Using tape as a backup target
Post Reply
Rmachado
Service Provider
Posts: 17
Liked: 4 times
Joined: Dec 15, 2016 11:39 pm
Contact:

Feature Request : Oracle Enterprise plugin copy to tape

Post by Rmachado »

Hello.

Using the Oracle plugin in linux/Windows , i can copy the backup between repositories, but i cant make a job to tape from a backup made from the Oracle Enterprise plugin.

So the request is : Make available a Backup to Tape and select a Application Backup from Oracle Enterprise plugin available as a source

Thank you!

HannesK
Veeam Software
Posts: 8407
Liked: 1475 times
Joined: Sep 01, 2014 11:46 am
Location: Austria
Contact:

Re: Feature Request : Oracle Enterprise plugin copy to tape

Post by HannesK »

Hello,
thanks for your request and take it as +1 (we have several requests for that already).

In the meantime "file to tape" can copy the files to tape.

Best regards,
Hannes

Samba222
Service Provider
Posts: 52
Liked: 7 times
Joined: Jan 18, 2017 11:54 am
Full Name: Ronald
Contact:

Re: Feature Request : Oracle Enterprise plugin copy to tape

Post by Samba222 »

+1

tim.rae
Veeam Software
Posts: 95
Liked: never
Joined: Feb 06, 2019 3:34 am
Full Name: Tim Rae
Contact:

[MERGED] Oracle RMAN plug-in tape support?

Post by tim.rae »

Hi,

Does our rman plug-in support tape? or copy to tape from repo?

Cheers,
Tim.

Mildur
Veeam Legend
Posts: 1169
Liked: 506 times
Joined: May 13, 2017 4:51 pm
Full Name: Fabian
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

[MERGED] Re: Oracle RMAN plug-in tape support?

Post by Mildur » 1 person likes this post

Not possible today. But you can do File To Tape Jobs.
VMCE 9 | Veeam Legends 2021
Working with Veeam since 2017 for a VCSP in Switzerland

marcio.defreitas
Veeam Software
Posts: 31
Liked: 7 times
Joined: Mar 06, 2017 1:59 pm
Full Name: Marcio de Freitas
Contact:

Re: Feature Request : Oracle Enterprise plugin copy to tape

Post by marcio.defreitas »

Hi Mildur,

Can you please explain how Restore from tape would be on this case? I was thinking about this method:

1- Restore the vab files that were sent to tape using "File to tape Job" to a disk;
2- Present this disk as a repo on VBR server;
3- Enable "Restore from Backup Copy" on RMAN plugin and set this new repo as a source;
4- On RMAN, run CATALOG command, to add this new pieces (VAB files) to its catalog;
5- Start restore process on RMAN.

Do you think it will be viable? Or there are something wrong with this procedure?

Thanks,

Marcio

Mildur
Veeam Legend
Posts: 1169
Liked: 506 times
Joined: May 13, 2017 4:51 pm
Full Name: Fabian
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Feature Request : Oracle Enterprise plugin copy to tape

Post by Mildur »

I‘m sorry, I don‘t have a environment to confirm your method.
I know, that you can import the van files back to the vbr server, after restoring them from the tape.

https://helpcenter.veeam.com/docs/backu ... ml?ver=110

But after that, i am not sure what to do from inside the rman tool.
Your method looks good, but I cannot test it :)
VMCE 9 | Veeam Legends 2021
Working with Veeam since 2017 for a VCSP in Switzerland

MaxDes
Enthusiast
Posts: 42
Liked: never
Joined: Apr 27, 2021 3:47 pm
Full Name: Marc Vist
Contact:

[MERGED] RMAN Plugin and Backing up to Tape

Post by MaxDes »

I am backing up an entire folder (the repository folder) for my rman backups, because it seems I cannot select the last full and it's chain option or a backup option at all. Is there a better way to backup rman files? I feel like this limits me and I get data I don't need due to it trying to dump the entire folder to tape.

HannesK
Veeam Software
Posts: 8407
Liked: 1475 times
Joined: Sep 01, 2014 11:46 am
Location: Austria
Contact:

Re: Feature Request : Oracle Enterprise plugin copy to tape

Post by HannesK »

Hello,
please see the answers above... it's an open feature request to support plugins to tape. As for now, you already found the only option (if you want to use tape)

Best regards,
Hannes

MaxDes
Enthusiast
Posts: 42
Liked: never
Joined: Apr 27, 2021 3:47 pm
Full Name: Marc Vist
Contact:

Re: Feature Request : Oracle Enterprise plugin copy to tape

Post by MaxDes »

Is there any way to copy only specific files? Like a specific timestamp? or date range?

soncscy
Veeam Legend
Posts: 432
Liked: 207 times
Joined: Aug 04, 2019 2:57 pm
Full Name: Harvey Carel
Contact:

Re: Feature Request : Oracle Enterprise plugin copy to tape

Post by soncscy »

You would have to use a pre-job script for the file to tape job. I've done this for clients in the past that wanted to archive N number of a Reverse Incremental chain.

The general workflow is:

1. Load the Veeam Powershell Module
2. Get the Backup in question with Get-VBRBackup (should work fr plugins too if you use the full name as it shows in the DB -- run Get-VBRBackup without any parameters and you'll see your plugin backups, or you can filter on the "Type" property)
3. Use the GetAllChildrenStorages() method on the $backup variable to get a list of the storage files.
4. (optional but convenient IMO) Sort the list by CreationTime property -Descending
5. Use the FullPath property of the storage to get a full list of the files to backup; you will need to develop some way to decide what gets moved (I suggest write a quick function to define a date range lower limit and upper limit for step 4 and filter Where-Object {$_.CreationTime -gt $lowerlimit -and $_.CreationTime -lt $upperlimit}
6. Pass all of this as a new File to Tape Object: https://helpcenter.veeam.com/docs/backu ... ml?ver=110
7. Set the new settings by passing the object made in step 6: https://helpcenter.veeam.com/docs/backu ... ml?ver=110

Veeam's behavior looks to truly honor the letter/spirit of "Pre-Job" as the job does not look to load any of its settings until the Pre-job script is done, including any settings about what should be backed up. You could create a static range for Step 4 by using powershell's Date manipulations for example.

I've done similar things for other backups, and it's pretty easy to structure.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests