File backup to Tape compression

Everything about backing up to tape

File backup to Tape compression

Veeam Logoby B.F. » Fri Sep 16, 2016 2:24 pm

Using a stand alone LTO-4 tape drive and tape. Capacity of the tapes are 800gb uncompressed and up to 1,600gb compressed (almost never happens). Created a job with compression enabled that would go over the limit of the tape to see how Veeam reacts. I was quite surprised to see that it wanted another tape just after only saving 711gb. This was the first time Veeam had used this tape so it should not had done any sort of append. I double checked the tape drive in the OS's (Server 2012 R2) device manager and compression is enabled.

Does compression work on Veeam tape backup jobs? Is there something I could have missed when running this test?

Thanks
B.F.
Expert
 
Posts: 131
Liked: 6 times
Joined: Tue Jan 28, 2014 5:41 pm

Re: File backup to Tape compression

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Fri Sep 16, 2016 5:22 pm

Hi B.F.

Most probably it's related to the End Of Media (EOM) command which is returned by tape device to our software during backup process. Generally, vendors keep up to 10% of tape media free for internal purposes (check this discussion).
Does compression work on Veeam tape backup jobs? Is there something I could have missed when running this test?

Keep in mind, if you are writing VBR’s backup files to tape – compression might be enabled in the source backup jobs.
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 6690
Liked: 478 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: SPb
Full Name: Dmitry Popov

Re: File backup to Tape compression

Veeam Logoby B.F. » Fri Sep 16, 2016 7:02 pm

Keep in mind, if you are writing VBR’s backup files to tape – compression might be enabled in the source backup jobs.


I should have probably clarified. I'm using the "File to Tape Backup" feature.

I don't have an LTO-4 drive hooked up to the production Backup Exec server but it does have an LTO-5 made by the same manufacture (Quantum). LTO-5 capacity is 1500gb / 3000gb (uncompressed / compressed). Looking at the tape backup history on BE, I can see that BE is getting around 1570gb on one tape with compression enabled. I know I should hook up the LTO-4 to do a 1:1 test between BE and Veeam but this is what I have available at the moment. :?

Is there any way to confirm that the data on the tape is indeed getting compressed? Even with EOM commands from the drive, one should expect to get closer if not a tad over capacity using compression like we are seeing with BE.

Thanks
B.F.
Expert
 
Posts: 131
Liked: 6 times
Joined: Tue Jan 28, 2014 5:41 pm

Re: File backup to Tape compression

Veeam Logoby gavrun » Wed Mar 08, 2017 5:17 pm

Hi

Speaking about a file to tape job.. Does Veeam use a native compression, or libraries/drives utilize hardware compression? Does Veeam offer a possibility to monitor a compression ratio in UI while backing up files to tapes?

Links to refer:
https://helpcenter.veeam.com/docs/backu ... tml?ver=95
https://helpcenter.veeam.com/docs/backu ... tml?ver=95
gavrun
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 4
Liked: never
Joined: Wed Sep 21, 2016 12:26 pm
Location: Saint Petersburg
Full Name: Alexey Gavrunov

Re: File backup to Tape compression

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Thu Mar 09, 2017 9:41 am 1 person likes this post

We do not provide any own compression mechanism for file to tape job. If you want to have compression, utilize hardware one.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13734
Liked: 1027 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: File backup to Tape compression

Veeam Logoby DaveWatkins » Thu Mar 09, 2017 9:56 pm

I double checked the tape drive in the OS's (Server 2012 R2) device manager and compression is enabled.


I'm pretty sure you have to enable it in Veeam too. In the job itself under Options there is an Advanced button, in there is an option to enable hardware compression too
DaveWatkins
Expert
 
Posts: 274
Liked: 68 times
Joined: Sun Dec 13, 2015 11:33 pm

Re: File backup to Tape compression

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Fri Mar 10, 2017 11:32 am

Correct, to leverage hardware compression you should enable it via device native tool and also do so in settings of file to tape job. Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13734
Liked: 1027 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin


Return to Tape



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 1 guest