Discussions specific to tape backups
Post Reply
B.F.
Expert
Posts: 152
Liked: 9 times
Joined: Jan 28, 2014 5:41 pm
Contact:

File backup to Tape compression

Post by B.F. » Sep 16, 2016 2:24 pm

Using a stand alone LTO-4 tape drive and tape. Capacity of the tapes are 800gb uncompressed and up to 1,600gb compressed (almost never happens). Created a job with compression enabled that would go over the limit of the tape to see how Veeam reacts. I was quite surprised to see that it wanted another tape just after only saving 711gb. This was the first time Veeam had used this tape so it should not had done any sort of append. I double checked the tape drive in the OS's (Server 2012 R2) device manager and compression is enabled.

Does compression work on Veeam tape backup jobs? Is there something I could have missed when running this test?

Thanks

Dima P.
Product Manager
Posts: 9602
Liked: 754 times
Joined: Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Full Name: Dmitry Popov
Location: Prague
Contact:

Re: File backup to Tape compression

Post by Dima P. » Sep 16, 2016 5:22 pm

Hi B.F.

Most probably it's related to the End Of Media (EOM) command which is returned by tape device to our software during backup process. Generally, vendors keep up to 10% of tape media free for internal purposes (check this discussion).
Does compression work on Veeam tape backup jobs? Is there something I could have missed when running this test?
Keep in mind, if you are writing VBR’s backup files to tape – compression might be enabled in the source backup jobs.

B.F.
Expert
Posts: 152
Liked: 9 times
Joined: Jan 28, 2014 5:41 pm
Contact:

Re: File backup to Tape compression

Post by B.F. » Sep 16, 2016 7:02 pm

Keep in mind, if you are writing VBR’s backup files to tape – compression might be enabled in the source backup jobs.
I should have probably clarified. I'm using the "File to Tape Backup" feature.

I don't have an LTO-4 drive hooked up to the production Backup Exec server but it does have an LTO-5 made by the same manufacture (Quantum). LTO-5 capacity is 1500gb / 3000gb (uncompressed / compressed). Looking at the tape backup history on BE, I can see that BE is getting around 1570gb on one tape with compression enabled. I know I should hook up the LTO-4 to do a 1:1 test between BE and Veeam but this is what I have available at the moment. :?

Is there any way to confirm that the data on the tape is indeed getting compressed? Even with EOM commands from the drive, one should expect to get closer if not a tad over capacity using compression like we are seeing with BE.

Thanks

gavrun
Veeam Software
Posts: 4
Liked: never
Joined: Sep 21, 2016 12:26 pm
Full Name: Alexey Gavrunov
Location: Saint Petersburg
Contact:

Re: File backup to Tape compression

Post by gavrun » Mar 08, 2017 5:17 pm

Hi

Speaking about a file to tape job.. Does Veeam use a native compression, or libraries/drives utilize hardware compression? Does Veeam offer a possibility to monitor a compression ratio in UI while backing up files to tapes?

Links to refer:
https://helpcenter.veeam.com/docs/backu ... tml?ver=95
https://helpcenter.veeam.com/docs/backu ... tml?ver=95

v.Eremin
Product Manager
Posts: 15965
Liked: 1284 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: File backup to Tape compression

Post by v.Eremin » Mar 09, 2017 9:41 am 1 person likes this post

We do not provide any own compression mechanism for file to tape job. If you want to have compression, utilize hardware one.

DaveWatkins
Expert
Posts: 333
Liked: 89 times
Joined: Dec 13, 2015 11:33 pm
Contact:

Re: File backup to Tape compression

Post by DaveWatkins » Mar 09, 2017 9:56 pm

I double checked the tape drive in the OS's (Server 2012 R2) device manager and compression is enabled.
I'm pretty sure you have to enable it in Veeam too. In the job itself under Options there is an Advanced button, in there is an option to enable hardware compression too

v.Eremin
Product Manager
Posts: 15965
Liked: 1284 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: File backup to Tape compression

Post by v.Eremin » Mar 10, 2017 11:32 am

Correct, to leverage hardware compression you should enable it via device native tool and also do so in settings of file to tape job. Thanks.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests