)' failed, code '87', message 'The parameter is incorrect' (Veeam.Tape.Core.VeeamWin32Exception)
[01.04.2014 18:36:05] <01> Error       at Veeam.Tape.Core.ChangerHandle.GetElementsStatusImpl(UInt32 elementAddress, ELEMENT_TYPE type, Boolean volumeInfo, UInt32 number)
[01.04.2014 18:36:05] <01> Error       at Veeam.Tape.Core.ChangerHandle.GetElementsStatus(UInt32 elementAddress, ELEMENT_TYPE type, Boolean volumeInfo, UInt32 number)
[01.04.2014 18:36:05] <01> Error       at Veeam.Tape.Core.TapeMediumExporter.FindFreeIEPort()
[01.04.2014 18:36:05] <01> Error       at Veeam.Tape.Core.TapeMediumExporter.GetFreeIEPort()
[01.04.2014 18:36:05] <01> Error       at Veeam.Tape.Core.TapeMediumExporter.ExportTapeMedium(TapeMedium tapeMedium)
[01.04.2014 18:36:05] <01> Error       at Veeam.Tape.Core.TapeMediumExporter.Export()
[01.04.2014 18:36:05] <01> Info     [Session] AuxData '<TapeAuxData><TapeMediums><TapeMedium Barcode="EDL095L5" Name="EDL095L5" /><TapeMedium Barcode="EDL096L5" Name="EDL096L5" /></TapeMediums></TapeAuxData>'
[01.04.2014 18:36:05] <01> Info     [JobSession] New OriginalSessionId is '2bd6b3ce-c26e-42e6-bb5b-5e58659c5327'
itpfp
Influencer
 
Posts: 16
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Mon Mar 17, 2014 2:11 pm
Full Name: it

Re: Failed to export tape

Veeam Logoby nitinkumar » Wed Apr 30, 2014 3:45 am

Any update on this issue.
We are experiencing the same issue on 1 of our clients tape backups.

Thanks
nitinkumar
Lurker
 
Posts: 1
Liked: never
Joined: Wed Apr 30, 2014 3:40 am
Full Name: Nitin

Re: Failed to export tape

Veeam Logoby foggy » Wed Apr 30, 2014 9:01 am

Still no resolution in the mentioned case. Please contact support with this directly.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14721
Liked: 1076 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: Failed to export tape

Veeam Logoby matt_778 » Tue Jun 24, 2014 12:58 am

Hi, we are experiencing the same issue.

Setup:
Physical Backup Server, 2012 R2
Veeam 7 patch 3
Local Storage
SAS Attached HP 1/8 Autoloader

The entire environment has been restarted

Our backup looks like:
1. Veeam Backup to disk
2. Powershell script to inventory the Tape Autoloader
3. Backup file to tape job (this completes with out error)
4. Tape Backup from job (this is the job that errors, see below)

Used tapes: Mon A, Mon B
Failed to export tape Mon A Details: WinApi function 'DeviceIoControl(ChangerGetElementStatus)' failed, code '87', message 'The parameter is incorrect'
Failed to export tape Mon B Details: WinApi function 'DeviceIoControl(ChangerGetElementStatus)' failed, code '87', message 'The parameter is incorrect'

Also needing help, have logged case: 00589008
matt_778
Influencer
 
Posts: 21
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Mon Feb 08, 2010 9:25 am
Full Name: Matt

Re: Failed to export tape

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Tue Jun 24, 2014 8:41 am

According to the case previously provided, the issue was caused by mailslot being disabled in tape library settings. Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13257
Liked: 968 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: Failed to export tape

Veeam Logoby matt_778 » Mon Jun 30, 2014 1:44 am

Yes, the "export" term seems to be linked with the Mailslot capability.

For me, I reduced my Tape job down to one, then disabled both the Mailslot (via Tape GUI) and Export (Veeam) options, but kept the eject option selected.

This mostly worked, in that it did leave one of the tapes in the drive, but I can eject it by using the keypad on the front of the tape autoloader.
matt_778
Influencer
 
Posts: 21
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Mon Feb 08, 2010 9:25 am
Full Name: Matt

Re: Failed to export tape

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Mon Jun 30, 2014 8:03 am

Actually, the solution I was talking to about was to enable mailslot, because, otherwise, you will face the "failed to export tape" issue. But you can stick to your solution, if answers your requirements. Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13257
Liked: 968 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin


Return to Tape



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 14 guests