features request

Everything about backing up to tape

features request

Veeam Logoby grietvandemaele » Tue Oct 22, 2013 12:24 pm

when the tape was forgotten, we'd like to cancel the tape job. after a couple of hours

Currently there are no such timeouts - the backup job will wait until the tape will be inserted.

The job will fail due to agents timeout - and this is 1 week.

Has anyone a solution?
grietvandemaele
Novice
 
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Tue Oct 22, 2013 12:15 pm

Re: features request

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Tue Oct 22, 2013 1:21 pm

There is a predefined alarm in Veeam ONE that tracks job duration. You can specify the required time interval and, thus, you will be notified if any job exceeds it.

Otherwise, you can put into use simple powershell script that will check the time tape job was started and compare it with the current time. If delta exceeds specified interval, the script will stop the job.

Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13281
Liked: 970 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: features request

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Tue Oct 22, 2013 1:29 pm

Hello Griet,

We have already submitted a request for backup to tape job to generate notification if it is sitting in waiting status for long time, so it would be implemented in the upcoming releases. Thank you for your feedback!
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 6249
Liked: 440 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: SPb
Full Name: Dmitry Popov

Re: features request

Veeam Logoby dfernandez » Wed Oct 23, 2013 5:19 am

Another feature request....... Can we please have the tape backup schedule for Monthly to have the option to backup on the last or first "date" of the month. Currently we can only backup on the last Monday or Tuesday or.....Sunday.
dfernandez
Novice
 
Posts: 5
Liked: never
Joined: Wed Nov 17, 2010 7:57 am
Full Name: Dominic Fernandez

Re: features request

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Wed Oct 23, 2013 7:32 am

Hi, Dominic,

You’re, probably, talking about first day and last day of month, right? For now in the monthly schedule of backup job you can only set first/last day of week. However, you can write a PS script that initiates a start of tape job and schedule this script via Task Scheduler to run on first/last day of month:

Code: Select all
asnp VeeamPSSnapin
Get-VBRTapeJob -name "Name of tape job" | Start-VBRJob


Anyway, thanks for the feedback; much appreciated.

Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13281
Liked: 970 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

[MERGED] Backup to Tape Schedule

Veeam Logoby vu1341 » Thu Nov 21, 2013 12:30 pm

Hello,

I want to run my monthly Backup to Tape Job on 3am on every 1st day of the month.
At the moment I have to reconfigure the Job every month because I have to specify
this special weekday for the next month.
Will this feature be available in future releases?

regards
michael
vu1341
Novice
 
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Tue Jan 15, 2013 4:04 pm

Re: features request

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Thu Nov 21, 2013 12:34 pm

Hi, Michael,

As mentioned above, currently, it's not possible to schedule tape job to run on first/last day of month. However, you can schedule via Windows Scheduler the aforesaid script in order to achieve what you're after.

Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13281
Liked: 970 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

[MERGED] Feature Request: Auto Cancel

Veeam Logoby patboy29 » Thu Dec 05, 2013 9:16 pm

An option to auto cancel the backup to tape job after "X" minutes/hours/Day can be very, very useful for backup to tape.

As an example: A small environment with a single tape drive, if someone didn't to add a new tape because of a long week end, the backup to tape job will wait for a new tape and then the backup jobs will overlap on the next days.

I saw the suggestion to put this on a powershell script, but this is not a long term solution because this is configured outside of the Veeam Management Console.

Anyway, is it possible to get an example of the powershell commands for that script so I can have a workarounds?

Thanks
patboy29
Influencer
 
Posts: 10
Liked: never
Joined: Wed Oct 12, 2011 1:56 pm

Re: features request

Veeam Logoby foggy » Tue Dec 10, 2013 10:43 am

Patrick, thank you for the feedback. I believe our PowerShell guru will come up with some examples for you right when he is back from vacation.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14743
Liked: 1081 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: features request

Veeam Logoby KerryETB » Fri May 02, 2014 2:44 pm

I would also like to have the monthly tape backup to have the option to backup on the last or first "date" of the month. I know there is a script option but I would like to manage all the jobs from one screen instead of having to jump out to the scheduler
KerryETB
Novice
 
Posts: 5
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Fri May 02, 2014 10:32 am
Full Name: Michael Woulfe

Re: features request

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Sun May 04, 2014 7:36 pm

These forums are monitored for potential software enhancements and improvements. So, thank you for your feedback, we do appreciate it.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13281
Liked: 970 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: features request

Veeam Logoby ericcsinger » Sun May 11, 2014 9:38 pm

I have a few requests, some of these stem from what I like about other traditional backup products:

On thing that I love, but also hate about Veeam, is the way you control retention. I'm sure for a few, number of restore points are easy to understand, but for me, I find this method not complete enough by its self. I'd like to see an option for an age requirement. For example, restore points can't be purged until they're at least 14 days old. Maybe even add in a sub-requirement that there must be "x" number of full backup's as well.

Reverse CBT restore, in the event that we do need to rollback a VM, this would be awesome.

Why can't enterprise manager, manage multiple license types of Veeam? I have one site where I don't need enterprise plus features and I have another site that does. Why not give me one management console for both?

For tape, i'd like to see striping added in, so i can double my bandwidth / capacity when writing to tape. Also, why does a single job only get one tape drive? Why not provide an option to use more than one tape drive and in essence spread the data across the tapes as they fit best? This would be great when you're copying data from a repository and not just a specific job. If i have 4 tape drive, use all of them. Finally, for tape, i'd love to see tape sharing as an option. This way if one tape proxy goes down, the other proxy can pickup the slack.

I'd love to see the Veeam repository agent support failover clustering, or rather be failover cluster aware. For example, I'm going to be setting up a storage spaces cluster, Rather than mounting it as a CIFS share, i'd love to just have a purpose built cluster aware agent that i can run on it.

I know you're releasing SQL explorer, I'm not sure what all the features would be, but I'd love the ability to not only rollback a DB to a point in time, but even get as granular as rolling back individual records. Maybe i don't need to rollback the whole db, I just need one record recovered.

For sql backups as a whole, the one thing that would prevent our DBA's from switching to veeam for backup, is they need the ability to backup transaction logs as a separate event. For example, they backup transaction logs, and copy them to our DR site and replay them on a running SQL server. Having an ability to do something like that would be awesome. (poor mans TL shipping)

I'd love to see work flows built into the GUI. For example, backup in primary site, copy data to dr site, run an automatic restore (file level).
ericcsinger
Influencer
 
Posts: 24
Liked: 7 times
Joined: Sun May 11, 2014 8:52 pm
Full Name: Eric Singer

Re: features request

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Mon May 12, 2014 11:51 am

Hello Eric,
Thank you for the brilliant feedback!
For example, restore points can't be purged until they're at least 14 days old. Maybe even add in a sub-requirement that there must be "x" number of full backup's as well.

This could be achieved by planning you backup job correctly – modifying your retention/schedule according to your backup plan.
Reverse CBT restore, in the event that we do need to rollback a VM, this would be awesome.

We are looking into this.
Why can't enterprise manager, manage multiple license types of Veeam??

Please, review this thread
For tape, i'd like to see striping added in, so i can double my bandwidth / capacity when writing to tape.

Could you, please, elaborate this one?
Also, why does a single job only get one tape drive?

This is by design, but could be changed in future if we receive enough customer’s requests.
Why not provide an option to use more than one tape drive and in essence spread the data across the tapes as they fit best?

Valid request but, unfortunately, with low priority, as we’ve seen only a few requests for this feature.
Finally, for tape, i'd love to see tape sharing as an option. This way if one tape proxy goes down, the other proxy can pickup the slack.

We do not have plans for implementing tape sharing option, however, we tested the high redundancy/high availability tape library, which provides more than one link to backup server with our software and it worked pretty great.
I'd love to see the Veeam repository agent support failover clustering, or rather be failover cluster aware.

Please, review this thread
I know you're releasing SQL explorer

Unfortunately, can’t provide you with the details, before the official announcements, so stay tuned.
I'd love to see work flows built into the GUI.

This seems to be a nice to have feature for users who are not familiar with UI or power shall scripting, as every set up ends up with ‘to be as custom as possible’- and in this case workflow would not be useful. However, these are my personal thoughts – so we will discuss this feature it with the team. Thank you.
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 6249
Liked: 440 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: SPb
Full Name: Dmitry Popov

Re: features request

Veeam Logoby jchydro » Thu May 15, 2014 2:22 pm

Good day,

I'm following up on a Veeam case (#00563889) where I inquired as to why the Restore Operator has the right to right-click on a VM under Backup > Tape and choose 'Restore Backup from tape to repository...' but yet when the same option is attempted from the Home Ribbon under RESTORE > TAPE, the account has the TAPE selection greyed out. This option, of course, shows up perfectly fine when accessed with an account with full admin permissions.

Both methods of navigation get to the same restore screen, but the ribbon method is simplier, and doesn't involve digging to find/select a VM.
This also eliminates the need to locate via jobname - as the VM can be simply searched. Our Restore Operators will not likely care about our jobnames - just finding the VM being requested.

Hopefully this can be corrected in the next patch release - our Restore Operators will apprecriate this more direct method being available.

Thanks! :D
jchydro
Novice
 
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Thu May 08, 2014 7:42 pm

Re: features request

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Thu May 15, 2014 2:55 pm

Hello,
Thank you for pointing this out - it looks like a bug, as restore operator should have permissions to operate with this part of UI. I will forward it to our QA team for investigation and fixing.
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 6249
Liked: 440 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: SPb
Full Name: Dmitry Popov

Next

Return to Tape



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests