Discussions specific to tape backups
Post Reply
AlexB82
Enthusiast
Posts: 56
Liked: 5 times
Joined: May 01, 2018 2:06 pm
Full Name: Alex
Contact:

Feature request: Automatically adding tapes to Media pool

Post by AlexB82 » Feb 25, 2019 10:37 am

Hi,
It would be very beneficial to us to for VBR to be able to automatically add blank tapes to a specific media pool depending on what library they're inserted into.

In our case, we have 2 datacentres, each with 2 libraries. We have two media pools, one for each site. Last week we were running low on tapes and had some put into the libraries. Unfortunatly as I was off, nobody went into the VBR console and assigned the tapes into their respective pools, so the weekend tape jobs all froze waiting for tapes, despite the fact the libraries were full (just with unassigned tapes). It'd be great if we could auto-assign which tape pool tapes are put into based on what libary is used in order to avoid this scenario in the future.

Thanks !!

wishr
Veeam Software
Posts: 1102
Liked: 111 times
Joined: Aug 07, 2018 3:11 pm
Full Name: Fedor Maslov
Contact:

Re: Feature request: Automatically adding tapes to Media pool

Post by wishr » Feb 25, 2019 11:39 am

Hi Alex,

Thank you for the FR. Could you please let us know if the below procedure works for you?

For certain Media pools, you can specify whether should free tapes being added automatically or not, and restrict the same operation for pools where it's not necessary using the "Add tapes from Free media pool automatically when more tapes are required" setting.

Moreover, if you'd like to use a certain library for a Media pool, you can use sorting and make sure that the required library is the first one on the list, so B&R will process this library first, then the second library on the list, and so on.

Hope this helps.

BR,
Fedor

AlexB82
Enthusiast
Posts: 56
Liked: 5 times
Joined: May 01, 2018 2:06 pm
Full Name: Alex
Contact:

Re: Feature request: Automatically adding tapes to Media pool

Post by AlexB82 » Feb 25, 2019 2:00 pm

Hi Fedor,
Thanks for the quick reply !!

Unfortunately we already have that option selected already, so that didn't work for us on this occasion.

wishr
Veeam Software
Posts: 1102
Liked: 111 times
Joined: Aug 07, 2018 3:11 pm
Full Name: Fedor Maslov
Contact:

Re: Feature request: Automatically adding tapes to Media pool

Post by wishr » Feb 27, 2019 3:02 pm

Hi Alex,

Thanks for your inputs. We'll take another look at this use case.

Regards,
Fedor

DaveWatkins
Expert
Posts: 348
Liked: 92 times
Joined: Dec 13, 2015 11:33 pm
Contact:

Re: Feature request: Automatically adding tapes to Media pool

Post by DaveWatkins » Feb 28, 2019 2:42 am

In our case, new tapes don't automatically drop into the Free pool. They come up as Unrecognized and so require manually marking new tapes as Free before they can be used. An option for all new tapes to automatically be marked free would be most helpful

veremin
Product Manager
Posts: 16789
Liked: 1411 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: Feature request: Automatically adding tapes to Media pool

Post by veremin » Feb 28, 2019 2:03 pm

This by design behaviour.

Tapes that have barcodes that are new to the current backup server are automatically placed into Unrecognized media pool. We do that to prevent situation when a tape written by different backup server gets automatically re-used by the current backup server.

So, such tapes need to be inventoried first to avoid undesired consequences.

Thanks!

DaveWatkins
Expert
Posts: 348
Liked: 92 times
Joined: Dec 13, 2015 11:33 pm
Contact:

Re: Feature request: Automatically adding tapes to Media pool

Post by DaveWatkins » Feb 28, 2019 7:08 pm

It would be nice to have an option to disable that and have them automatically drop into the free pool

veremin
Product Manager
Posts: 16789
Liked: 1411 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: Feature request: Automatically adding tapes to Media pool

Post by veremin » Mar 01, 2019 1:29 pm 1 person likes this post

Your voice has been heard. Thank you for the feedback; appreciated!

AlexB82
Enthusiast
Posts: 56
Liked: 5 times
Joined: May 01, 2018 2:06 pm
Full Name: Alex
Contact:

Re: Feature request: Automatically adding tapes to Media pool

Post by AlexB82 » Mar 07, 2019 10:53 am

v.Eremin wrote:
Feb 28, 2019 2:03 pm
This by design behaviour.

Tapes that have barcodes that are new to the current backup server are automatically placed into Unrecognized media pool. We do that to prevent situation when a tape written by different backup server gets automatically re-used by the current backup server.

So, such tapes need to be inventoried first to avoid undesired consequences.

Thanks!
Makes sense. Could a check be done on the tape though, if it shows as having no data written to it, then place it into a pool automatically? Would save a lot of hassle sometimes.

Cheers !!

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests